I became insane with long intervals of horrible sanity.
Edgar Allen Poe

The trouble with fighting for human freedom is that one spends most of one's time defending scoundrels. For it is against scoundrels that oppressive laws are first aimed, and oppression must be stopped at the beginning if it is to be stopped at all.
- H. L. Mencken

Many people would sooner die than think; In fact, they do so
-Bertrand Russell

What I have been telling you, from alpha to omega, what is the one great thing the sigil taught me — that everything in life is miraculous. For the sigil taught me that it rests within the power of each of us to awaken at will from a dragging nightmare of life made up of unimportant tasks and tedious useless little habits, to see life as it really is, and to rejoice in its exquisite wonderfulness. If the sigil were proved to be the top of a tomato-can, it would not alter that big fact, nor my fixed faith. No Harrowby, the common names we call things by do not matter — except to show how very dull we are ...
-James Branch Cabell

January 28, 2017 - 10:15 a.m.

Life's Little Pleasures

I have to catch the bus that leaves in about two and a half hours, can I write this, eat, and shower in that time. Blogging is the only optional one so I should do this last but I'm going to live dangerously.

To save money I stayed home last night instead of seeing The Brother Brothers at Rockwood. I saw pictures of the show and I have that I missed something special feeling. Oh well, I'm doing something special today and tomorrow and those are free. I can't do everything.

I stayed home but I did have a highlight, I talked to Brianne. We had a political disagreement. It was on something I have been planning on writing. So that's what I'm going to write about, right? Nope. I've been planning this for weeks and it still doesn't feel ready.

I just wasted time unsuccessfully looking for a comment I made last night. A friend said she was depressed and wanted to know what others were doing to feel better in light of what's going on in the news. I just got smart and found it in seconds. How? If you go to your profile page, you'll see a button marked "Activity Log" in your background picture. Click that and you can find everything you did on Facebook. Here's a lightly edited version of what I wrote.

Think of the good things in the here and now. Today I ate peanut-butter-and-chocolate covered pretzels. I savored them. I listened to a brand new album by Deni Bonet. I wrote my blog. I talked to one of my best friends on the phone. Focus on those things when you are experiencing them. You'll be stronger to fight the good fight if you do.
That's very much the way I deal with my personal misfortunes. It's good practice for what's going on in America. Savor every pleasure. I wrote the other day of active listening to music. Actively experience all of life's pleasures. Is this mindfulness? Maybe, it's one of the things I've covered in therapy but it's something I've always done. Sometimes it gets in the way. I'm listening to Harpeth Rising now and I found myself giving Four Days More my attention, not writing. Now it has to be background music. The music fosters the right mood for this entry but it might engage my mind too much. I should be mindful of writing. As I wrote in the comment, this is one of the pleasures I savor.

I was going to write more, but why? What I was going to move on to is not connected with what comes before. I don't feel a deep need to write it. I'll try something different, a very short edition of Wise Madness I'll have more to write tomorrow as I'm making a journey back to the land of my birth, Queens, to see Anyone Who Had A Heart: The Burt Bacharach Songbook with Sasha Papernik at the Central Branch of the Queens Borough Public Library. I started to write about the library as it brings back memories. I'll keep that till tomorrow. Now for breakfast; I think it's a Taylorhameggandcheese kind of morning.


I signed the Pro-Truth Pledge:
please hold me accountable.





Memories: Not that Horrid Song - May 29, 2018
Wise Madness is Now In Session - May 28, 2018
The NFL and the First Amendment - May 27, 2018
On The Road Again - May 26, 2018
Oliver the Three-Eyed Crow - May 25, 2018



creative commons
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial-Share Alike 3.0 License.
Horvendile January 28, 2017
site search by freefind advanced


Follow on Feedly



about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!