I became insane with long intervals of horrible sanity.
Edgar Allen Poe

The trouble with fighting for human freedom is that one spends most of one's time defending scoundrels. For it is against scoundrels that oppressive laws are first aimed, and oppression must be stopped at the beginning if it is to be stopped at all.
- H. L. Mencken

Many people would sooner die than think; In fact, they do so
-Bertrand Russell

What I have been telling you, from alpha to omega, what is the one great thing the sigil taught me — that everything in life is miraculous. For the sigil taught me that it rests within the power of each of us to awaken at will from a dragging nightmare of life made up of unimportant tasks and tedious useless little habits, to see life as it really is, and to rejoice in its exquisite wonderfulness. If the sigil were proved to be the top of a tomato-can, it would not alter that big fact, nor my fixed faith. No Harrowby, the common names we call things by do not matter — except to show how very dull we are ...
-James Branch Cabell

May 18, 2015 - 11:59 a.m.

I'd Walk a Mile or Three for a Mac & Cheese

I am way behind and I have a lot to do because as usual I've been putting things off for week so I'll keep it short today. Why am I going to be in a rush? Because I'm going to be guest DJing on the radio tonight, WFDU. I’m going to guest DJ on Brian Norton's show! That means I have to find all the music I want to play today. Yes I should have been doing this all week. My plan is to do three sets. The show is called Boomers and is a show for Baby Boomers, duh. While I am a baby boomer and I love the music from them, I have nothing special to bring to the table playing it so I'm going to stretch the format. I'm going to start with covers of songs from my childhood through finishing college, boomer music with a twist. Then I'll talk about some shows I've been to recently and some I'm going to be going to in the near future and give promos for the shows. So you'll want to listen to this. Oh and if you follow the link to the station you'll see that there's a camera and you'll get to see the back of my head. I'll have to sell advertising space on my bald spot.

Last night I was all set to see Snehasish Mozumder at Rockwood Music Hall. When I saw him on Wednesday he said he'd be there Sunday night. I went to check the time on the Rockwood site and it wasn't listed. It wasn't listed on his site. The show was late, 10 PM so I wasn't going to go when I didn't know it was on for sure.

So what did I do yesterday? I had to pick up some things from Pathmark so I walked there. .Why wasn't I doing this all along? It's only 3.22 miles away. I hit a lot of red lights on the way it took me 58 minutes. Still it's a fun walk. As long as the weather holds up and I have the time I'm going to try and walk at least one way on trips in Brooklyn. Of course coming home with perishables including ice cream I took the subway.

So you know how I said I bought Mac and Cheese a few weeks ago. I didn't. But I bought it last night and made it when I got home. I have never liked pasta so I never tried mac & cheese till recently. I was surprised to find that it was good. But that mus have been home made. I bought the classic Kraft's and it struck me like pasta always strikes me, l like I'm eating worms. I'm glad I only bought two boxes.

Since I didn't go to Rockwood I watched a movie. How did I never see X-Men before? I was sure I had seen it then I realized I had no idea what the plot was so I watched it. I am a total sucker for the series in all formats. How do I not love a series where the villain is not a complex character with good motives twisted by his experience as a holocaust survivor?

OK I have to gather my music for tonight's show. Some of the artists you'll hear are Sam Baker, Maura Kennedy, Harpeth Rising, Jean Rohe, and Bobtown. Yeah the usual suspects.

OK I have a lot to do so I'm keeping this short. Listen tonight!


I signed the Pro-Truth Pledge:
please hold me accountable.





Memories: Not that Horrid Song - May 29, 2018
Wise Madness is Now In Session - May 28, 2018
The NFL and the First Amendment - May 27, 2018
On The Road Again - May 26, 2018
Oliver the Three-Eyed Crow - May 25, 2018



creative commons
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial-Share Alike 3.0 License.
Horvendile May 18, 2015
site search by freefind advanced


Follow on Feedly



about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!