I became insane with long intervals of horrible sanity.
Edgar Allen Poe

The trouble with fighting for human freedom is that one spends most of one's time defending scoundrels. For it is against scoundrels that oppressive laws are first aimed, and oppression must be stopped at the beginning if it is to be stopped at all.
- H. L. Mencken

Many people would sooner die than think; In fact, they do so
-Bertrand Russell

What I have been telling you, from alpha to omega, what is the one great thing the sigil taught me — that everything in life is miraculous. For the sigil taught me that it rests within the power of each of us to awaken at will from a dragging nightmare of life made up of unimportant tasks and tedious useless little habits, to see life as it really is, and to rejoice in its exquisite wonderfulness. If the sigil were proved to be the top of a tomato-can, it would not alter that big fact, nor my fixed faith. No Harrowby, the common names we call things by do not matter — except to show how very dull we are ...
-James Branch Cabell

September 28, 2014 - 11:24 a.m.

From the Square to the Cosmos

I'm having trouble starting today. Of course that often happens. The toughest part of writing is overcoming the static friction. Once you get started it's much easier. After I build up a head of steam it's hard to stop

Yesterday was Saturday in September so it�s likely you'll find me in Madison Square Park for the Mad Sq Music Studio series. Maggi books it and she's a kindred spirit. This week's artists were Julian Lage & Chris Eldridge and Front Country. The only one I have seen before is Chris. Of course I only recently discovered that Critter, Kristin Andreassen's boyfriend was Chris Eldridge from the Punch Brothers. Have I mentioned that I'm an idiot. I've seen the Punch Brothers and didn't realize it. Of course I'm also blind and didn't have good seats. But mainly I'm an idiot. I should have seen Front Country the other day on the same bill as Cricket Tell the Weather but I got a Crohn's attack and had to leave early. Cricket and Critter? I'm living Wild Kingdom.

I learned my lesson from last week and got there 40 minutes early and was able to grab two seats down front because people who were just using them to sit in the park got up and left. I saved a seat for Dan who met me there.

Before Dan got there I went backstage to say hi to Ashley, Maggi's assistant, Maggi wasn't there. I wanted to prove to Ashley that after 5 years or something I finally learned her name. I set the bar on my memory low.

On the way back there I saw Kristin.. That was of course not a surprise. We talked for a bit and now I'm involved in a project that I'm not going to talk about yet. Once again proving that it's not what you know but who you know. That's why I'm only friends with people that are more talented than me. Good thing that doesn't limit things much.

Then I somehow started talking to Melody the lead singer of Front Country. She clearly fits in with my people. Front Country clearly fits in with my bands. They describe themselves as progressive bluegrass as does Cricket Tell the Weather. It's what hard core bluegrass fans call "not bluegrass." It's what I call "good music." Now they look like a bluegrass band, especially the left half.


You're not nuts, that's a different banjo player

Melody doesn't sound like a bluegrass singer, more akin to rock or musical theater. How do I explain this? She sings with more power than is typical in bluegrass. That isn't a knock on bluegrass singing. it's a difference. There are many ways to sing well. But I do like the way her singing worked with the music. I liked the music. Hell I loved it all. They have a song from the point of view of a glacier! I thought only Brian Gundersdorf does things like that.

Between sets I had a chance to talk to Dan. I mentioned that I never heard the name Lage before and wondered if it might be French. Then Dan figured it out; Julian Lage is really Julian Assange. He hardly had to change his name to make it into the country. Dan pointed out that if all the songs are a out Wikileaks it's confirmed. Then they did "Someone to Watch Over Me." Need I say more? Sorry Julian for blowing your cover.

This is a side project for both Julian and Critter and they know what a side project is about, having fun. the music was all over the place. They played the music they want to play. The one thing all the songs had in common was amazing guitar playing and wonderful instrumental chemistry. Dan an I both noticed how they'd throw in these unexpected chords or tempo changes that took the music from the good to the extraordinary. The difference between the right chord and almost the right chord is the difference between lightning and a lightning bug. They consistently played the right one. They did blues, country, bluegrass, and folk and somehow added a layer of classical guitar to it.. The mantra of Dan's band The Lords of Liechtenstein is that all women are mean to his brother Noah. They clearly knew Dan was in the audience as they did "Mean Women Blues." Where would songwriting be without mean women? Well we'd still have mean men but that would leave the straight men out of the business.


Julian Lage & Chris Eldridge

After the show I hung out with Dan for a while, said goodbye to Kristin and Melody and walked Dan to the . Then I went to my next stop for the evening which was two whole blocks from Madison Square Park and one from the station; Lori not LORi and Joe's pre-wedding party. It was at a bar on 24th Street.


As you can see it was a formal affair.

Who was there that I know? Rona & Bob, Dawn & Patrick, and Bobbi Jo. There were 80s video games. There was a discussion on what you call the grooves glaciers made in the rocks in Central Park. I'll let you come up with the word yourself and tell you later.

Then I headed to Heather's to watch my TV that lives there with her cable box. From that union came my ability to watch Cosmos Yes I'm a nerd. Not only that I'm proud of it. Not only that but I knew enough to not agree with Tyson's interpretation of Giordano Bruno. I'm not saying he's wrong but he ignored the entire political side to what Bruno did. He couched political criticism in philosophic garb

So know how I said once I get started I can't stop writing? Apparently Bruno is a rut in the road that brought me to a dead stop. but I can't just end it with Renaissance theological philosopher. I know I can end it with the way I always end it, my breakfast plans. OOO, I think today I'll try something new, poached eggs served on quinoa. That sounds interesting. I'll throw some jack cheese in there too.


I signed the Pro-Truth Pledge:
please hold me accountable.





Memories: Not that Horrid Song - May 29, 2018
Wise Madness is Now In Session - May 28, 2018
The NFL and the First Amendment - May 27, 2018
On The Road Again - May 26, 2018
Oliver the Three-Eyed Crow - May 25, 2018



creative commons
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial-Share Alike 3.0 License.
Horvendile September 28, 2014
site search by freefind advanced


Follow on Feedly



about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!