I became insane with long intervals of horrible sanity.
Edgar Allen Poe

The trouble with fighting for human freedom is that one spends most of one's time defending scoundrels. For it is against scoundrels that oppressive laws are first aimed, and oppression must be stopped at the beginning if it is to be stopped at all.
- H. L. Mencken

Many people would sooner die than think; In fact, they do so
-Bertrand Russell

What I have been telling you, from alpha to omega, what is the one great thing the sigil taught me — that everything in life is miraculous. For the sigil taught me that it rests within the power of each of us to awaken at will from a dragging nightmare of life made up of unimportant tasks and tedious useless little habits, to see life as it really is, and to rejoice in its exquisite wonderfulness. If the sigil were proved to be the top of a tomato-can, it would not alter that big fact, nor my fixed faith. No Harrowby, the common names we call things by do not matter — except to show how very dull we are ...
-James Branch Cabell

December 08, 2014 - 11:34 a.m.

Library Kat

Last night I went to see Kat Quinn at Rockwood Music Hall. Kat has a macro to insert a link to her website so you know she's on my frequently see list. That really tells you more than anything else I can say. I went with Dan from The Lords of Liechtenstein. They have a macro too as does Rockwood. That makes this easy to write.

Dan and I met half an hour before the show so we'd have some time to talk. We met at Rockwood 0 the show was in Rockwood 1. Rockwood 0 is a bar, 1, 2, and 3 are stages. I have no idea why but 0 was packed when I got there. I had to fight my way to the back where Dan was. I figured that Kat would be there too but it was so busy she couldn't get in.

When we went over to stage 1 for the how I saw Mya Byrne, she gets a macro too and Chris. Chris played with the act before Kat. If I had known I would have gone to hear her too. I still got two extra hugs.

Kat was joined as she often is by Cailtin and Jo on most of the song. She was joined on a few by Adam I really should know his last name, on piano and a drummer whose name totally escapes me. At least I admit when I'm an idiot. I should get some credit for that. I know Jo and Caitlin well and see them both perform solo so it is different.


Jo


Kat


Caitlin

That's all the pics I got because my phone's battery fell below 5% and the camera won't work then. I forgot my charger at home.

I was happy to hear some new songs by Kat. One was a sing-along and she did it right. It was very structured and had us sing it together many times so we learned it before jumping into the song. Not that I remember it now of course. So this is my new thing, judging how well artists do sing-alongs.

This was a semi-holiday show. That meant that Kat tried to explain why all the songs she usually does have to do with the holidays. They did do one Christmas song, Silver Bells. I would not be surprised if I got the song wrong.

I loved that after the show Dan commented on how great the harmonies were. My Gentle Readers might have picked up that I always comment on Kat's talent at harmony arrangement. Harmony can be about a lot more than sounding beautiful. It can be a mode of expression just like lyrics and melody.

After the show we went over to Rockwood 0 which was no empty. I got to meet Kat's mother Bernadette and her sister Mary. That was nice. Oh and I snagged a hug from Jo which I didn't get to do before the show. You know hugs are part of the deal with me. We ended up all talking for quite some time.

I then walked to the subway with Dan. I didn't come home, I went to Heather's and watched the second half of The Librarians a new show on TNT. There were a series of Libriaran movies made in 2004-2006. I always thought it would make a good series. I always figured it's what they planned. They finally got around to it but totally changed the cast and format. The best part of the original series were Bob Newhart and Jane Curtain in supporting roles. Flynn Carson played by Noah Whyle was a professional student who was kicked out of grad school after getting dozens of degrees and forced to go out into the world. He's offered a job at the mysterious Library which is actually a repository for magical objects. His job is to recover ones still out there. The feel is like Indiana Jones played more for laughs. Bob Newhart is his button-down self as the head of the library and Jane I the officious office manager always getting on Flynn to get receipts for everything. It is hinted at that Judson, Newhart's character is the original Librarian and supernatural. It was totally unpretentious, funny, and loads of fun. It knew how to get serious without getting maudlin.

I missed the first episode of the new series and just saw the second but this is what I picked up. Bob Newhart's character, Judson, is only in a mirror now. I'm not sure if he died. Jane joins him there in the second episode. There is now a new group of three librarians in training and a guardian for Flynn. The show is about them. Newhart and Curtain are out. Flynn will be in only two more episodes. The library itself is gone and they are in the annex. It is going to follow the Buffy format, the Scooby Gang working as a team and saving he world. Not as good as the movies but I'll give it a try. I did enjoy it.

It got cold last night and I wasn't dressed quite warm enough. I�m spoiled. I dress for the precise temperature. What I had on, a leather jacket with a hoodie under it and a polyester ski cap is good to the upper 30s and it was 29˚ F when I left. Good thing I the MTA has the website that tells you when the bus is coming. I had to wait 4 minutes and considered that a lot.

I've been writing shorter entries lately and my readership is down. I don't think that's cause and effect. I have some political/philosophical things I want to talk about but I'm leaving that for an off day when I didn't do anything. Sounds like I'll be writing it tomorrow.


Just realized that this book that I read to Emily and Joe's kids on Thanksgiving ties this entry together.



I signed the Pro-Truth Pledge:
please hold me accountable.





Memories: Not that Horrid Song - May 29, 2018
Wise Madness is Now In Session - May 28, 2018
The NFL and the First Amendment - May 27, 2018
On The Road Again - May 26, 2018
Oliver the Three-Eyed Crow - May 25, 2018



creative commons
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial-Share Alike 3.0 License.
Horvendile December 08, 2014
site search by freefind advanced


Follow on Feedly



about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!