I became insane with long intervals of horrible sanity.
Edgar Allen Poe

The trouble with fighting for human freedom is that one spends most of one's time defending scoundrels. For it is against scoundrels that oppressive laws are first aimed, and oppression must be stopped at the beginning if it is to be stopped at all.
- H. L. Mencken

Many people would sooner die than think; In fact, they do so
-Bertrand Russell

What I have been telling you, from alpha to omega, what is the one great thing the sigil taught me — that everything in life is miraculous. For the sigil taught me that it rests within the power of each of us to awaken at will from a dragging nightmare of life made up of unimportant tasks and tedious useless little habits, to see life as it really is, and to rejoice in its exquisite wonderfulness. If the sigil were proved to be the top of a tomato-can, it would not alter that big fact, nor my fixed faith. No Harrowby, the common names we call things by do not matter — except to show how very dull we are ...
-James Branch Cabell

June 18, 2014 - 10:51 a.m.

Call Me Myshkin

I like to start writing before 9:00. At least it's before 10:00.

Spoiler alert. There's an idiot story coming. Let's see if you can predict the stupid thing I did before I tell you. You are now in intermediate Horvendilology. You are expected to know more than what I do regularly.

I went to visit Cassiope in the hospital yesterday. Because Columbia hadn't photocopied her insurance card I had to bring it with me. I also brought her a book. I got to the hospital and what did I realize? I had forgotten her insurance card. Nope that's not the idiot story! It's an idiot story but not THE idiot story. When I was there she told me that she had trouble sleeping and wanted her big pillow. That's on her bed in her apartment of course. After the single visiting hour I went to school to pick up mail. I thought it was my insurance card. It was WfUV asking for money. Then I went to Trader Joe's shopping. Took that home. Relaxed for a bit then headed over to Cassiope's to get her pillow. It's a bus ride away. I went a stop to far o the bus but that's no big deal. Not an idiot yet. I got off the bus and it hit me. I didn't have her keys. Now I'm the idiot. I didn't have time to take the bus back and forth. So I hailed a cab. it took me home, waited for me as I ran upstairs for the key, and drove me back to her house. I got the pillow. Then I had to walk to the . Too bad I walked to the . I then had to take it one stop, pretty much back to her house, to catch the . Yes I am an idiot. It's official.

There's an epilogue, a post punch line, punch line. The hospital wouldn't let her keep the pillow! It was all for naught. So back home I came with it.

I don't believe in life after death. I think it's the stupidest idea ever, but my mother might be recreated just so she could laugh at that story. That was her image of me. She always joked that I had to come back into the house every time I left because I forgot something. "If you head wasn't attached to your shoulders you'd forget where you put it."

I don�t need Mother's Day or Father's Day or their birthdays to remember my parents. I do it every day. There are a bunch of people I think of every day. I wonder if there are any that think of me. That's something I think about often.

Know what else I think about often, Republicans. I have Republican friends and they are wonderful people. And I can't get how they can support a part that's simply vile. The progressive Democratic coalition depended on the support of the racist southern power structure. When the party in the 60s in the greatest act of political integrity I've seen in this country lead the way on civil rights and the end of legal segregation they lost the South. LBJ knew that would happen. And the irony is that the bigots are now the Republican base that the leadership dare not offend. To support Republicans means to support a party that is anti-black, anti-poor, anti-hispanic, and anti-gay. How can decent people, and these are decent people, think that lower taxes make that worth it? It is a puzzlement.Remember all that is necessary for the triumph of evil is for good men to do nothing. If you are a Republican it's your duty to speak up against the hatred. You might have noticed I have often scolded my fellow Democrats and progressives.

So is how am I going to be ready in time? There are a bunch of good bagel stores near the hospital. I have to pick some up today. I am going through bagel withdrawal. I'm a holeoholic. I had the holic ending meaning addict. It's an offence against language. The parallel of alcoholic for people that love chocolate is chocolatic. The hol come from the alcohol, not the addiction. How can decent people support that? Not me! I am a theobromatic. theobroma means "food of the gods" and is the genus name of the cocoa plant. Language is holy just as bagels are holely


I signed the Pro-Truth Pledge:
please hold me accountable.





Memories: Not that Horrid Song - May 29, 2018
Wise Madness is Now In Session - May 28, 2018
The NFL and the First Amendment - May 27, 2018
On The Road Again - May 26, 2018
Oliver the Three-Eyed Crow - May 25, 2018



creative commons
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial-Share Alike 3.0 License.
Horvendile June 18, 2014
site search by freefind advanced


Follow on Feedly



about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!