I became insane with long intervals of horrible sanity.
Edgar Allen Poe

The trouble with fighting for human freedom is that one spends most of one's time defending scoundrels. For it is against scoundrels that oppressive laws are first aimed, and oppression must be stopped at the beginning if it is to be stopped at all.
- H. L. Mencken

Many people would sooner die than think; In fact, they do so
-Bertrand Russell

What I have been telling you, from alpha to omega, what is the one great thing the sigil taught me — that everything in life is miraculous. For the sigil taught me that it rests within the power of each of us to awaken at will from a dragging nightmare of life made up of unimportant tasks and tedious useless little habits, to see life as it really is, and to rejoice in its exquisite wonderfulness. If the sigil were proved to be the top of a tomato-can, it would not alter that big fact, nor my fixed faith. No Harrowby, the common names we call things by do not matter — except to show how very dull we are ...
-James Branch Cabell

October 11, 2013 - 12:21 p.m.

Ballad of the Shade

Hey it's only 11:35 and I have started writing! I might not be able to post again till Monday so I better get this in. Lena is visiting for the weekend. I used to be able to write an entire entry while my guest or my host was in the shower. Now it takes closer to an hour. I might try tomorrow anyway as a challenge. It will force the entry to be short.

Yesterday was get something done day. That is something of a miracle. One thing I have not mentioned about my room is that the bathroom has no shade. Theoretically that meant that people across the back yards can see me. Now I can't see them so it isn't as easy as it seems and they would need to make a deliberate effort to see me and I don't think the chance of seeing me naked is worth it to anybody. It was tough at first but I learned to not care. But Lena is coming and I'm pretty sure she'd not be happy about it. She would rather the planet be destroyed in an environmental holocaust rather than take the simple energy saving measure of showering with me. It is mainly because she hate Al Gore but on the off chance it had to do with not wanting someone to see her shower I knew I had to get a blind up in the bathroom. I've known this for like two months since she told me she was coming up. But it's me so I waited till yesterday to take care of it.

I then played a series of psychological games with myself and killed a flock of birds with one stone. Because you know I love Al Gore and want to do thing efficiently. Yes I'm using the mass slaughter of birds as a metaphor for environmentalism. Stop looking at me like that. I'm complex.

I asked Katherine to go with me. I know I could have done it on my own but a smoker also knows he can quit at any time. I knew that making an appointment with Katherine would make me do it and that her being there with me would make it easier for me to do and I just wanted to hang out with Katherine. Oh and she brought Bella, her dog so I got to play with my dog friend, that's a dog you can play with but don't have to actually take care of. This was a win win win win win �. win situation.

I didn't know what I'd be getting just that I wanted the cheapest thing available as it is isn't even my place. They have paper shades that you hang with adhesive tape! I suspected as much. It cost a bit less than $6.

We then dropped Bella off at her apartment and went out for coffee. Of course that's just an excuse to talk. We had one of those meandering conversations that I can never remember and if I did you'd never follow. I will just point out that we discussed the plural of clitoris.

I will also point out that as soon as I sat down disaster struck. A woman that worked there was standing on a high stool changing a light bulb and the fixture came right out of the ceiling. It was at the end of a long tube and she was stuck holding it up because she was afraid if she let go everything would come down. They worked that out three feet from where we were sitting. It was one of the situations where you want to help but they don't want you to because they don�t want you getting in the way. I know I've been there. I also know it was my fault because where I tread disaster follows.

After that pleasant afternoon I headed to the Last Homely House West of the Mountains to finally pick up all the stuff I left there. It was not an easy job and the thought of it has been giving me anxiety. I had to mentally plan where everything would go in my small room. I don't have it totally worked out but I got a good start. Good thing I am good at visualization. When I was done Elrond drove me home. That's a great weight off my mind. Now I have winter clothes and a blanket.

But that took a lot out of me and as usual I didn't get a lot of sleep the night before so I crashed and burned, that is napped for a while. Then I planned on going to Trader Joe's and to dinner but I forgot my phone so I just went to Popeye's a couple of blocks away and went home. Then I watched an episode of Phineas and Ferb I never saw. It was totally worth it for Doctor Coconut! Then I talked to Lena. Then I got a message from Ruth Gerson who sent me to this link with new material, Singer Songwriter with Don Was III. Then I had trouble loading the page. Then it loaded and I couldn't pull myself away from the videos. So it was close to midnight when I started to put up the shade. Remember the shade? This is a song about the shade. First I had to cut it. It was 36" but the window is only 20", in this case size does matter. The box shows cutting it down with an exacto knife. I don't have one. I ended up using a chef's knife with a scissor administering the coup de grace. Actually putting it up took seconds. What a great invention.

So let's review. In one day I bought a shade, cleaned out all my stuff from Rivendell, got it back to where I'm living. Put a lot but not all of it away, and put up the shade. That counts as getting things done! It would take most people almost an hour to do all that. It only took me all day. My therapist is going to love hearing about this. I'm pretty sure she pats herself on the back after I leave.

OK I did one more thing. I started marking passages of Equal Rites for quoting here. I even write down the page numbers so I can find it.

� but a hint was to Esk what a mosquito bite was to a rhino because she was already learning that if you ignore the rules people will, half the time, quietly rewrite them so that they don't apply to you.

� other people preferred to make money without working at all, and since the Disc had yet to develop a music recording industry they were forced to fall back on older, more traditional forms of banditry


How many of my musician friends cheered the second one?

I have another but that merits more discussion so you'll get that next time I write if I have time. Now I have to have lunch and get to class.


I signed the Pro-Truth Pledge:
please hold me accountable.





Memories: Not that Horrid Song - May 29, 2018
Wise Madness is Now In Session - May 28, 2018
The NFL and the First Amendment - May 27, 2018
On The Road Again - May 26, 2018
Oliver the Three-Eyed Crow - May 25, 2018



creative commons
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial-Share Alike 3.0 License.
Horvendile October 11, 2013
site search by freefind advanced


Follow on Feedly



about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!