I became insane with long intervals of horrible sanity.
Edgar Allen Poe

The trouble with fighting for human freedom is that one spends most of one's time defending scoundrels. For it is against scoundrels that oppressive laws are first aimed, and oppression must be stopped at the beginning if it is to be stopped at all.
- H. L. Mencken

Many people would sooner die than think; In fact, they do so
-Bertrand Russell

What I have been telling you, from alpha to omega, what is the one great thing the sigil taught me — that everything in life is miraculous. For the sigil taught me that it rests within the power of each of us to awaken at will from a dragging nightmare of life made up of unimportant tasks and tedious useless little habits, to see life as it really is, and to rejoice in its exquisite wonderfulness. If the sigil were proved to be the top of a tomato-can, it would not alter that big fact, nor my fixed faith. No Harrowby, the common names we call things by do not matter — except to show how very dull we are ...
-James Branch Cabell

August 31, 2014 - 10:21 a.m.

Party in the Park

I was busy for a long time yesterday having fun but that doesn't mean I have a lot to write about. We'll see how it goes. I have not planned this out. One thing happened that I said has to find its way into my blog. I haven't a clue what it was. It really isn't easy not having a brain.

Yesterday was Katherine's birthday party. It's not like this took me by surprise. I've known her birthday since last year, the first since I met her. I've had the party on my calendar for ages. You know this is leading to talking about procrastination. the Party started at 2. That's when I was shopping for her card. It's amazing how someone with a mania for being punctual can procrastinate so much. Now it was a party that lasted for hours and that does not count against me not being punctual. Just got to make that clear.

The party was in Prospect Park. Now I knew where it was, behind the Bandshell but I got lost in thought and found that I had walked past it. Like I said, it isn't easy not having a brain. I turned around and found it without too much trouble

The party was a combined party for Katherine and Deb whose birthday was last week. The combined party is a tradition. Last year it was on hiatus so this was my first. Other than the birthday girls I knew Mark & Beth, Scott, Karen, Giidge & Louise, and Alan? Is that really it? I think so.

So what did we do? Well we ate. I had something I never had before, smoked duck. That was scrumptious, right in my wheelhouse. Something else I never tried was cappuccino flavored potato chips, not as good as it sounds. I slipped. I took no pictures of food.

So what else We played Frisbee. I haven't played in years. I used to be very good, a precise thrower. I got the straight throws and even floaters, where it comes almost straight down over the catcher's head, but I couldn't get accurate curved throws. Still had fun of course. I used to play Frisbee often. Now I never seem to do any outdoor activities other than walking. I wonder if my shoulder could handle tennis. What I really should do is swim. But something social would be good too.

Of course we made music. At least half the people there were musicians. I say we made music because I sang along, not well but with enthusiasm. I love sitting around and singing with people that can sing and play. I should have brought some of my toys, shaker eggs and kazoos. Everyone there is now saying, "I'm glad he didn't." Here are some pictures of the merrymaking.

I'll let you into my photo editor brain. One of my pet peeves is when people post a photo album and include multiple pics that are almost identical. I try and make sure that each pictures is different. Sometime if it's of a band it's just different instruments. Usually they need different composition. But sometimes it's about the facial expressions. There were two pics I took of Katherine that are almost but not quite the same. They were taken seconds apart. That's the same strum of the uke.

What's the difference? Katherine's head. From an aesthetic point of view I prefer the first. She catches the light perfectly and looks as beautiful as a Raphael woman. But in the second her personality comes out. That shows why she's my friend. I flip flopped between the two pictures then posted them both. Yes nobody else is going to look at it closely enough to realize how different they are. But I can see it and sometimes I put pleasing my taste first. OK I always put my taste first. I'm the only one whose taste I'm sure of

No what activity I left out? Talking? I might not be able to sing but I can talk. I had some super geeky conversation. I found out why DC comics was called Detective Comics as they are not about detectives. I learned that musicians keep room humidity controlled. I learned how to build a smoker out of a refrigerator.

We stayed in park till after dark. Then we had to take everyone home Katherine had a ton of stuff and we had to figure out the logistics I ended up taking a cab with her. I used Uber. They just updated the software. There was one glitch, it started with advertising some service but I couldn't figure out how to get rid of the ad. Neither could the people with me. Then I accidentally hit the magic spot on the screen. It was not marked with an x. But then it has a great new feature. It shows a map with an icon where the car is so you can see when It's arriving. That was great. I liked the driver too. He helped me get the stuff in the trunk and then kept quiet as we drove.

I helped Katherine get her stuff up to her apartment then headed home. If it were earlier it would have been tempting to walk as it takes two trains, and it's very indirect. I go away from my house for a while. I can take a more direct route with three trains. That's better during weekdays when trains are more frequent

Now to make some matzoh brie for breakfast. See I'm a good Jew. Just don't tell anyone I'm making it with Taylor ham.


I signed the Pro-Truth Pledge:
please hold me accountable.





Memories: Not that Horrid Song - May 29, 2018
Wise Madness is Now In Session - May 28, 2018
The NFL and the First Amendment - May 27, 2018
On The Road Again - May 26, 2018
Oliver the Three-Eyed Crow - May 25, 2018



creative commons
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial-Share Alike 3.0 License.
Horvendile August 31, 2014
site search by freefind advanced


Follow on Feedly



about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!