I became insane with long intervals of horrible sanity.
Edgar Allen Poe

The trouble with fighting for human freedom is that one spends most of one's time defending scoundrels. For it is against scoundrels that oppressive laws are first aimed, and oppression must be stopped at the beginning if it is to be stopped at all.
- H. L. Mencken

Many people would sooner die than think; In fact, they do so
-Bertrand Russell

What I have been telling you, from alpha to omega, what is the one great thing the sigil taught me — that everything in life is miraculous. For the sigil taught me that it rests within the power of each of us to awaken at will from a dragging nightmare of life made up of unimportant tasks and tedious useless little habits, to see life as it really is, and to rejoice in its exquisite wonderfulness. If the sigil were proved to be the top of a tomato-can, it would not alter that big fact, nor my fixed faith. No Harrowby, the common names we call things by do not matter — except to show how very dull we are ...
-James Branch Cabell

July 12, 2016 - 7:54 a.m.

Sunday in the Park with Kristin

Welcome to a first thing in the morning edition of Wise Madness I'm not doing any of my usual morning routine. I have to head up to see the psychiatrist early and then my therapist I the afternoon. This is because I was an idiot and missed my psychiatrist appointment on July 1. I couldn't get another appointment till the end of July and that's too far away so I am seeing her on her walk-in hours this morning. Her hours are till noon but I want to make sure I get to see her. My original plan was to bring my computer with me and write while I waited around between appointments but that would mean carrying the computer around all day. I have a long day, the two appointments then I'm heading into the City where first I'll stop at my mailbox, then head down to Rockwood Music Hall for John Platt's On Your Radar and then to midtown for my fantasy baseball league's All-Star Game party. I happened to get up early this morning so I'm taking advantage of it to write now. I am choosing writing over making breakfast. I hope you appreciate the sacrifices I make for you, My Gentle Readers.

Yesterday I did something I haven't done in ages. I went to University Bagels in Greenwich Village and bought half-priced bagels. Now I can have a proper breakfast, but not today. I had dinner at KFC, they have a great special, two pieces of dark meat, a side, and a drink, for $5. Then I headed over to Williamsburg to see Kristin Andeassen at Pete's Candy Store. This was a last minute gig, the Canadian artist who was booked had visa problems and couldn't enter the country so Kristin joined a bill of Canadian artists. She said that Taylor Ashton, who was on the bill before her was good so I made sure to see him too.

When I got there Kristin's name was not on the bill, instead it was something Cornfield. It was going to take me an hour and a half to get home from there. I hoped very much that the sign out front was wrong. I went in and asked the bar tender. He didn't know. The website said that Kristin was playing but his copy of the schedule said Cornfield, is that the name?" He didn't know which was right. I texted Kristin and told him. He thanked me as he didn't have her number. Then I saw a silhouette in the doorway that looked like Kristin. I could not be sure but I told him, "I can't really see but I think Kristin just walked in." The suspense didn't last long, as soon as she saw me she called out my name. It's always nice when someone is happy to see you. Yes, I'm that insecure.

I talked to Kristin a while then let her get on with her preparation for the show and too k my seat so I could see Taylor. Kristin was right, he was very good. Canada punches above its weight when it comes to folk music. I wish I had a chance to talk to him. I wonder if he's friends with any of my Canadian shows. Any of you know him? Normally I'd be looking him up on Facebook but I'm trying to finish this fast. I'm not looking at the Internet at all till I'm finished. Hey, I might even have time to make breakfast. I doubt it but maybe.

Not only do I love Kristin, not only do I love her music, but I also love writing about her music. Some people I love are easy to write about and others difficult, Kristin is easy. Stop that! You know that's not what I mean.

As it was largely friends in the audience Kristin made it a show largely over very new and very old songs. She asked me when we were talking earlier if she should do a song she wrote that day. She knew very well I'd say yes. I can never resist hearing new songs.

I tried to play a game guessing if songs were old or new. She gave some away but I think the key is the music. Her older songs sound traditional; the new ones are more idiosyncratic. The lyrical style has not changed as much, just improved. Kristin does not directly say what she's trying to say. Instead it's like trying to interpret a dream, not that I believe in dream interpretation. Perhaps it's like seeing a pointillist painting, you have to look from a distance to see the picture.

I could not stay to hear Luka who was on after Kristin. I had to get home as I had to get up early this morning and I certainly couldn't risk missing the last bus to City island.

I made decent time getting home, it took about an hour and half. Too bad I didn't go right to sleep like I planned. On the bright side I did remember to cut and freeze the bagels I bought.

Now to put this to bed and head out. I will not have time to make myself breakfast but I will have time to make a peanut butter sandwich I can eat for lunch. I'll only have to eat two meals out, not three.


I signed the Pro-Truth Pledge:
please hold me accountable.





Memories: Not that Horrid Song - May 29, 2018
Wise Madness is Now In Session - May 28, 2018
The NFL and the First Amendment - May 27, 2018
On The Road Again - May 26, 2018
Oliver the Three-Eyed Crow - May 25, 2018



creative commons
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial-Share Alike 3.0 License.
Horvendile July 12, 2016
site search by freefind advanced


Follow on Feedly



about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!