I became insane with long intervals of horrible sanity.
Edgar Allen Poe

The trouble with fighting for human freedom is that one spends most of one's time defending scoundrels. For it is against scoundrels that oppressive laws are first aimed, and oppression must be stopped at the beginning if it is to be stopped at all.
- H. L. Mencken

Many people would sooner die than think; In fact, they do so
-Bertrand Russell

What I have been telling you, from alpha to omega, what is the one great thing the sigil taught me — that everything in life is miraculous. For the sigil taught me that it rests within the power of each of us to awaken at will from a dragging nightmare of life made up of unimportant tasks and tedious useless little habits, to see life as it really is, and to rejoice in its exquisite wonderfulness. If the sigil were proved to be the top of a tomato-can, it would not alter that big fact, nor my fixed faith. No Harrowby, the common names we call things by do not matter — except to show how very dull we are ...
-James Branch Cabell

June 07, 2012 - 3:09 p.m.

Mr. Horvendile's Neighborhood

This is an odd time for me to update, early afternoon but that's what worked for today. I hope people read this.

I forgot to write about something in my last entry. I wrote that sleep deprived. Not because of anxiety or panic attacks or Crohn's disease. The problem was millivampires aka mosquitoes. My apartment was filled with them and I was one big itch. I finally decided to take my morning dose of prednisone four hours early. That worked. It's hard to itch with 10mg of steroids fresh in your system.

The upshot of the lack of sleep was that after updating yesterday I fell asleep for much of the afternoon. That meant I got a very late start on my day. I was afraid I wouldn't be able to get my desktop set up. But guess what? I did! I went to Office Max, three blocks from my house and instead of buying an expensive computer desk bought a cheap utility table. OK that wasn't the brighest thing in the world as there is no place for my legs so it isn't comfortable sitting here. But it's temporary solution and it was light so I could get it up the stairs with no problem. I then set up the computer with no problems. It works. I'm writing this edition of Wise Madness on it. Once again I have access to all my macros. I'm getting more and more of my life back.

Last night had not one, not two, but there concerts by friends to choose from. I very much wanted to go to all of them. They are all people I don't see enough. In alphabetical order the choices were Allison Scola, Mia Dyson, and Tomoko Omuro. To make things harder I don't see any of them perform frequently. I have never seen Tomoko's band at all. I've only seen her play with RUNA. I ended up seeing Mia because I had missed the last three times she played in the City when I was supposed to go. Allison and Tomoko live here so I figure I'll have more chances to see them.

Mia's band is Hotels and Highways. They did John Platt's On Your Radar. After Mia's gig they turned things around and she played bass on their set.

I didn't expect to know many people at the show but a soon as I walked into the Living Room I saw Alisa from WFUV. I didn't expect that. She didn't expect to see me. It ended up we were there for different things. She was at music industry event that was on before Mia's gig. It was very much like the On the Griddle workshops at NERFA. A song was played anonymously and the audience discussed it. I love running into people like that especially when I get hugs.

When I got in I said hi to Mia but we didn't get to talk too much. She had friends there from Australia. Mia is Australian. In face she went to school with Kath. It is odd how many Australians I know considering that I was never there. There's Mia, Kath, Pam, Fred aka Iain, and the guy I'm subletting from. Who am I missing? I have spent as much time with Australians as Canadians who aren't named Cheryl Prashker. .

Musically Mia is often compared to Bonnie Raitt. She has that blues edge to her music. Mia rocks more. Her music can pump up your adrenaline. She won me over doing a workshop at Falcon Ridge and I've been a fan ever since. I was happy to see how many people were at the show. Far more than the last time I saw her there. She's building an audience. She has a new album coming out in August backed by Hotels and Highways. I hope that John Platt and Ron Olesko like it and play it on their shows. I'll be pushing it to you too if you have a venue or radio show.

I connected better with Hotels and Highways than I did at On Your Radar. Those things happen. Was that Mia's doing? Theirs? Was it just me? I don't know.

I went to the show but part of me just wanted to stay home and watch the Mets. I haven't done that in so long and now I can watch them in HD. They lost so maybe it's better than I didn't. I have a busy schedule coming up, things planned for every night. I'll have to find something to miss and enjoy having my own place.

I love my neighborhood. What I love is that it is a neighborhood. Almost all the businesses are run by people that know that know to connect with the customers. I end up chatting and joking with almost everyone. I get greeted with a smile. There's innocent flirting. Make me feel like they want me to be there. I heard a djembe when I was walking before and there were some teens in a parking lot a djembe and guitars getting ready to play. When I got close a lovely young woman smiled and came over to say that she can't say hi because she lost her voice. I told her she could talk with her guitar.

I checked out the bookstore a block away. I loved it. A real independent bookstore, brick and mortar and not part of a chain. There's a children's section and there were kids on the floor being read to. The YA section had James Kennedy's Order of Odd-Fish. They had an M.C. Escher Pop-Up book!

I'd love that the neighborhood has no ethnic or racial majority. It isn't quite as diverse as my old neighborhood but it's totally heterogeneous. You go into any business here and the customers are mixed.

I love that I can get almost everything I need walking no more than 5 blocks. Everything except good ice cream. The best we have is a cold stone creamery in the mall. Maybe that's how I'll get rich. Who knows how to make good ice cream?

I better put this to bed. I'm going to the Christopher Street Coffee House tonight; SONiA is performing. You should be there. It's going to be an amazing show.


I signed the Pro-Truth Pledge:
please hold me accountable.





Memories: Not that Horrid Song - May 29, 2018
Wise Madness is Now In Session - May 28, 2018
The NFL and the First Amendment - May 27, 2018
On The Road Again - May 26, 2018
Oliver the Three-Eyed Crow - May 25, 2018



creative commons
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial-Share Alike 3.0 License.
Horvendile June 07, 2012
site search by freefind advanced


Follow on Feedly



about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!