I became insane with long intervals of horrible sanity.
Edgar Allen Poe

The trouble with fighting for human freedom is that one spends most of one's time defending scoundrels. For it is against scoundrels that oppressive laws are first aimed, and oppression must be stopped at the beginning if it is to be stopped at all.
- H. L. Mencken

Many people would sooner die than think; In fact, they do so
-Bertrand Russell

What I have been telling you, from alpha to omega, what is the one great thing the sigil taught me — that everything in life is miraculous. For the sigil taught me that it rests within the power of each of us to awaken at will from a dragging nightmare of life made up of unimportant tasks and tedious useless little habits, to see life as it really is, and to rejoice in its exquisite wonderfulness. If the sigil were proved to be the top of a tomato-can, it would not alter that big fact, nor my fixed faith. No Harrowby, the common names we call things by do not matter — except to show how very dull we are ...
-James Branch Cabell

January 07, 2016 - 9:40 a.m.

Basement Tapes

Dateline Upper Darby: Wow I'm writing at 9:15 AM. I haven't managed that in ages. And WFUV is playing Alison Krauss, I must be in a time warp. I remember doing the time warp.

As you can see from the dateline I'm visiting Steve and LORi. My bus made great time and I had to wait for LORi to pick me up. I waited in 30th Street Station and used the Wi-Fi to upload my last entry. My computer not only froze right after I did it but it wouldn't reboot. I got a message that it couldn't find the hard drive. I had to do a hard reboot to get it working. I don't know what that was about.

There was some confusion of where LORi was picking me up but we eventually found each other. When we got back we had lunch, I had peanut butter, and we talked. I did a lot of snacking too because that's what I do. After Steve came home we had pizza for dinner. OK it's what they call pizza in greater Philadelphia. As a New Yorker I can't just call it pizza. It was good for outsider pizza.

Then Steve and I went over to the community center where the Lansdowne Folk Club holds it concerts to set up for Christine Lavin is performing tonight. There's a big advance sales and there were not enough chairs set out for us. We had to get chairs down from the balcony where they were stacked down to the floor. We couldn't just take them down the stairs as they were not folding chairs and maybe two could at a time so it would have taken 30 trips or so. Instead we found that if I leaned over the edge and Steve stood on a chair I could pass them down to him. Other people set them up. This was a rational division of layer as Steve has a bad back and I am not comfortable standing on a chair. I ended up hurting my back but I only feel it when making a few movements; right now it's fine. I didn't notice it till hours later.

I was also Christine's stand-in for the lighting check. One more job for my folk resume. I'm taller than Christine so this was the opposite of a stretch; a shrink?

I'm writing for this in "my room" it's in Steve and Lori's basement. It's a bit of an odd arrangement as what the previous owners of the house did was just wall off a section of the unfinished basement. One oddity is that the main light switch is not in the room and also controls a light outside the room, But it's my room, it's where I stay when I'm here so I feel at home.

I doubt LORi is up yet but I'll go upstairs and check. I'll probably make breakfast too. I'll have to raid her fridge to see what's around. Wow this is short but I'm not going to try and stretch it.


I signed the Pro-Truth Pledge:
please hold me accountable.





Memories: Not that Horrid Song - May 29, 2018
Wise Madness is Now In Session - May 28, 2018
The NFL and the First Amendment - May 27, 2018
On The Road Again - May 26, 2018
Oliver the Three-Eyed Crow - May 25, 2018



creative commons
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial-Share Alike 3.0 License.
Horvendile January 07, 2016
site search by freefind advanced


Follow on Feedly



about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!