I became insane with long intervals of horrible sanity.
Edgar Allen Poe

The trouble with fighting for human freedom is that one spends most of one's time defending scoundrels. For it is against scoundrels that oppressive laws are first aimed, and oppression must be stopped at the beginning if it is to be stopped at all.
- H. L. Mencken

Many people would sooner die than think; In fact, they do so
-Bertrand Russell

What I have been telling you, from alpha to omega, what is the one great thing the sigil taught me — that everything in life is miraculous. For the sigil taught me that it rests within the power of each of us to awaken at will from a dragging nightmare of life made up of unimportant tasks and tedious useless little habits, to see life as it really is, and to rejoice in its exquisite wonderfulness. If the sigil were proved to be the top of a tomato-can, it would not alter that big fact, nor my fixed faith. No Harrowby, the common names we call things by do not matter — except to show how very dull we are ...
-James Branch Cabell

June 10, 2014 - 1:09 p.m.

Katenary

I did not get enough sleep. That can't be good for my writing. See how clever I am. I have lowered your expectations and now you'll be pleasantly surprised.

A great deal of my self-esteems comes from thinking myself funny. I will sacrifice the rest of my reputation to make you laugh. Why does my ego reside there? Maybe it's how I deal with people laughing at me. That was supposed to be funny. It isn't. That's the way the ego crumbles.

Yesterday was Monday so once again I'll quiz My Gentle Readers. What do I do on Mondays? I go to therapy! Buzz! Not this week it was postponed. Now I have to do my therapy homework all over again. I'm going to just tell her my dog ate it. Hey I'm seeing a shrink, it's totally possible I have an imaginary dog that eats my imaginary homework. Her name is Galadriel. She's a mutt I rescued from the imaginary dog pound.

I don't need to tell you I wasted most of the day yesterday, right? That just goes without saying. Did I have any adventures? Nope. But at least I got myself out of the house in time to get to � OK if I want you to guess where I went, where did I go? Where do I write about the most? Yes Rockwood Music Hall. It has it's own macro to insert the link. I was late last time I was there but yesterday I arrived 15 minutes before show time like I planned.

I was there to see Kat Quinn. She has a macro too. Having a macro is a mark of distinction. She should put that on her professional bio. People see that and they will know she's good. By the way it doesn't work the other way. There are people I think are great that don't have macros because I don't write about them often enough or I keep putting off writing them one.

Kat was the first performer of the night and I was early so I was the first one there. I didn't notice anyone else walk in but when I looked around people were there. Shows you how much I was paying attention.

The waitress asked me if I had just gotten off the train. I said I did. She was right behind me walking out of the station and figured I was going to Rockwood too. She recognized me I always like being friendly with people I deal with often. Things are nice when they aren't just business.

It was still light outside though cloudy and that made the best light for photography that I've seen at Rockwood.


Kat

As she often does Kat had people playing with her. Caitlin,and Bianca sang harmony and Bruno played the cajone. As much as I love Kat solo I like her better with other singers as one of her great talents is arranging. Or should I have said arrangement?


Kat and Bruno


Kat and Caitlin


Caitlin


Caitlin, Kat, Bianca

Kat had a brand new song that she needed a title for. She asked the audience to suggest one. I of course can't resist that. I suggested "A Home For You" but it came out "A Hole For You." I think that's from reading the History of the Hobbit. Hobbits live in holes.

Most of Kat's songs are not shall we say Wedding Friendly so she had to learn some new ones. To prepare they sang Be My Baby. I liked it. They could totally be a girl group.

Here are the rest of the pics.

After the show I talked more with the waitress. Her name is Allison. Now I feel bad as I don't know the name of the guy at the door. I should at least pretend that I don't care only about cute women.

For dinner I had cheesesteak. I haven't done that for a while. More importantly I stopped at Russ & Daughters and bought halvah. I should do that every time I am there and they are open. That's comfort food.

Now that I finished reading The History of the Hobbit I'm back to reading Wise Man's Fear. The former is an academic work with footnotes that I have to keep reading. It takes a lot more effort than a novel. It feels so easy to be reading a story again. It's a good one too.

I'm still having issues with the real world so I will probably be sticking with fantasy for a while. Not that I ever keep away from it that long

I'm watching Highlander on Amazon Prime. The TV series not the movie. My father is the one that turned me on to the series so I get some paternal bonding when I watch it. Like my father I'm always disappointed when he doesn't take somebody's head.

As I missed therapy yesterday today I'll have a therapy breakfast, the grand slam, French toast, bacon, and scrambled eggs. That reminds me that I wanted to write about my weight. OK. It won't take too long and this is the right lead in.

I used to look like this. I weighed as much as 240 lbs. By comparison I'm now 175. My weight fluctuates quite a bit on its own. My body just decided I should gain or lose weight. But that was different. I was depressed then and ate far more than I do now. I'd have two bagels with peanut butter for lunch. I sometimes worry when I eat to feel better now but as my weight is under control I don't let it bother me. Would you recognize me in that pic? Who knew me then?

OK now to eat fattening food.


I signed the Pro-Truth Pledge:
please hold me accountable.





Memories: Not that Horrid Song - May 29, 2018
Wise Madness is Now In Session - May 28, 2018
The NFL and the First Amendment - May 27, 2018
On The Road Again - May 26, 2018
Oliver the Three-Eyed Crow - May 25, 2018



creative commons
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial-Share Alike 3.0 License.
Horvendile June 10, 2014
site search by freefind advanced


Follow on Feedly



about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!