I became insane with long intervals of horrible sanity.
Edgar Allen Poe

The trouble with fighting for human freedom is that one spends most of one's time defending scoundrels. For it is against scoundrels that oppressive laws are first aimed, and oppression must be stopped at the beginning if it is to be stopped at all.
- H. L. Mencken

Many people would sooner die than think; In fact, they do so
-Bertrand Russell

What I have been telling you, from alpha to omega, what is the one great thing the sigil taught me — that everything in life is miraculous. For the sigil taught me that it rests within the power of each of us to awaken at will from a dragging nightmare of life made up of unimportant tasks and tedious useless little habits, to see life as it really is, and to rejoice in its exquisite wonderfulness. If the sigil were proved to be the top of a tomato-can, it would not alter that big fact, nor my fixed faith. No Harrowby, the common names we call things by do not matter — except to show how very dull we are ...
-James Branch Cabell

October 24, 2015 - 12:45 p.m.

Missed the Rainbow

I slept late today, I knew this was going to happen as I had trouble sleeping. That means I'm starting to write late. Of course I don't have plans for today so it's not that big a deal. I had plans but because of my leg I'm for the most part staying home. I have to make Chocolate Chip French Toast Bread Pudding aka Choco-Lavinator for tomorrow so I do have to go shopping. I need to get the chips, challah, eggs, and maybe nutmeg. I might skip the nutmeg. Oh and I have to buy more bandages.

I'm disappointed my leg has not improved more. Staying off it helps but it's still swollen. It did stop getting worse but I don't know if it is improving. I'm on two antibiotics, oral and topical.

So I stayed home, what does that leave me to blog about? I got to feel somewhat productive, I created the event for next month's edition of John Platt's On Your Radar, On Your Radar with Bumper Jacksons, Underhill Rose, Heather Pierson. There was some confusion of whether Heather was performing solo or with her acoustic trio. I did everything for the trio then found out it was solo. I had to redo things but I liked that. I couldn't contact John so I had to make all the editorial decisions myself and I like doing that. Heather is one of my favorites so I knew what song I wanted to use on the ReverbNation page. I have weird anxiety, when the decisions are not personal I love making them.

I don't have much notion where the day went, that's what happens when you spend it in bed. I made dinner, bratwurst and roasted potatoes. That used to be the way I made potatoes the most often, I have to go back to making that more often. I used to make them with cajun spice now it's with garlic salt. I get that way, I used to make everything cajun now it's all garlic salt. I get my food passions. I still always have cajun seasoning in the house. I think I'll use it for breakfast if I make an omelet.

The landlady told me that my internet would be out for ten minutes. It was just as I started dinner so the timing was perfect. Of course when I was done with dinner there was no internet. It didn't come back for over an hour and a half. I didn't expect it to really be only ten minutes.

I got to talk to Brianne, that always makes my day better.

I had plans last night that I had to cancel and I'm very upset about it. I missed Arc Iris and David Wax Museum at the Mercury Lounge. I have only seen David Wax Museum once and so much want to see them again. They were great. Arc Iris is one of my top tier bands and it's a bonding thing with Fred who also loves them. He went as did Damon so I also missed hanging out with two friends. The Merc used to be one of the venues I used to frequent the most often, now I rarely go. It would have had nostalgia value. That's where Moxy Früvous recorded part of Live Noise. I was there for he shows of course. Carey. claims she can hear me on it. I can't.

Tonight I'm missing Matt Nakoa and Martin Swinger at First Acoustics. That's a home game on many levels. All First Acoustics shows are home games and Matt and Martin were both my NERFA roommates. I'll see Matt tomorrow at Gene and Isabel's house but I never get to see Martin. This is all very sad.

It's late and I want to eat so I'm going to spare you the politics. I might use it tomorrow. I might actually write it tonight. Tomorrow as I said Matt and The Lords of Liechtenstein are playing at Courthouse Concerts in Merrick. Chris is going to drive me so it should be easy on my leg. I might have to keep my leg elevated during the show, we'll see. I'm not looking forward to going out shopping, I'll make it quick. I will put that off till the evening when the supermarket is less crowded. Of courses when I get home I have to prepare the Choco-Lavinator. Now it's time to eat.

Just came up with the title? Let me know if you get it.


I signed the Pro-Truth Pledge:
please hold me accountable.





Memories: Not that Horrid Song - May 29, 2018
Wise Madness is Now In Session - May 28, 2018
The NFL and the First Amendment - May 27, 2018
On The Road Again - May 26, 2018
Oliver the Three-Eyed Crow - May 25, 2018



creative commons
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial-Share Alike 3.0 License.
Horvendile October 24, 2015
site search by freefind advanced


Follow on Feedly



about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!