I became insane with long intervals of horrible sanity.
Edgar Allen Poe

The trouble with fighting for human freedom is that one spends most of one's time defending scoundrels. For it is against scoundrels that oppressive laws are first aimed, and oppression must be stopped at the beginning if it is to be stopped at all.
- H. L. Mencken

Many people would sooner die than think; In fact, they do so
-Bertrand Russell

What I have been telling you, from alpha to omega, what is the one great thing the sigil taught me — that everything in life is miraculous. For the sigil taught me that it rests within the power of each of us to awaken at will from a dragging nightmare of life made up of unimportant tasks and tedious useless little habits, to see life as it really is, and to rejoice in its exquisite wonderfulness. If the sigil were proved to be the top of a tomato-can, it would not alter that big fact, nor my fixed faith. No Harrowby, the common names we call things by do not matter — except to show how very dull we are ...
-James Branch Cabell

August 27, 2017 - 11:20 a.m.

The Lords of Liechtenstein and the King of the North

The hardest part of writing a blog is starting it. I have to do this every day and keep it fresh. I almost started with the dinner I'm planning on making. I moved that to the end. I hope this makes a better intro. Anyone know where my Zyrtec is? My allergies are acting up. It's hard to write when you can't stop sneezing.

Yesterday I headed upstream to Hastings-on-Hudson to see The Lords of Liechtenstein at the Upstream Gallery. That is new fief of the Peter and Paula folk empire. Carter, you have competition; Who is the true King of the North? Just wait till the Zombie Puff the Magic Dragon attacks.

I got to the Gallery a bit later than I wanted to. The trains run from University Heights, the easiest place for me to catch it only once an hour. That meant getting there either a half hour before the music or an hour and a half. I chose half an hour. Then the train was late. Then I tried to save time by taking a shortcut. I couldn't find the shortcut. All of which cut down on my schmoozing and promoting the Hudson West Fest.

I only knew people directly connected to the show, The Lords aka Dan and Noah, their parents Michael and Star, the opening act, Marianne Osiel, and the presenters, Peter and Paula.

Marianne is a Facebook friend that I had not met in the meat zone before. I always have to do a doubletake on her name, I want to squeeze it into Mariel. She's a classically trained oboist that plays an undersized guitar. She said she put it in the dryer too long. Her music is not classical oboe; it's a mixture of blues, folk, and pop. As you might have guessed from her line about the guitar she's silly and self-depreciating. She fits in with my friends. I showed that I'm a bad baby boomer; she did a song by Elton John that she said everyone would know. I didn't know it.

Even though she was totally unfamiliar with their music she played slide guitar on some of their songs. Skilled musicians can do that. They do it to just rub it in how much I'm not a skilled musician. It's a talent that I'm jealous of. I am forever Moses, granted a view of the promised land but never to cross the Jordan.

The Lords did more older songs than usual, three from before I met them. One was done just for me, Girlz with a Z because it's about Noah and my shared experience with women being mean to us. They break my heart and my bones then throw me to the wolves who break my heart again. They asked me before the show if I had any requests. I had to look at their most recent album to make my memory work. I knew the song I wanted but as usual blanked. It was Kool-Aid a jaunty ditty about the Jonestown Massacre. Dan thinks they aren't as weird as They Might Be Giants. Yeah. They didn't play it. When it came to the encore I shouted it out and they did play it.

I got up twice during the show to take pictures from the next room off to the side. If I had gotten there when I wanted I would have been able to eat the food that was served there. I took advantage of being up to grab some during the music. Marianne made gluten-free brownies. I don't care about the gluten-free but I'm all for chocolate. They were delicious. I didn't ask Mariel and the Lords if they noticed that I disappeared while I was taking pictures and came back chewing.

I mapped the Lords onto half the Beatles. Noah is Paul, the cute one. Dan is Pete Best, the dorky one. Why do I have friends? That's a mystery.

As for the pictures? They are still in my camera. I'm so far behind in my editing. You will see them eventually.

I didn't have to take the MetroNorth back to the Bronx. The Rauchwerk clan gave me a ride back to Fordham road. It was right on their way and it's right by the train station. It's not just faster than waiting for the train but I got to ride with some of my favorite people.

It looks like I'm staying home today. That's good as I have chicken I defrosted on Friday and an overripe plantain to eat. Aren't you glad I didn't lead with that sentence?


I signed the Pro-Truth Pledge:
please hold me accountable.





Memories: Not that Horrid Song - May 29, 2018
Wise Madness is Now In Session - May 28, 2018
The NFL and the First Amendment - May 27, 2018
On The Road Again - May 26, 2018
Oliver the Three-Eyed Crow - May 25, 2018



creative commons
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial-Share Alike 3.0 License.
Horvendile August 27, 2017
site search by freefind advanced


Follow on Feedly



about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!