I became insane with long intervals of horrible sanity.
Edgar Allen Poe

The trouble with fighting for human freedom is that one spends most of one's time defending scoundrels. For it is against scoundrels that oppressive laws are first aimed, and oppression must be stopped at the beginning if it is to be stopped at all.
- H. L. Mencken

Many people would sooner die than think; In fact, they do so
-Bertrand Russell

What I have been telling you, from alpha to omega, what is the one great thing the sigil taught me — that everything in life is miraculous. For the sigil taught me that it rests within the power of each of us to awaken at will from a dragging nightmare of life made up of unimportant tasks and tedious useless little habits, to see life as it really is, and to rejoice in its exquisite wonderfulness. If the sigil were proved to be the top of a tomato-can, it would not alter that big fact, nor my fixed faith. No Harrowby, the common names we call things by do not matter — except to show how very dull we are ...
-James Branch Cabell

October 20, 2014 - 11:21 a.m.

Liechtenstein-on-Hudson

Yesterday I took part in an invasion, A European country occupied a portion of a Westchester town creating the principality of Liechtenstein-on-Hudson. In other words The Lords of Liechtenstein played River Spirit Music. I often go to this series even though it's in Hastings and I have to take MetroNorth and then get a ride from the station as I always know people that will give me the ride, This time it was my boys the Lords playing and I came up with them. As often happens in invasions there were unexpected logistical difficulties. In this case more passengers than can fit in the Carriage of Liechtenstein, Dan and Noah's parents' van. In addition to the Lord and their parents Michael and Star, they brought three friends, Erin, Christine, and Kim. Along with myself that meant 8 people in a seven seat car.. that led to this.

Yes Noah is on Dan's lap. We drove that way from near the Lincoln Tunnel where the New Yorkers were picked up to Hastings. Good thing it's a short trip. Now I know what it's like to ride in a clown car.

Unsurprisingly we were the first ones there. So we got the good seats There were not a lot of people I knew at the show, just Carter and Charlie, one of the WfUV volunteers.

Why didn't I get a picture of myself? I was dressed in my official Lords of Liechtenstein Sweatervest and even wore argyle socks. My modeling paid off in vest sales. Yes you too can buy one. See me next show. Oh yes, I did the merch. That's not too surprising.

Now on to important things, the food. I didn't discover it till after the show but somebody made corn dog casserole. It was essentially hot dogs embedded in cornbread. that was amazing. The combination of the sweet cornbread and savory hot dog was divine. Other highlights were Trader Joe's Babka and cheese cake.

Ok so what else is there to talk about. Oh yeah, there was music.. It was the Lords, the music was great. It's always great. people think of them as a funny band but most of their songs are not funny. They can be sweet, biting, touching, and political. They cover all the bases. They throw in covers but they still haven't covered the Beach Boys like I've suggested since day one. What's that about.. Carey tell them that if they cover the BBs they'll have the BB girls all over them.

Their album came out in June and they already have new songs. The creative juices are flowing. Good thing they didn't get all over my nice clothes. Did I tell you that I actually got complimented on the way I dressed and not the sweater vest? Not that I'm writing about me.

The Lords are great, their music has content. They can sing. But I realized there is a place for not great music. I bonded with someone over our distaste for mediocrity, the nice people playing nice music, nicely. It was nice we disliked the same music Not like Dan. He disliked Dylan. Some people ain't got no culture.

I took some pics.


Noah


Dan and his Argyle guitar strap

The Father of Liechtenstein in Harmonica

For the ride home we packed ourselves in the clown car but each got driven home, first Astoria then Williamsburg, then me in Crown Heights. When the crowd thinned out a bit I got the nerve to sing the song I had written earlier in the day. For once I came up with the brilliant idea of recording it on my phone. That was great as I had forgotten it by the time I wanted to sing it. The way I write is that a line or two comes down from Olympus and lodges itself in my brain. Then I have to search the ether for the rest of the song. The lines that came to me were,

The Lords of Liechtenstein came to my house.
The Lords of Liechtenstein once ate a mouse
I never said it was a good song. But it demanded to be written. The shocking thing is that I sang it to them. I think this is only the third time I've sung something I wrote for professional. In the car I said the second but I forgot singing The War on Terror: the Musical to Eric Schwartz. Maybe one of these days I'll get up the nerve to go to the Songwriter's Exchange.

This is short but I'm going to leave it. I don't have much planned this week and I'll need all the material I can find to fill the rest of the week. You might hear a lot about my insecurities.

Now on to breakfast. It's time for an omelet.


I signed the Pro-Truth Pledge:
please hold me accountable.





Memories: Not that Horrid Song - May 29, 2018
Wise Madness is Now In Session - May 28, 2018
The NFL and the First Amendment - May 27, 2018
On The Road Again - May 26, 2018
Oliver the Three-Eyed Crow - May 25, 2018



creative commons
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial-Share Alike 3.0 License.
Horvendile October 20, 2014
site search by freefind advanced


Follow on Feedly



about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!