I became insane with long intervals of horrible sanity.
Edgar Allen Poe

The trouble with fighting for human freedom is that one spends most of one's time defending scoundrels. For it is against scoundrels that oppressive laws are first aimed, and oppression must be stopped at the beginning if it is to be stopped at all.
- H. L. Mencken

Many people would sooner die than think; In fact, they do so
-Bertrand Russell

What I have been telling you, from alpha to omega, what is the one great thing the sigil taught me — that everything in life is miraculous. For the sigil taught me that it rests within the power of each of us to awaken at will from a dragging nightmare of life made up of unimportant tasks and tedious useless little habits, to see life as it really is, and to rejoice in its exquisite wonderfulness. If the sigil were proved to be the top of a tomato-can, it would not alter that big fact, nor my fixed faith. No Harrowby, the common names we call things by do not matter — except to show how very dull we are ...
-James Branch Cabell

November 10, 2013 - 8:57 p.m.

I've seen all good people

I'm back from NERFA did you miss me? I don't know when I'll be able to write my notes up. I am too tired now. I did set a new record by getting 13 hours of sleep over the three nights but only three were last night. There were all these great conversations that I told people would end up on Wise Madness. I don't remember any of them. Sorry. I did discover some great music, mainly but exclusively bands. I got to see oodles and oodles of friends. Last night, late, I ran into Chana. We've only met a few times in real life and talked online but we saw each other and both of us wanted to stop and talk even though we were on our ways to hear great music. But while having a great conversation I said "This is half of what NERFA's about." She said, "More than half." And that's what is hard to get if you haven't been there. So much of it is just being around other people to whom you don't have to explain why you spend your life driving around the country for not much money to play music for people. You don't have to explain why you go out three, four, five, or maybe more times a week to listen to music. Everybody there gets it. You're surrounded by people that know how to make music and people that know how to listen to music. People that know that music isn't just a background. People that get that the more you put into music the more you get out of it. It's a bunch of hippies and freaks and incredibly nice people who are part of a community. People aren't competing against each other they are working for each other. It's about love. It's about packing in 15 people with instruments including many, many basses in one end of a room while everybody, performers and audience singing, � loudly! It's about jamming at 4 AM. It's about discovering amazing people from across the continent that take you to new worlds. It's about meeting friends that you've known of for a decade for the first time in person. It's a family reunion. It's about four days away from the fake world and living in the real one. It's kvelling when the people you know and love get on the stage, or in a hotel room, or in the lobby, and everyone else discovers and loves them. It's about driving there and back home with friends with whom you can talk about music the entire ride and not even scratch the surface. It's about your friends meeting each other and instantly becoming friends.

Somehow it's about this.


I signed the Pro-Truth Pledge:
please hold me accountable.





Memories: Not that Horrid Song - May 29, 2018
Wise Madness is Now In Session - May 28, 2018
The NFL and the First Amendment - May 27, 2018
On The Road Again - May 26, 2018
Oliver the Three-Eyed Crow - May 25, 2018



creative commons
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial-Share Alike 3.0 License.
Horvendile November 10, 2013
site search by freefind advanced


Follow on Feedly



about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!