I became insane with long intervals of horrible sanity.
Edgar Allen Poe

The trouble with fighting for human freedom is that one spends most of one's time defending scoundrels. For it is against scoundrels that oppressive laws are first aimed, and oppression must be stopped at the beginning if it is to be stopped at all.
- H. L. Mencken

Many people would sooner die than think; In fact, they do so
-Bertrand Russell

What I have been telling you, from alpha to omega, what is the one great thing the sigil taught me — that everything in life is miraculous. For the sigil taught me that it rests within the power of each of us to awaken at will from a dragging nightmare of life made up of unimportant tasks and tedious useless little habits, to see life as it really is, and to rejoice in its exquisite wonderfulness. If the sigil were proved to be the top of a tomato-can, it would not alter that big fact, nor my fixed faith. No Harrowby, the common names we call things by do not matter — except to show how very dull we are ...
-James Branch Cabell

April 27, 2014 - 8:33 p.m.

I'm late I'm late for a every important date

I have to be up at 4:15 tomorrow so I should go to sleep soon. That means I have to stop procrastinating and write. No way I'll skip a day of blogging. That's more vital that sleep.

Yesterday as I was getting dressed my belt broke. That's a problem. Men's pants go up in increments of 2 inches past 34". I'm wear a 36 over a wide range of weights. I feel fat when I need a 38 and thin when I can wear a 34. Now I'm on the lower end of a 36 so pants fit loose. If I don't have a belt they start falling off me even though I still can't wear a 34. So I had to wear my old belt which is pretty much falling apart but wearable � barely. So last night I went and bought a new belt so my pants weren't so low people would think I was trying to dress like a teen.. I got a reversible one so I wouldn�t have to buy two. It sort of bothers me that I care if my belt matches my shoes.

After that I finally got around to making the Facebook event for May's John Platt's On Your Radar. There are two Budgiedome veterans playing, Connor Garvey and my boys, The Lords of Liechtenstein.

Know what I forgot to write about yesterday? That I'm going to be in a documentary that Noah from the Lords is making. Heis a film student at NYU. I can't say what it's about but I'm in it. He was at the Bobtown show the other night filming the band and me. You can say you knew me before I was famous. Or is that infamous? Or is that totally obscure?

I was back at WfUV this morning. I set my alarm for 6:15 as I had to be there at 8. I woke up at 6:38. I raced into my clothes and out of the house and made it to Grand Central Terminal with a couple of minutes to spare to catch the 7:47. That meant I got to the station about 15 minutes late. They were understaffed too, Just Colleen and one student. And worst of all without me there nobody noticed that the phones were on "work' which oddly enough means that they don't work. It actually means that if they were in an office the person is there but busy working.

This morning was John Platt's Sunday Breakfast, my favorite show on the station. Not too surprising, as John and I have such similar tastes. I think I might be on a first name basis with the majority of the people who get played. I certainly know many of them. There's an hour break after John's show then we were back to fundraising for Ceol na n'Gael, which as you might guess is an Irish music show. The name means, "The Music of the Irish." It is another favorite.

Lori not LORi, Rona, and Bob came in for that show. At times it was so busy I had to answer calls! Horror of horrors! My handwriting is so bad I'm sure membership feels that way.

The last hour is Bob Sherman's "Woody's Children. That's another favorite of mine. I've been listening to Bob since I was a kid.

I gave myself a treat on the way home. When I got off the MetroNorth at Grand Central I got a bratwurst with cheese and bacon bits then a great gelato from the place I know down the block. I've been a bit down as you might have picked up so I indulge myself

OK I have to go t bed soon as I am getting up at 4:15 AM tomorrow, I'm going to even skip the philosophizing I was planning on. I'll do that tomorrow. It has to do with where blogging meets therapy. But now I'm going to make some eggs as they haven't had that at the station the last few days and then go to bed.


I signed the Pro-Truth Pledge:
please hold me accountable.





Memories: Not that Horrid Song - May 29, 2018
Wise Madness is Now In Session - May 28, 2018
The NFL and the First Amendment - May 27, 2018
On The Road Again - May 26, 2018
Oliver the Three-Eyed Crow - May 25, 2018



creative commons
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial-Share Alike 3.0 License.
Horvendile April 27, 2014
site search by freefind advanced


Follow on Feedly



about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!