I became insane with long intervals of horrible sanity.
Edgar Allen Poe

The trouble with fighting for human freedom is that one spends most of one's time defending scoundrels. For it is against scoundrels that oppressive laws are first aimed, and oppression must be stopped at the beginning if it is to be stopped at all.
- H. L. Mencken

Many people would sooner die than think; In fact, they do so
-Bertrand Russell

What I have been telling you, from alpha to omega, what is the one great thing the sigil taught me — that everything in life is miraculous. For the sigil taught me that it rests within the power of each of us to awaken at will from a dragging nightmare of life made up of unimportant tasks and tedious useless little habits, to see life as it really is, and to rejoice in its exquisite wonderfulness. If the sigil were proved to be the top of a tomato-can, it would not alter that big fact, nor my fixed faith. No Harrowby, the common names we call things by do not matter — except to show how very dull we are ...
-James Branch Cabell

September 03, 2013 - 11:30 a.m.

Pride (In the Name of Love)

I am not a happy camper. My Crohn's is acting up as is my loneliness. But the blog must go on.

There was a parade, West Indian Day, two blocks from my house yesterday and I could not get myself out of the house early enough to see it. I bet there would have been great food. And I even had a friend there Jo. That's the only way I knew about it. She posted that she was there on Facebook. But I wasn't out of bed till it was over. I thought I had nothing to do all day but then Lipbone posted he was playing Bar Tabac so I went there. Now if only I could have gotten myself to ask someone to go with me. Part of the loneliness is self inflicted. The anxiety is making it difficult for me to call people.

On the way over there I discovered a new anxiety, fear of becoming agoraphobic. I had a huge anxiety attack when walking from the subway and thought to myself that that's a perfect set up to be conditioned to fear being outside. Now I'm not agoraphobic. I'm afraid I might become agoraphobic. I have agoraphobiaphobia. At least I'm having fun with my neuroses.

Bar Tabac is a nice but strange place. I like the food, especially the brunch, and the staff is good, but there only two tables well placed for listening to the music. There were both taken so there was a table of people who weren't listening between me and the Lipbone Redding Orchestra. Now the people were not talking loudly. I can't say they were rude. It is a bar/restaurant. It isn't a place where many people go primarily for the music. What they should do is reserve those few tables for the people that do It is just hard to get as involved as I like when there's a table of people chatting between me and the artist. Not that I didn't try. When Lipbone started telling the intro to "Dogs of Santiago" I applauded. Lipbone said "He was there." And I let out a "Woof." He hadn't gotten to the dog part of the story. The people at the next table gave me a "who let him out of the asylum" look.

Lipbone (I always want to call him Mr. Bone) is someone that I used to hear often. He's played the Budgiedome. He played my living room! He's very much one of my musicians, but then he left civilization and moved to North Carolina, or is it South? It's one of those places where people talk funny. It's where he's originally fun. He talks funny. He's also a damn good musician. He's called Lipbone because he played mouth trombone. Not really sure how that becomes a bone but someone once said, he does that lipbone thing and the name stuck. But as I always seem to feel the need to point out, it isn't a novelty thing. He does great songs. He can sing. There's real content. It just so happens that part of the instrumental accompaniment is an invisible trombone. He is one of the easiest people for me to recommend. There are musicians that I adore, that I think are geniuses (shouldn't genius have a special plural) that I know are not for all tastes. That might be most people I love,. But I feel same in recommending Lipbone to my friends that are not even serious music listeners. His songs are catchy, he has a good voice, his band rocks, and he's has personality up the wazoo. Wazoo is a word that you want to use while talking about Mr. Bone.

Lipbone and Jeff, the bass player, joined me during the break. I've known Jeff far longer than I've known Lipbone. He joined one of my all-time favorite bands, Dave's True Story back in 1996. Of course I still think of him as the new guy. He's also one of my musicians.


Lipbone and Jeff

During the set break my Crohn's attacked up enough that I felt I had to go home. I was not happy about that. I wanted to hear more. After the first set people left and I got the best seat in the house. But Crohn's is even more distracting than people talking.

Now on to the part I've been looking forward to writing. During the first set something got me thinking to an incident with a friend from ages ago. The friends essentially accused me of egregious self-aggrandizement. Egregious Self-Aggrandizement is the name of my Mike Love cover band. The jokes aren't always for you. 'Sometimes they aren't even for me. If it were for me it would have been my Jian Ghomeshi cover band.

That's the part I was looking forward to. I had to look up how to spell aggrandizement. Who would have thought there's be to gees? .So there was a story here, right? Oh right this isn't what happened, I can't repeat what actually happened, but it's was the equivalent of my saying "I was a Jeopardy champ, and the friend sneering, "what do you mean, you were actually on the show" with the total expectation that I'd say "no." And then getting to show the friend the video of me on it. That wasn't at all what happened but you get the idea.

And that wasn't not as good as simply saying egregious self-aggrandizement let alone the Mike Love crack.

My tummy still isn't right but I should still go to school today and see if they have my new text book and print up my attendance sheets and course outlines.


I signed the Pro-Truth Pledge:
please hold me accountable.





Memories: Not that Horrid Song - May 29, 2018
Wise Madness is Now In Session - May 28, 2018
The NFL and the First Amendment - May 27, 2018
On The Road Again - May 26, 2018
Oliver the Three-Eyed Crow - May 25, 2018



creative commons
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial-Share Alike 3.0 License.
Horvendile September 03, 2013
site search by freefind advanced


Follow on Feedly



about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!