I became insane with long intervals of horrible sanity.
Edgar Allen Poe

The trouble with fighting for human freedom is that one spends most of one's time defending scoundrels. For it is against scoundrels that oppressive laws are first aimed, and oppression must be stopped at the beginning if it is to be stopped at all.
- H. L. Mencken

Many people would sooner die than think; In fact, they do so
-Bertrand Russell

What I have been telling you, from alpha to omega, what is the one great thing the sigil taught me — that everything in life is miraculous. For the sigil taught me that it rests within the power of each of us to awaken at will from a dragging nightmare of life made up of unimportant tasks and tedious useless little habits, to see life as it really is, and to rejoice in its exquisite wonderfulness. If the sigil were proved to be the top of a tomato-can, it would not alter that big fact, nor my fixed faith. No Harrowby, the common names we call things by do not matter — except to show how very dull we are ...
-James Branch Cabell

2002-02-26 - 1:01 a.m.

oO Make Me Laugh Oo

What's with this? Last night I stayed up late writing a long entry and only 7 people read it. Now before you read another word go back and read my last entry.

A couple of things I forgot to mention in yesterday's entry. I ran into my friend Charles at the show. I never plan on seeing Charles, we don't have each other's contact info but I've known him for years. Bad Carey and myself always see him at Christine Lavin shows. I've also seen him at the Roches and Loudon Wainwright. We were sitting at different ends of the table and I kept worrying that we were annoying everyone else talking across them. It did seem that most people found our conversation interesting actually.

The other thing I forgot to mention is that Noam Weinstein in addition to being very funny and a talented singer/songwriter reminded me a lot of Murray. He looked like he could be Murray's younger brother. His homepage only has a picture of him as a kid so you can't see for yourself.

I gave my class their first test today. I deliberately made it short and I thought easy. Some people finished in 25 minutes. A few took the full 90. The results so far are mixed. One student came to me and asked what he could do if he failed. I had him in my remedial class and I knew he didn't. He's really good. I told him not to worry. He may not have faith in himself but I had faith in him. He has the second highest grade so far. The person with the highest grade had a huge smile on her face. I said that she looked happy. She said she wasn't and that she wasn't doing well on the test. They are just like so many of my friends. They undervalued themselves.

I didn't get to see my father today. They brought him into dialysis when I was going to go. It's too late when he's out of dialysis. This is the first day I've missed visiting him. I feel bad about it. The one good thing is that I don't have to see his roommate. He is a total robot. I keep trying to talk to my father and he wont' shut up. Not only is he a robot but he's a boring robot at that. If he talked about the The Dustzappas at least it would have some value.

Tonight I managed to grade about a third of the tests. I might actually have it ready for them next class on Wednesday. I'll make a real effort. Of course I have a somewhat ambitious entry planned for tomorrow, I'll have to see if I can do both.

Other than marking papers all I did tonight was watch TV, listen to music, and have my usual Monday night talk with Carey. I prep her for her talk with her parents. Then I'm off to watch Angel. I still get so happy that I can make Carey laugh. It is one of the greatest gifts. Humor is very personal. Even comedies that most people like, such as The Producers tend to be quirky. They really highlight their creator's idiosyncrasies. I always think of myself as funny. I do make people laugh now and then. There are only a few people who I can consistently connect with the funny bone though. It shows a real connection. In polls women consistently put "can make me laugh" at the top of the list of what they are looking for in a man. Someone who I can make laugh is at the top of my list of what to look for in a woman.


I signed the Pro-Truth Pledge:
please hold me accountable.





Memories: Not that Horrid Song - May 29, 2018
Wise Madness is Now In Session - May 28, 2018
The NFL and the First Amendment - May 27, 2018
On The Road Again - May 26, 2018
Oliver the Three-Eyed Crow - May 25, 2018



creative commons
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial-Share Alike 3.0 License.
Horvendile 2002-02-26
site search by freefind advanced


Follow on Feedly



about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!