I became insane with long intervals of horrible sanity.
Edgar Allen Poe

The trouble with fighting for human freedom is that one spends most of one's time defending scoundrels. For it is against scoundrels that oppressive laws are first aimed, and oppression must be stopped at the beginning if it is to be stopped at all.
- H. L. Mencken

Many people would sooner die than think; In fact, they do so
-Bertrand Russell

What I have been telling you, from alpha to omega, what is the one great thing the sigil taught me — that everything in life is miraculous. For the sigil taught me that it rests within the power of each of us to awaken at will from a dragging nightmare of life made up of unimportant tasks and tedious useless little habits, to see life as it really is, and to rejoice in its exquisite wonderfulness. If the sigil were proved to be the top of a tomato-can, it would not alter that big fact, nor my fixed faith. No Harrowby, the common names we call things by do not matter — except to show how very dull we are ...
-James Branch Cabell

June 20, 2014 - 10:52 a.m.

Still an Idiot

I didn't update yesterday Did you terribly miss me? Was your day empty? Did you cry? I'm sorry. It's going to happen again this weekend Sorry.

Oh, now I have to think of something to write about. OK let's see On Wednesday after I visited Cassiope at Beth Israel I bought bagels. There's not one, not two, but three bagel stores right there I picked one and got a dozen bagels I can eat civilized breakfasts again

Yesterday was the WfUV one day pledge drive I think I got these early shifts down now I was in bed by 9 PM I had my alarm set for 4:15. I woke up at 12:15 and thought it might be time to wake up. Same thing happened at 2:15. Then I awoke before my alarm went off at 4:15. I had the quarter past the hour thing hardwired into my brain. OK how do you know that's a lie? This is an easy one. Right I don't have a brain.

I gave myself 18 minutes to get ready and left the house right on time. Thanks to Google maps I know what time the is going to come to get me to Grand Central Station in time for the first train to Fordham If I take the next subway I just miss the Metro North.

It was busy yesterday We got a lot of calls and I had to take a lot myself. We had four people on the computers and even though it's easier on them they are new and they require more supervision There are novel situations.

I took some pics this is what it looks like


Laura, Mark, Jim, Cathy, and a student in a Yankee cap.


Deirdre, Bill, and Laura

I had planned on a 12 hour shift but could only stay half that as I had to take Cassiope home from the hospital. I am so proud that I remembered to take her stuff with me I had all the things she had when she was admitted including her clothes, wallet, and keys.

So I took the MetroNorth down to the to the to Beth Israel. It took about an hour.

We then made our way back to her house. It's only a few subway stops away but a half mile walk from the subway. So of course it rained and of course I didn't bring umbrellas. It didn't rain hard though so it was almost pleasant. I stayed for a bit then let her get some rest. I got home and conked out.

Oh there's one thing I forgot to tell you. I'm an idiot. I went home with her wallet and he phone charger wasn't in her backpack with her phone. I remember putting her charger in her backpack. Know why? I put it in my backpack. Know why? I'm an idiot. I did figure it out though. I'm a smart idiot.

After dinner I headed back over to her house with the wallet and charger. I of course forgot the big pillow that the hospital wouldn't let her keep in her room. I have to return that today. Life would be so much easier if I had a brain.

I did make dinner last night, Cajun chicken breast and plantain. That is so good I am still shocked that I can cook.

There's a million musical choices tonight but I'm seeing Red Molly with Heather This is my first time seeing them since their new album came out. I have been at ever CD release show since their second full length album. I feel out of the loop It's a cobill with Roosevelt Dime who I saw last weekend. They have a double romantic connection; Craig from RD is married to Abbie from RM and Eben and Molly are a couple too. Can you think of another pair of bands like that?



Total change of subject. On Facebook I linked to this article on Pew Research, Where Christian churches, other religions stand on gay marriage. On the link I wrote, "Even though I'm an atheist I am somehow proud that the synagogue I don't go to permits same sex marriage." I thought my phrasing was cute and showed how I felt nicely. The last thing I expected was someone I don't know to make this comment:
I really don't get atheism. It is wrong. It has been shown EXPERIMENTALLY. It is impossible to get something from nothing. Who cares about reason? The earth is flat. Who cares about rights. I'm not gay. Gays shouldn't marry. LOL Poof....We CAN get something from nothing if we are atheist. Whatever.
The argument is of course fallacious but I resisted arguing and saying, "So who created God as it has be shown EXPERIMENTALLY. It is impossible to get something from nothing." Or to educated him on the constant creation of nothing of virtual particles. I don't argue in FB comments. I need more room, like here But I'm done with that argument. That's not my point. my point is that it's rude to comment on a total stranger's post and attack their beliefs. Know how much nonsense I read on Facebook every day? I want to dope slap every reference to Mercury in retrograde, but I don't do that. I wouldn't convince anyone. All I'd do is make somebody feel bad and make myself look bad.

The last thing is what people need to remember, including me. I often berate Atheists for being so strident that they turn people against atheists. People are not rational and make judgments based on the person delivering the message. There was something that I thought was a trope but was mainly one friend of mine repeating it many times. It was supporting a cause I believe in but was offensive This doesn't promote the cause, it weakens it.

When you take up a cause you represent the cause to others. It's up to you to project a positive image. You are defending not just your own reputation but the cause's


I signed the Pro-Truth Pledge:
please hold me accountable.





Memories: Not that Horrid Song - May 29, 2018
Wise Madness is Now In Session - May 28, 2018
The NFL and the First Amendment - May 27, 2018
On The Road Again - May 26, 2018
Oliver the Three-Eyed Crow - May 25, 2018



creative commons
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial-Share Alike 3.0 License.
Horvendile June 20, 2014
site search by freefind advanced


Follow on Feedly



about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!