I became insane with long intervals of horrible sanity.
Edgar Allen Poe

The trouble with fighting for human freedom is that one spends most of one's time defending scoundrels. For it is against scoundrels that oppressive laws are first aimed, and oppression must be stopped at the beginning if it is to be stopped at all.
- H. L. Mencken

Many people would sooner die than think; In fact, they do so
-Bertrand Russell

What I have been telling you, from alpha to omega, what is the one great thing the sigil taught me — that everything in life is miraculous. For the sigil taught me that it rests within the power of each of us to awaken at will from a dragging nightmare of life made up of unimportant tasks and tedious useless little habits, to see life as it really is, and to rejoice in its exquisite wonderfulness. If the sigil were proved to be the top of a tomato-can, it would not alter that big fact, nor my fixed faith. No Harrowby, the common names we call things by do not matter — except to show how very dull we are ...
-James Branch Cabell

April 02, 2014 - 12:58 p.m.

That's Lord Horvendile to You

I'm getting a very late start today. It is noon and I have things to do. But I have edited my pictures.

Yesterday I looked at my calendar and saw I had nothing on it and took it easy after class. I had to help a student and send an assignment to my finite math class. I stopped at the post office and planned on going shopping I(t was a nice day so I was going to walk all the way down to Chelsea to Trader Joe's, After walking a few blocks I decided to just make what I had at home for dinner so I just walked to Carnegie Hall to take the . I was rewarded by noticing something at the building at the south end of Columbus Circle. I should know what it is now but I don�t. It used to be the Huntington Hartford Collection. I think I have to just show this to you and let the pictures tell the story.

Have I mentioned that I love New York?

I got home, got undressed, and settled in for the evening. Then I remembered that I had plans for the evening, something I had been looking forward to for a while. Karen Hudson and The Lords of Liechtenstein were playing right near me at the Way Station. I'm glad I remembered it. It isn't easy being an idiot.

The Way Station is the most convenient venue for me to get to. It's one subway stop if the is timed right though there's a bit of a walk afterward. It's the Doctor Who theme bar so I'm always happy to go even though the crowd tends to be loud.

I made it shortly before show time and grabbed a seat good for photography down front. If I wasn't taking pictures that isn't where I'd sit as the sound is not as good there. But the sightlines were perfect. I met Tim who is the other old guy obsessive fan of the Lords. I sat with Karen.

Noah told me that they had some new songs and they played them. How prolific are these guys now? They are writing songs for the album after the one they are currently working on. That's what I like to hear. I like to hear the songs too. They are going to be playing John Platt's On Your Radar soon and they've played for Carter and Mike already. I think that makes them officially part of the New York folk music world.

Near the end of the show something momentous occurred. Tim and I were enobled. Dan and Noah made us official Lords of Liechtenstein and gave us the mark of our nobility, sweatervests.

You can see the details but our crest is emblazoned over my heart. So for now on you must address me as Lord Horvendile of Liechtenstein.

I met Karen at NERFA. We have mutual friend and I don't actually remember meeting her. It seemed like we had always known each other once we met. I think what actually happened was that we were both hanging out with Bobtown and were talking in a group before we talked one on one. In any event I didn't hear her sing at NERFA and I haven't seen her since till last night.

So what does she do? Country folk? Maybe that would work. I could see her on a bill with Mary Chapin Carpenter. She often strikes notes of familiarity but I can never place why. Maybe it's just to herself as I have her album.. I'm listening right now. I should talk to her about influences. Whatever she did I liked it. That's what matters.

After the show Tim and I did a photo with the Lords for the Website, all of us in Argyle then we headed back to the subway. I went east, they all went west. We were about to say goodbye I had to check on my calendar if I could do something with them. And then I reached into my pocket and there was no phone. I left it on the table at the Way Station. They got on the train and I headed back.

I was lucky, Karen stayed for the next act and was sitting at the table with my phone Whew. I didn't want to have to buy a new one. Have I mentioned that I'm an idiot? I might have once.

Right before I started writing this I realized that I never wrote an assignment I meant to sent to my precalculus class yesterday. I was good and did that before I wrote this.. It's only eight questions os they have plenty of time to do it before tomorrow.

OK now to make breakfast and start my day. I have still not decided what to eat.

Here's the slideshow to entertain you while I eat.


I signed the Pro-Truth Pledge:
please hold me accountable.





Memories: Not that Horrid Song - May 29, 2018
Wise Madness is Now In Session - May 28, 2018
The NFL and the First Amendment - May 27, 2018
On The Road Again - May 26, 2018
Oliver the Three-Eyed Crow - May 25, 2018



creative commons
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial-Share Alike 3.0 License.
Horvendile April 02, 2014
site search by freefind advanced


Follow on Feedly



about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!