I became insane with long intervals of horrible sanity.
Edgar Allen Poe

The trouble with fighting for human freedom is that one spends most of one's time defending scoundrels. For it is against scoundrels that oppressive laws are first aimed, and oppression must be stopped at the beginning if it is to be stopped at all.
- H. L. Mencken

Many people would sooner die than think; In fact, they do so
-Bertrand Russell

What I have been telling you, from alpha to omega, what is the one great thing the sigil taught me — that everything in life is miraculous. For the sigil taught me that it rests within the power of each of us to awaken at will from a dragging nightmare of life made up of unimportant tasks and tedious useless little habits, to see life as it really is, and to rejoice in its exquisite wonderfulness. If the sigil were proved to be the top of a tomato-can, it would not alter that big fact, nor my fixed faith. No Harrowby, the common names we call things by do not matter — except to show how very dull we are ...
-James Branch Cabell

February 23, 2014 - 9:33 a.m.

Quinntessential Music

I am being very good and starting to write at 8:28. I have to leave here at 10:54. Let's see if I can do it without racing out the door.

I have been feeling pretty good this week but there's been an overhanging anxiety issue. I found it impossible to read an invitation and RSVP to something I really wanted to go to. It involved friends and chocolate. The friends are musicians so it involved friends, chocolate, and music. I have been looking forward to this since August. But I simply couldn't do it and didn't go. Usually I have an inkling of why I'm anxious. this just mystifies me. This is the kind of thing I do to relieve anxiety. Maybe it was the traveling to New Jersey. I think that is it. I had to figure out to get there.

It's Sunday morning so I'm listening to John Platt. He is now playing Jean Rohe's New Year after singing her praises. I love that I can hear the music I love of a friend I love on the radio. I got to do that yesterday too. First Kathleen Biggins played RUNA on A Thousand Welcomes in the morning. In the afternoon Carolyn Gorss on WMUA hosts Songs of the Wild. I know Carolyn from The Steeple Tent, the people that camp next to us at Falcon Ridge. I think I've known her since she was 14. Certainly not much older than that. She is an environmental science major and her show is children's songs about nature. Every week has a theme and not only do I suggest songs but she plays them! She is very much a kindred spirit. This week she played The Littlest Tree by Kari Groff and Kristin Andreassen and A Hole in the Bottom of the Sea by Christine Lavin. As I was writing that John played a song by Rod Picott.

I consoled myself for missing the chocolate party by doing something that is pretty much the opposite of anxiety see Kat Quinn at Rockwood Music Hall. I can usually time going there perfectly but yesterday there was a hitch. The was rerouted over the tracks and two came before the . I waited about half an hour so of course I was 20 minutes late.

When I walked in Rockwood was packed and Kat had started her set. This is one of the things about playing Rockwood. If you get a top time slot, like 7 PM on a Saturday the you can get a full house of people that don't know you at all. They went in to check out whoever is playing. The downside to that is that they are loud and often drunk and that was the case last night. But unusually last night they were loud, and drunk, but actually listened and bought CDS and signed the mailing list. They loved her. Kat handled it great, she through in an extra cover that they could sing along to and avoided the softer introspective songs.

As you can see from the pictures Kat was joined, as she often is, by Jo Kroger which makes it even more of a home game. I love Jo too. That meant I could double the number of hugs I could expect.

As regular readers know I always throw a paper airplane at Kat at the end of Kind of Brave. When Kat's famous I'll have secondary fame as the paper airplane guy. This plane was special; I made it from the top sheet of Acoustic Live the bible of the New York folk scene. Jean Rohe was on the cover! This was classic sympathetic magic to get make Kat an Acoustic Live cover artist. Too bad I don't believed in sympathetic magic. Talking to Richard the chief cook and bottle washer of the paper is more effective. The plane was great and twice the size of one made from printing paper. The song is about writing a love letter on a paper airplane so I thought of it as a jumbo jet of love.

After the show I hung out a bit with Jo and Kat. Jo just got back from a tour of Europe so I hadn't seen her for a while. I wasn't sure she was back so it was a pleasant not quite surprise when she was there.

I then did something I haven't done in a while, I went out to eat! I have been eating home so much that a meal out was now a treat. I went to Georgia BBQ and had their amazing fried chicken. It's the best in the City. It was exceptionally good last night. I was almost able to finish. Their portions are huge. The breast alone was enough for a meal and they give half a chicken. There's like a pound of fries. And there's corn bread! I have never finished a meal there. This was the first time I didn't leave enough over to take home a doggie bag for a second meal.

I better make breakfast now. I have a long day ahead of me. Here's the problem I want to make French toast but that takes a long time and means not being able to listen to John's show. I'll see if I can find the app so I can listen on my phone. Right now he's playing Richard Thompson and there's no way I can turn that off.


I signed the Pro-Truth Pledge:
please hold me accountable.





Memories: Not that Horrid Song - May 29, 2018
Wise Madness is Now In Session - May 28, 2018
The NFL and the First Amendment - May 27, 2018
On The Road Again - May 26, 2018
Oliver the Three-Eyed Crow - May 25, 2018



creative commons
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial-Share Alike 3.0 License.
Horvendile February 23, 2014
site search by freefind advanced


Follow on Feedly



about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!