I became insane with long intervals of horrible sanity.
Edgar Allen Poe

The trouble with fighting for human freedom is that one spends most of one's time defending scoundrels. For it is against scoundrels that oppressive laws are first aimed, and oppression must be stopped at the beginning if it is to be stopped at all.
- H. L. Mencken

Many people would sooner die than think; In fact, they do so
-Bertrand Russell

What I have been telling you, from alpha to omega, what is the one great thing the sigil taught me — that everything in life is miraculous. For the sigil taught me that it rests within the power of each of us to awaken at will from a dragging nightmare of life made up of unimportant tasks and tedious useless little habits, to see life as it really is, and to rejoice in its exquisite wonderfulness. If the sigil were proved to be the top of a tomato-can, it would not alter that big fact, nor my fixed faith. No Harrowby, the common names we call things by do not matter — except to show how very dull we are ...
-James Branch Cabell

January 31, 2016 - 1:46 p.m.

Lording Over It

Late start today, I didn't get to sleep till after 3 AM, that's a valid excuse. Of course I was home around 1:30 so I should have been asleep earlier. My Facebook had exploded while I was out and had a lot to respond to. Of course I was up this morning at 10 and it's now 11:30. Chronoklepts are everywhere.

So now back to yesterday. I know the question on everyone's mind is, "how did the MSG go with the eggs?" I had sausageeggandcheese on a bagel. I added umami, and it tasted great. Notice sometimes I say MSG and sometimes umami, which is actually the taste of MSG, not the substance. That's playing with your heads. You hear MSG and think "Chemical! Evil! Headaches!" You hear umami and think, "Exotic! Eastern Wisdom!" It's all irrational. If you won't eat anything with ingredients you can't pronounce stay away from carrots, they contain a lot of (2E,4E,6E,8E)-3,7-Dimethyl-9-(2,6,6-trimethyl-1-cyclohexen-1-yl)-2,4,6,8-nonatetraen-1-ol.

I forgot something very important in my review of Honor Finnegan's new album Roses and Victory. it came in a bubble wrap envelope. I've been popping it. It's pretty close which is better great music or popping bubble wrap. My plan is to sell bubble wrap painted red with the word's "tension sheet" printed on it and become a billionaire.

Last night I went to Pianos for the Lords of Liechtenstein's release show for their new album, Oh, Hello Sweetie Pie. Guess who was doing merch. Come on guess. No it was not John Kasich, they asked him but he is in Iowa. It was me. They were giving the CDs away but that did not make my job particularly easy. I had to go through the crowd and hand them out. I managed it. And I did sell a sweater vest! I never sell sweater vests. That was exciting.

I had a lot of friends in the audience, Dan and Noah's parents, Michael and Star, Gene and Isabel, Fred and Linda, Chris, Kat, Caitlin, Gidge, and Katherine. Is that it? There was an interesting age distribution. Lots of people around my age, lots of people in their twenties, and Chris all by his lonesome.

Another of my favorite bands were on right before them, M Shanghai. I have seen share a bill with the Lords before. They do something different than other string bands; their songs are often lyric driven. That's a great combination. They put on as good a show as anyone. The problem last night was that too many people were talking during their set. Fred says that's what happens at standing shows. I don't go to that many anymore but it certainly didn't used to be that way. When I was a regular at the Mercury Lounge, Bowery Ballroom, and Irving Plaza that was not an issue. Now I'll pay attention to see if that holds true. I think it has more to do with the age of the crowd and the proximity of the bar. It also has to do with whom the crowd is there to see. It was not bad during the Lords' set.

The Lords did something totally different this how. They had a full band! Electric guitar, electric bass, drums and harmony vocals. It transformed a lot of the songs. Many of them were played at a much faster tempo. Noah played rhythm uke. Yes, they were a rock/pop band. I loved it on most of the songs. I haven't listened to the album yet to know how it sounds. This was all a revelation for me. They were on a strict schedule so as to allow time to do all the songs they had to eschew their usual stage patter. Much more Beach Boys than Smothers Brothers.

So here's what I love about the Lords, even when they are sounding like a pop band if you listen to the lyrics you hear just how weird they are. And they balanced it perfectly, you could hear all the lyrics. I'll write more about this when I hear the album but I was thinking about it when Noah used the word "mosquito" in a song. Do you know any other songs that mention mosquitos? People talk about them often but it's hard to fit into a lyric.

After the show and handing out the merch I packed it and helped carry it to their parents' car. They pretty much parked in Brooklyn; We walked about 6 miles east from Ludlow Street on Houston Street. That's the closest they could find parking. Then a bunch of us went to the dinner on Norfolk Street. Let's see if I remember who was there, clockwise around the tables; Dan, Jay, Rachel, Jordan, Gidalia, Kim, Star, and Michael. Who am I missing? We spent a lot of time talking. That's why I got home so late. I had a "Chocolate Outrage" and it was as good as it sounds. It was a chocolate cake with some amazing chocolate filling. I just checked, the name of the place is the Remedy Diner. I don't think I ever used its name before. Michael and Star drove Dan, Jordan, and Rachel back to Dan's apartment in Brooklyn and were kind enough to drive me home. That made things much easier for me. OK now I have to make breakfast, bacon and eggs. Yes, I'm going to put MSG on my eggs. I'm addicted.


I signed the Pro-Truth Pledge:
please hold me accountable.





Memories: Not that Horrid Song - May 29, 2018
Wise Madness is Now In Session - May 28, 2018
The NFL and the First Amendment - May 27, 2018
On The Road Again - May 26, 2018
Oliver the Three-Eyed Crow - May 25, 2018



creative commons
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial-Share Alike 3.0 License.
Horvendile January 31, 2016
site search by freefind advanced


Follow on Feedly



about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!