I became insane with long intervals of horrible sanity.
Edgar Allen Poe

The trouble with fighting for human freedom is that one spends most of one's time defending scoundrels. For it is against scoundrels that oppressive laws are first aimed, and oppression must be stopped at the beginning if it is to be stopped at all.
- H. L. Mencken

Many people would sooner die than think; In fact, they do so
-Bertrand Russell

What I have been telling you, from alpha to omega, what is the one great thing the sigil taught me — that everything in life is miraculous. For the sigil taught me that it rests within the power of each of us to awaken at will from a dragging nightmare of life made up of unimportant tasks and tedious useless little habits, to see life as it really is, and to rejoice in its exquisite wonderfulness. If the sigil were proved to be the top of a tomato-can, it would not alter that big fact, nor my fixed faith. No Harrowby, the common names we call things by do not matter — except to show how very dull we are ...
-James Branch Cabell

August 11, 2014 - 11:07 a.m.

Honorable Menschin

I'm supposed to write again aren't I? A friend asked if it gets boring writing every day for close to 14 years. The answer is no. Even though I always find it hard to start I'd be heartbroken if I had to stop. It's the one sure good thing I my life every day.

Yesterday I went to the Botanic Gardens. I of course never opened the membership package I got from them so I just brought it with me. I took Heather as my guest. I opened the package on the train. Guess what it wasn't my membership package. I never got my member card. when I got there they looked me up and saw I was a member and gave me a temporary card. I have to call and get a new one sent to me.

I love being a member of cultural institutions. I always feel like a VIP when I walk in. Then we got a discount at the snack bar! valuable prizes! I'm going to start going to the Garden more often. I can just go there and read on a nice day. I saw people doing that. I decided it's one of the places I want to live. On warm summer nights I'm sleeping on the little out building on the shore of the pond in the Japanese Garden. That's my favorite part of the Garden. I told myself I wasn't going to post any pictures but I had to share this with the world.

LORi says I can find a folksinger anywhere. She's right. I'm taking that to NERFA.

We then went back to Heather's where I proved my Wile E. Coyote style genius by assembling an Ikea desk for her. Do they sent the instructions to a cryptographer? But I did it pretty easily. I got to use the big Allen wrench. I told Heather "now that's a man's Allen wrench. She thought that was sexist. I think that's way too ridiculous to be sexist. It's self-satirization.

So now to talk about actual sexism and how I'm going to handle something. I am pretty sure that I've discussed here how calling someone a mensch is as high a praise as I can give. And now I found out that my entire point is wrong. Good thing I fact checked. I thought mensch meant "man" as in male human and was a cognate of man. It is but in the original sense of human being of any gender. My parents never used it that way and I learned it from them. Ok so now my point is wrong but I'm still going to make it because it says something about me. And admitting that shows that I'm a mensch. So forget the literals what does mensch really mean?

Mensch (Yiddish: מענטש mentsh, cognate with German: Mensch "human being") means "a person of integrity and honor."[1] The opposite of a "mensch" is an "unmensch" (meaning: an utterly unlikeable or unfriendly person). According to Leo Rosten, the Yiddish maven and author of The Joys of Yiddish, "mensch" is "someone to admire and emulate, someone of noble character. The key to being 'a real mensch' is nothing less than character, rectitude, dignity, a sense of what is right, responsible, decorous."[2] The term is used as a high compliment, expressing the rarity and value of that individual's qualities.
That is from Wikipedia. There have often been women that I wanted to call a mensch as nothing else described them but felt awkward using the word as I thought it was male. This issue came to a head with Mya announcing she was a transgender woman. Before Mya made her transition public I had a discussion with someone that the one word we both used to describe her was mensch. As there is no female equivalent I was about to say that I'm just going to make it gender neutral term. Everyone who knows the word will know exactly what I mean. The problem being that it means complimenting a woman by saying she's a man. But I'm free of the problem. Yiddish is even better than I thought! The best language for talking about people. And no matter what Mya is a mensch. I'm happy I can now say that without confusion.

One more loose end. Joy wants me to make a monthly podcast. Just what I needed more ego expansion. And of course now I want to do it. I have no idea how to go about it Do any of you? Would anyone be interested? it would be like my own version of Vin Scelsa's "Idiot's Delight." I would play music and talk. Something like Wise Madness with a sound track.

I don't have much planned today so tomorrow I'm free to write about anything. I think I'm heading back to Falcon Ridge. I need to write a philosophical roundup of what it means.


I signed the Pro-Truth Pledge:
please hold me accountable.





Memories: Not that Horrid Song - May 29, 2018
Wise Madness is Now In Session - May 28, 2018
The NFL and the First Amendment - May 27, 2018
On The Road Again - May 26, 2018
Oliver the Three-Eyed Crow - May 25, 2018



creative commons
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial-Share Alike 3.0 License.
Horvendile August 11, 2014
site search by freefind advanced


Follow on Feedly



about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!