I became insane with long intervals of horrible sanity.
Edgar Allen Poe

The trouble with fighting for human freedom is that one spends most of one's time defending scoundrels. For it is against scoundrels that oppressive laws are first aimed, and oppression must be stopped at the beginning if it is to be stopped at all.
- H. L. Mencken

Many people would sooner die than think; In fact, they do so
-Bertrand Russell

What I have been telling you, from alpha to omega, what is the one great thing the sigil taught me — that everything in life is miraculous. For the sigil taught me that it rests within the power of each of us to awaken at will from a dragging nightmare of life made up of unimportant tasks and tedious useless little habits, to see life as it really is, and to rejoice in its exquisite wonderfulness. If the sigil were proved to be the top of a tomato-can, it would not alter that big fact, nor my fixed faith. No Harrowby, the common names we call things by do not matter — except to show how very dull we are ...
-James Branch Cabell

April 07, 2007 - 4:35 p.m.

Broadway and Baseball

I'm making a pit stop at home and figured I might as well update.

Last night I saw Legally Blonde: The Musical. This was my Festivus Present from Carey. Now there are probably a half a dozen shows that both of us would like more but we had to see this because it stars Laura Bundy. It isn't even like we are huge fans it is just tradition. We first saw her when she was 11 and Britney Spears was her understudy.

The show was a lot of fun even though we weren't the target demographic. The rest of the audience was younger, more female, and blonder. If you've seen the film you know pretty much what to expect. It was silly. It is an "audience play;" the bad guys get their just deserts and the plucky heroine wins in the end. I didn't leave the theatre humming the songs. As a matter of fact the only show in the last 10 years I did leave singing the score was Hedwig and the Angry Inch. Many of the songs were what I call generic Broadway and the rest were reminiscent of Little Shop of Horrors. Reminiscent but not up to that level. The acting was great. They hit their lines and got their laughs. There was a standing ovation at the end. The show is still in previews and doesn't open for a few more weeks. I'm sure it will be a hit. Kids and young adults will see it multiple times.

I love seeing parallels and I saw one to Legally Blonde; it is really a Count of Monte Cristo sort of tale. Yes I'm comparing a light estrogen comedy to Dumas's swashbuckling tale of adventure. Why? They are both tales of people with ability but no achievement rising to greatness when given the motivation. For Edmund Dante the motive was simple revenge. For Elle Woods the motivation starts as love but becomes something closer to revenge. She has to prove herself to those that don't respect her. This is one of the classic motifs in fiction.

Today was my rotisserie baseball league's 18th draft. One of our members couldn't attend and I recruited Chris to draft for him. Chris took the LIRR out to Queens Village where I picked him up and we drove to the draft. Things went smoothly and we had lots of fun. I actually got complimented on my jokes. One of the other guys in the league said I was "on" today. That's better than winning the league. What is sad is that I actually prepared some of the jokes beforehand. They were about particular players.

My draft went well. My team looks a lot like what I planned on it looking like. For the first time in years I should have really good pitching. I'll post my team after Marc uploads it onto the website. Then I can just copy and paste. I'm so lazy.

We didn't stay for the post draft pizza because Chris had to make a train. I could use some down time too because I have to drive up to Bridgeport tonight to see The Strangelings.



I signed the Pro-Truth Pledge:
please hold me accountable.





Memories: Not that Horrid Song - May 29, 2018
Wise Madness is Now In Session - May 28, 2018
The NFL and the First Amendment - May 27, 2018
On The Road Again - May 26, 2018
Oliver the Three-Eyed Crow - May 25, 2018



creative commons
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial-Share Alike 3.0 License.
Horvendile April 07, 2007
site search by freefind advanced


Follow on Feedly



about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!