I became insane with long intervals of horrible sanity.
Edgar Allen Poe

The trouble with fighting for human freedom is that one spends most of one's time defending scoundrels. For it is against scoundrels that oppressive laws are first aimed, and oppression must be stopped at the beginning if it is to be stopped at all.
- H. L. Mencken

Many people would sooner die than think; In fact, they do so
-Bertrand Russell

What I have been telling you, from alpha to omega, what is the one great thing the sigil taught me — that everything in life is miraculous. For the sigil taught me that it rests within the power of each of us to awaken at will from a dragging nightmare of life made up of unimportant tasks and tedious useless little habits, to see life as it really is, and to rejoice in its exquisite wonderfulness. If the sigil were proved to be the top of a tomato-can, it would not alter that big fact, nor my fixed faith. No Harrowby, the common names we call things by do not matter — except to show how very dull we are ...
-James Branch Cabell

September 13, 2004 - 2:35 a.m.

The lonliness of the long distance Met fan

I did something I hardly ever do today, I went to a baseball game alone. Alan and Larry went to the Jets home opener instead. Alan hasn�t missed a Jet home game since 1979, maybe 78. It was a perfect day for a game and I tried to make the best of it. I did things I wouldn�t do with Alan. First off I didn�t sit in our regular seats. We sit in the Mezzanine section 11. Hardly anyone is going to the games at this point so there are much better seats left empty. I sat in the Loge Section 7. It is amazing how much better that is. As those of you who�ve been to concerts with me know, I like being up close to the action. The one thing that I didn�t do but should have was keep score. I usually do that when I�m alone. For those of you who don�t know, keeping score is a shorthand method for keeping track of everything that happens in a game. If you do it well you can totally recreate the game in your head. I bet some of you are thinking, �Why would anyone do that?� What�s funny is that some of you saying that keep track of set lists of every show you go to J

The US open finals were today which made taking the LIRR to the game much more convenient. The trains were every half hour instead of every hour. I took one of those extra trains to the game, it was almost empty, most people don�t know about them. The real gain is going home, I didn�t have to worry about racing for the train, even if I just missed one I wouldn�t have to wait too long. As it was I waited for 12 minutes not too bad.

I almost finished Walden today. I didn�t because with 7 pages to go a radio version of Cyrano de Bergerac starring the immortal Ronald Coleman. Cyrano is one of my favorite plays. There are times when I�ll just read the last scene. It moves me so much

I had something all planned to write tonight but Leah called me and now it is after 2AM and I really should be getting to sleep. Tomorrow after teaching I�m going to a double header. I hope that I have the time and energy to write it tomorrow. I�ll even save the Walden quotes till then. I�ll just leave you with the words that Rich Connity at WFUV ends his show with every Sunday night. �Rhythm saved the world.�


I signed the Pro-Truth Pledge:
please hold me accountable.





Memories: Not that Horrid Song - May 29, 2018
Wise Madness is Now In Session - May 28, 2018
The NFL and the First Amendment - May 27, 2018
On The Road Again - May 26, 2018
Oliver the Three-Eyed Crow - May 25, 2018



creative commons
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial-Share Alike 3.0 License.
Horvendile September 13, 2004
site search by freefind advanced


Follow on Feedly



about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!