I became insane with long intervals of horrible sanity.
Edgar Allen Poe

The trouble with fighting for human freedom is that one spends most of one's time defending scoundrels. For it is against scoundrels that oppressive laws are first aimed, and oppression must be stopped at the beginning if it is to be stopped at all.
- H. L. Mencken

Many people would sooner die than think; In fact, they do so
-Bertrand Russell

What I have been telling you, from alpha to omega, what is the one great thing the sigil taught me — that everything in life is miraculous. For the sigil taught me that it rests within the power of each of us to awaken at will from a dragging nightmare of life made up of unimportant tasks and tedious useless little habits, to see life as it really is, and to rejoice in its exquisite wonderfulness. If the sigil were proved to be the top of a tomato-can, it would not alter that big fact, nor my fixed faith. No Harrowby, the common names we call things by do not matter — except to show how very dull we are ...
-James Branch Cabell

October 19, 2014 - 10:56 a.m.

Blues in the Night

Where did the morning go? I have to head out in three hours so I better start writing. Yes I need that much time when I have to write, eat, and shower. There is planned time to dawdle in there. Do other people use the word dawdle? Do I use it? I think of it as my mother's word. She always told me to not dawdle. I don't think I ever typed it before. I'm wrong. I did a search. I've used it four times in 14 years.

I finally did laundry yesterday. I was out of underwear so that decided for me. I could have bought more.. Don't think I didn't think of that. That's why I have so much underwear.

Don't I know how to grab you? I talk underwear. I also write about socks. I lost three socks so that means I have to go sock shopping. This happens every time I do laundry. No wonder I wear sandals whenever possible. Why does Marcia get all the socks? Sorry the jokes aren't always meant for you.

Now I'm up to music. Are you disappointed? Should I write more about laundry?

Mamie Minch, sorry no website, Well she does, Brooklyn Lutherie but as you can see that's for her musical day job.

I need to see Mamie more and I need to write about her more. Why? She's not part of my usual musical circle. She lives right here in the musical capital of the world, but she isn't part of my crowd and my guess is that most of My Gentle Readers are not aware of her. If you are you don't talk about her enough. Mamie sings the blues.. She sounds like she comes out of an old 78. She's not another cute girl with a guitar.. She's cute, she is a girl, and she plays guitar, but somehow she's not the combination. There's a lot more there there. Her music isn't sweet. It it's powerful. She grabs you by the throat and doesn't let you go. Her guitar playing isn't just accompaniment. Her 1937 steel resonator is her partner. Here she is doing Betsy Smith's Sing Sing Prison Blues.

You have to see her now, right? If you have a venue you have to book her right? Once again I'm reminded that there's no need to listen to music that isn't special. There's enough special music out there if you know where to find it. It's not enough to be a nice person playing nice songs nicely.

I would have liked to have taken a video of the floorshow. There was a six-year-old girl right next to me dancing. I didn't know her bother and felt funny videoing her in such a small venue. If it was at a festival I'd have done it. Am I right to be cautious about that? Am I wrong to not feel that way if it were at a festival?

This was part of a residency Mamie is doing at Barb�s this month. It's the only one I could get to. You can still catch her next week. You should.

It was an early show, 6:00 to 7:30. When it was done I went to Trader Joe's. I picked up lots of things including chicken wings. I had Buffalo wings for dinner. I tried something new, I added jerk seasoning to the sauce.. That was great. Did I commit blasphemy Paul? Paul is both my cooking and Buffalo maven. Now I need to get more Pete's hot sauce.

Now for something completely different. I have more to write about Ebola that I forgot to include yesterday. There's an uproar over the mistakes made in the Ebola case in Dallas by the hospital and the CDC. There shouldn't be. This should not be a finger pointing exercise. It should be a learning experience. You could say "See the government can't do anything right." Of course what they didn't do right is oversee the private hospital which is where most of the mistakes were made. The CDC did allow the nurse to fly. But the thing is this isn't a scandal. It's what to expect. It takes tines to work the kinks out of everything. Are we going to give every health care worker in every hospital extensive training for something they have a tiny chance of using? We'd save a thousand times as many lives if we gave everyone proper training in sterile procedure to prevent hospital contracted infections. When a sports team gets all new personal and installs a new system nobody expects them to win straight off. There's a learning period. That's what we are going through now. We aren't going to all die of Ebola. There is not going to be an epidemic here.

The one scandal is the hospital changing their story about what happened initially when they sent the patient home. Somebody was lying to cover up their mistakes. That's the one thing that needs to punished. As for the rest we'll learn. I have ideas what to do in the future but who cares what I think? I don't know nearly enough about this to have a reasoned opinion. I know enough to know that I don't know enough.. That's a valuable piece of knowledge. I always shake my head at people who don't get that.

OK now for breakfast. It's time for a breakfast sandwich. I haven't done that in a while. Later today I'm going to see The Lords of Liechtenstein at River Spiriti Music House Concerts in Hastings. I believe there are still some seats available. The contact info is on the website. Call Peter and make a reservation and join me. You'll thank me.


I signed the Pro-Truth Pledge:
please hold me accountable.





Memories: Not that Horrid Song - May 29, 2018
Wise Madness is Now In Session - May 28, 2018
The NFL and the First Amendment - May 27, 2018
On The Road Again - May 26, 2018
Oliver the Three-Eyed Crow - May 25, 2018



creative commons
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial-Share Alike 3.0 License.
Horvendile October 19, 2014
site search by freefind advanced


Follow on Feedly



about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!