I became insane with long intervals of horrible sanity.
Edgar Allen Poe

The trouble with fighting for human freedom is that one spends most of one's time defending scoundrels. For it is against scoundrels that oppressive laws are first aimed, and oppression must be stopped at the beginning if it is to be stopped at all.
- H. L. Mencken

Many people would sooner die than think; In fact, they do so
-Bertrand Russell

What I have been telling you, from alpha to omega, what is the one great thing the sigil taught me — that everything in life is miraculous. For the sigil taught me that it rests within the power of each of us to awaken at will from a dragging nightmare of life made up of unimportant tasks and tedious useless little habits, to see life as it really is, and to rejoice in its exquisite wonderfulness. If the sigil were proved to be the top of a tomato-can, it would not alter that big fact, nor my fixed faith. No Harrowby, the common names we call things by do not matter — except to show how very dull we are ...
-James Branch Cabell

December 28, 2016 - 10:52 a.m.

Meta-Curmudgeon

I stopped wasting time and started writing and it's only 9:46! I'm a dynamo. Or is that a dinosaur? Domino?

I didn't leave the house yesterday so not much there to write about. I still have an idiot story. Monday I went to Trader Joe's to get eggs and coffee. I didn't get the coffee. We have coffee in the house but it's Maxwell House. How am I supposed to maintain my coffee snob status with that? Next time I'm near a Trader Joe's I'll pick some coffee up. Anyplace else have reasonably priced good whole bean coffee? The other thing I need to pick up is a basting brush. I melted my last one. Here's a tip, don't try to apply oil to a hot cast iron skillet with a brush. That's a bigger idiot story.

I did get one thing accomplished yesterday, cleaning up the kitchen after the Christmas dinner. I had to clean the cast iron skillets, that’s what reminded me. It is so nice having a dish washer.

I'm normally rushing on Wednesday to get to therapy but my therapist is on vacation. I was going to make a run there for meds but I have enough to hold out till next week. I'll do that and save the railroad ticket money.

Here's my problem, what's running through my head now are ideas on how a progressive economic agenda can deal with displaced industrial workers. The problem with that are I'm not competent to make a working plan, just sketch an idea, and nobody will want to read it. the other thing on my mind is how people don't want to hear that they can't have certain things and that will come off as scolding and not help. I want my curmudging to serve a purpose, not just make me feel better.

I want to write something positive today. I'm listening to the WQXR classical countdown, right now they are playing Mozart's Piano Concerto No. 21. That should help. I have often thought how lucky I am to live in the same universe as Mozart. OK, I can curmudge and be positive at the same time. I'll go with that.

One of the big reasons that we ended up with President Trump is the trope that things are terrible and we need disruptive change. People keep feeding that trope. From the way people speak you'd never know that unemployment is very low, that real wages (after inflation) are rising, that the crime rate is down, that the arts are flourishing, That despite the headlines fewer people are dying and suffering. There is still too much poverty, too much killing, too much suffering. But that's always been true. That's not saying that the present is terrible. Terrible compared to what? Paradise? It's great compared to most of history. All we can ever hope to do is make things better. We will never make them perfect.

Look at me, my life sucks, I was contemplating suicide, but here I am sitting in a nice warm home on my computer listening to Mozart and writing on a forum that you can all see. I have friends in trouble but I have far more friends that aren't. I look at my friends and I see people kvelling about their children and amused by their pets. I see people getting excited over books, movies, music, and art. I see people making art, sometimes great art. Know what I don't see? People working all day in a field hoping to have enough food for the year. That's the way most people have lived through most of history. Rather than say how terrible the world is work on making it better.

I am curmudging you to not curmudge.

I'm going to finish this then go downstairs and make myself matzoh brei with peanut butter. How bad can a world with matzoh brei with peanut butter be? As it's Chanukah should I make it oil instead of butter? We'll see.


I signed the Pro-Truth Pledge:
please hold me accountable.





Memories: Not that Horrid Song - May 29, 2018
Wise Madness is Now In Session - May 28, 2018
The NFL and the First Amendment - May 27, 2018
On The Road Again - May 26, 2018
Oliver the Three-Eyed Crow - May 25, 2018



creative commons
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial-Share Alike 3.0 License.
Horvendile December 28, 2016
site search by freefind advanced


Follow on Feedly



about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!