I became insane with long intervals of horrible sanity.
Edgar Allen Poe

The trouble with fighting for human freedom is that one spends most of one's time defending scoundrels. For it is against scoundrels that oppressive laws are first aimed, and oppression must be stopped at the beginning if it is to be stopped at all.
- H. L. Mencken

Many people would sooner die than think; In fact, they do so
-Bertrand Russell

What I have been telling you, from alpha to omega, what is the one great thing the sigil taught me — that everything in life is miraculous. For the sigil taught me that it rests within the power of each of us to awaken at will from a dragging nightmare of life made up of unimportant tasks and tedious useless little habits, to see life as it really is, and to rejoice in its exquisite wonderfulness. If the sigil were proved to be the top of a tomato-can, it would not alter that big fact, nor my fixed faith. No Harrowby, the common names we call things by do not matter — except to show how very dull we are ...
-James Branch Cabell

December 15, 2013 - 11:52 a.m.

Kateract

So as usual I fritted the day away yesterday. I was snowing and going out shopping or doing laundry didn�t seem wise. Then as often happens I rushed out just in the nick of time for what I had planned, seeing Kat Quinn at Rockwood Music Hall. I knew there would be delays so I would have to leave a full hour. I actually left a bit left than that. I can't say exactly when I got there as I forgot my phone and my watch broke. But it was 6:42 when I was Jay Street and the train came not long after so I am guessing I got there right at 7:00. I am usually alone at Kat's shows but this time I had three friends there, Gene & Isabel, and Miah. I patted myself on my back because they know Kat because of me. There was no room at Gene & Isabel's Table so I sat in at my usual John Platt's On Your Radar table with Miah. He knows Gene & Isabel because he played with Pesky J. Nixon at their house. The folk world is a small town. Forget six degrees of separation, at least in the Northeast you can connect any two people with at most two intermediaries. Anyone that goes to NERFA can probably get by with one.

This was the release for Kat's EP, Kind of Brave. The title song is not just my favorite song of Kat's it's the song where I participate. It's about a man sending a woman a love letter on a paper airplane so each show I make a paper airplane, and launch it at Kat at the end of the song. I write a love letter on it. A short love letter, it usually says something like I <3 you. Last night the only paper I had on me was a math test so I made it from that. I had two copies so gave one to Miah too. Is there anything more me than sending a math test as a love letter on a paper airplane. But none of that was why I started writing about the song. No it's that I do this every show, it's the title of the EP, and I never remember the title. It's the paper airplane song to me. I know it has brave or courage in the title. I had to look at the EP just now to make sure I had it right. I actually for the first time did because last night I wrote a review of the EP on Amazon.

A casual listener might be fooled into thinking this is just a pleasant pop album but the careful listener is rewarded. The lyrics tell stories, the harmonies are complex and the arrangements are sophisticated. If it plays in the background you'll smile, if you give it your attention you'll glow.

As she often is Kat was backed by the rest of the Bangs Collective, Caitlin Mahoney and Jo Kroger. As much as I love Kat alone I love her even better with Jo and Caitlin, the harmony is not just slapped on, it's another dimension of expression. As it was a special event Kat had a full band. Too bad I forgot my phone or I would have made a video.

After the show we went to the back room. That's the last place I saw Miah at the Jesse Terry show. It's also the last place I saw Caitlin. I forgot what show that was but she was at Rockwood 3 and I was at 2 and by chance we met in the back room.

I hung around longer than usual for that sort of thing. How could I not, Jo brought a paper airplane book and she and her friend, her friend, her friend � I'm pretty sure he had a name. I was actually planning on being proud of remembering his name. I remember Melinda who was the fourth member of our geek airplane party. They made fancy planes and we threw them around Rockwood till the bouncer made us stop. I am totally targeting him with a paper airplane drone. Oh I forgot to mention that at the end of Sort Kind of Courage Brave Kat, Jo, and Caitlin threw airplanes at the audience. Jo made them before the show.

I then got into a geeky conversation about the Israeli/Palestinian conflict with Jake, a documentary film maker, I had met him at a previous Kat show. I saw him but hesitated saying hello because, surprise, surprise, I forgot his name. Good thing I remember to breath.

I finally pulled myself away and went to eat dinner. I went to links and it was closed! I hope that was because it was too late or because of the snow and not because they went out of business. They finally seem to have gotten it right. Last time I was there I was able get my kielbasa in a reasonable time and get French fries with it. I miss the smashed potatoes but I think they couldn't cook them quickly enough. For a while all they had was chips. I was disappointed and had pizza instead.

I have nothing on the table for today. I have gone out something like 11 days in a row. I could go to the Tribe's Hill Solstice show where a lot of my friends and favorite performers are playing but It's a haul to get there. It's in Hastings on Hudson. I'll stay home and relax and go out for dinner as I have nothing to eat here. Maybe I'll go shopping. I need pants and socks.

I was going to end it there but I can't finish with pants and socks. It just seems wrong. Oh I can end with some synchronicity. One of the songs on Something Something Brave is called Nothing Fair About a Fairy Tale. The show was at Rockwood Music Hall. The title song of Ken Rockwood's old band The Professor and Maryann's first album was Fairy Tale. I am now reading Witches Abraod and the theme is Discworld Witches encountering fairy tales being acted out by people and animals. They also encounter Gollum. It all comes together.


I signed the Pro-Truth Pledge:
please hold me accountable.





Memories: Not that Horrid Song - May 29, 2018
Wise Madness is Now In Session - May 28, 2018
The NFL and the First Amendment - May 27, 2018
On The Road Again - May 26, 2018
Oliver the Three-Eyed Crow - May 25, 2018



creative commons
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial-Share Alike 3.0 License.
Horvendile December 15, 2013
site search by freefind advanced


Follow on Feedly



about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!