I became insane with long intervals of horrible sanity.
Edgar Allen Poe

The trouble with fighting for human freedom is that one spends most of one's time defending scoundrels. For it is against scoundrels that oppressive laws are first aimed, and oppression must be stopped at the beginning if it is to be stopped at all.
- H. L. Mencken

Many people would sooner die than think; In fact, they do so
-Bertrand Russell

What I have been telling you, from alpha to omega, what is the one great thing the sigil taught me — that everything in life is miraculous. For the sigil taught me that it rests within the power of each of us to awaken at will from a dragging nightmare of life made up of unimportant tasks and tedious useless little habits, to see life as it really is, and to rejoice in its exquisite wonderfulness. If the sigil were proved to be the top of a tomato-can, it would not alter that big fact, nor my fixed faith. No Harrowby, the common names we call things by do not matter — except to show how very dull we are ...
-James Branch Cabell

October 26, 2015 - 11:20 a.m.

Courting Dan, Noah, and Matt

I'm starting to write before 10, that's good. Now that therapy starts an hour earlier it's incumbent on me to write earlier. Let's see if I can finish earlier. I should if I don't edit pictures. If I want to illustrate this I'll use Fred's as usual.

After stagnating I woke up this morning with my leg much improved. My knee was bent much more than I've been capable since the infection hit and it didn't hurt much. It hurt just not as much. Of course I am having a side-effect of the antibiotics; I'm running to the bathroom all the time. I didn't check the specifics but that's a common with anti-biotics. I generally don't look at the side-effect warnings for medicine as I don't want self-fulfilling prophesies. If I'm warned to look out for one and let the doctor know that's another story. If you look on the internet you'll find people self-reporting just about every side-effect for every drug, that's why you should ignore those things. If anyone has or imagine he has any symptom around the time he takes a drug he'll report it whether or not the drug is responsible. There's a reason they do studies.

I'm being good, taking my meds, keeping the knee clean and it's getter better. That's what matters.

I didn't update yesterday because Chris picked me up around noon and I had things to do to prepare so now I have to days to blog about. Good thing I didn't do much on Saturday. I didn't do much but it was still too much. I didn't feel up to going to First Acoustics to see Matt Nakoa and Martin Swinger but I had to do some shopping so I could make my Choco-Lavinator aka chocolate chip French toast bread pudding. I figured I'd go to Stop & Shop as that's a short train ride and walk to get what I need even though the eggs are 20¢ more than at Trader Joe's. When I got there they didn't have Challah! I asked someone at the bakery and she told me that they only made three loaves and they sold out. She told her manager that was not enough. I told her to tell him that I complained. So I then had to go to Trader Joe's which is too long a walk from the subway for someone with a bad leg. But I did it, I didn't want to disappoint my friends at the house concert on Sunday and that's what I'm going to really write about.

Matt Nakoa and The Lords of Liechtenstein at Courthouse Concerts aka Gene & Isabel's house. Chris kindly agreed to give me a ride there which made things much easier on both my knee and my plans to bring the Choco-Lavinator. It's liquid till I pop it in the oven and it's best to do that right before it's served so it's hard to take on public transportation. Chris got here right on time and we got to the house a bit earlier than we needed, before the musicians. But that's fine. Isabel & Gene are old friends and we went right in. A little while later Lori not LORi showed up. She wasn't sure if she'd be able to go and wasn't sure she'd be able to find the place. She did with no problem and so was early. That was fine with me.

I had lots of friends at the show, this is a home game, There was Fred, Mike, Steven & Joanne, Lynn, Shelley, Gary, Dan & Noah's parents Michael and Star, and the usual, people I'm blanking on.

I can't believe I can't remember the name of Gene's sister. I've known her for years. Of course I really can believe it I'm an idiot. She bought chocolate peanut butter pie knowing I love it. She loves my Choco-Lavinator. She understands that this is a pot luck lunch with music not a house concert with a pot luck. Someone brought this amazing pinwheels, whoever it was, thank you.

There was also some amazing music almost as good as the pinwheels, choco-lavinator, chocolate peanut butter pie, and all the other food I stuffed myself with. Lori brought me a Dunkin Donuts peanut but donut. Oh wait I'm talking about the music. Come on I can take my mind off food for a few minutes and write about it.

The show started with Matt's first set. I can't do better than give you the blurb I wrote for the First Acoustic E-Blast;

How many people are inside Matt Nakoa? He's a conservatory trained pianist, a Kerrville New Folk award winning songwriter, sensitive singer/songwriter on guitar, a dynamic rocker on piano and electric guitar, and voted a Falcon Ridge Folk Festival Most Wanted performer. He will bring his talent and charisma with him no matter what he performs.
Matt brought all those people with him yesterday. Well OK he didn't do the rock act but he still rocked out. I love him most on the piano and Gene & Isabel's was newly tuned. He took advantage of it. It isn't just his music but also his mind that jumps all over the place. That does fit in well with me. Look a bunny.

Dan and Noah had new songs. I see them enough that it's always a special treat if there's music that I haven't heard before. They did a set that they had to force each other to do, A Dan song Noah insisted on and visa versa. The Dan song was about a Star Trek fan getting the girl so it connected with me. Now if it can only come true.

The show ended with Matt and Kirsten Maxwell who was in the audience joining the Lords on John Prine's Angel of Montgomery. I sang along.

OK some pictures courtesy of Fred.


Matt


The Lords of Liechtenstein joined by their dad Michael on harmonica

By the time the show was over my leg bothered me and I was happy to head home, Chris drove me again. My plan for the evening was to watch Mark Allen Berube on concert window. I got home in time. I logged it on, and I was thwarted by the bandwidth hog. That was very sad. I could watch snippets but not one entire song. I hate when things like that happen. Later he got offline and I was able to watch Blake's 7. I would have much rather have watched Mark. But it was one of the best episodes of the later seasons, City on the Edge of the World; you get to see Vila as not just a hero but brilliant. He is a lot like me, very intelligent and an idiot at the same time. At the end Orac the supercomputer has a great retort. Vila says, "I think I just made the biggest mistake I ever made and Orac says, "That's very unlikely considering your obvious talent in that area."

Now he's the question do I have leftover Choco-Lavinator for breakfast or treat it as a dessert? I think today it's breakfast now and dessert later. I have a two loaves to eat. One I'll freeze.


I signed the Pro-Truth Pledge:
please hold me accountable.





Memories: Not that Horrid Song - May 29, 2018
Wise Madness is Now In Session - May 28, 2018
The NFL and the First Amendment - May 27, 2018
On The Road Again - May 26, 2018
Oliver the Three-Eyed Crow - May 25, 2018



creative commons
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial-Share Alike 3.0 License.
Horvendile October 26, 2015
site search by freefind advanced


Follow on Feedly



about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!