I became insane with long intervals of horrible sanity.
Edgar Allen Poe

The trouble with fighting for human freedom is that one spends most of one's time defending scoundrels. For it is against scoundrels that oppressive laws are first aimed, and oppression must be stopped at the beginning if it is to be stopped at all.
- H. L. Mencken

Many people would sooner die than think; In fact, they do so
-Bertrand Russell

What I have been telling you, from alpha to omega, what is the one great thing the sigil taught me — that everything in life is miraculous. For the sigil taught me that it rests within the power of each of us to awaken at will from a dragging nightmare of life made up of unimportant tasks and tedious useless little habits, to see life as it really is, and to rejoice in its exquisite wonderfulness. If the sigil were proved to be the top of a tomato-can, it would not alter that big fact, nor my fixed faith. No Harrowby, the common names we call things by do not matter — except to show how very dull we are ...
-James Branch Cabell

October 06, 2014 - 10:47 p.m.

Bathroom Humor

Right now my thoughts are dominated by my material condition. I'm having what I believe is a record setting Crohn's attack, 10 bathroom visits in 22 hours That has left me both literally and figuratively drained. It makes it hard to think about much else. Don't worry I'm not going to write more about it. But I think I'm going to call in sick and not volunteer tomorrow at WfUV. I need a day to recover But now let's let the picture switch to wavy lines and harken back to those glorious days of yesteryear, Sunday That was a busy day

For the first time in memory the WfUV pledge drive started on a Sunday. Good thing that's a relatively late day. I didn't have to be there till eight which meant getting up a bit 6:03 AM I take the to Grand Central and Metro North to Fordham

Sunday is John Platt's Sunday Breakfast That's the show I always pledge for. I have been volunteering there since 1992 and this was the very first time I heard myself getting thanked. I am always thanked but I'm to busy volunteering to hear it. This time I happened to be in the kitchen getting food.. Who else was there? I know Stephen, Susan, and Colleen. Jim was just there kibitzing on his way to bowling. He ended up helping with a spreadsheet

For the first time ever everybody had a computer to take pledges on. There was supposed to be no paper but then we found out the computer form wouldn't work with Amex So we used paper if that was how somebody paid. That was fixed by later in the day

I usually stay for Ceol na n'Gael but I couldn't then because Joe Crookston was giving a house concert at Gene & Isabel's. I thought I might be late as I had to take the Metro North to Grand Central then the LIRR to Merrick But Jim bowls in Queens and he drove me to Jamaica so I ended up getting there an hour and a half early. Good thing they are good friends and that's OK. In fact Gene drove me to the bank. bathroom visit 11.

As expected I knew about half the audiene, Fred & Linda, Daria, Gary & Vicky, Mike Kornfeld, and most of the rest of the hard core Long Island Folkies, The opening act Ivy Guerrero drew a large crowd herself. This was her first professional performance and she did a great job. Joe couldn't get over how well she did. He said she was much better than his first gig.

Can I praise Joe enough? No I can't. What usually gets me most is his songwriting but he's also one of the most dynamic performers you'll ever see. Like Springsteen he gives everything of himself and connects with the crowd. In a just world he'd be doing arena shows and Dawes would be doing house concerts – and not getting as many people as Joe..

Joe's music is diverse and it seems that my favorite songs are quite different than my friends' Nobody requested my favorite songs but with the exception of Red Rooster in the Mash Pile Joe played them all Joe's tastes are akin to mine. Not surprising he's a true kindred spirit. I praised another friend by telling her that that talking to her reminds me of talking to Joe We can have the most fun while having very serious conversations.

So what did I notice about Joe this time? Rhythm. The bane of folk music is lack of rhythmic substance Some don't even vary the tempo. Joe could be a rocker he expresses himself through rhythms. I would love to see him with the E Street Band.

The timing was great and with a ride I just made the train back to Brooklyn. Unfortunately I left my portable charger behind. I might ask gene to mail it to me. I use that every day..

today I was at WFUV again. They had fixed the AMEX It wasn't very busy but I had fun as usual The problem was I kept running to the bathroom. From there I went to therapy I had time to run to Trader Joe's first for a few things.. When I got home I finally did my laundry. I was running out of clothes


OK this short but I got very little sleep last night. I went to bed at 10:45 and woke up at 3:20 and woke up four times during the night. Three times for the bathroom and once for an anxiety attack. I can't believe I'm still awake.


I signed the Pro-Truth Pledge:
please hold me accountable.





Memories: Not that Horrid Song - May 29, 2018
Wise Madness is Now In Session - May 28, 2018
The NFL and the First Amendment - May 27, 2018
On The Road Again - May 26, 2018
Oliver the Three-Eyed Crow - May 25, 2018



creative commons
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial-Share Alike 3.0 License.
Horvendile October 06, 2014
site search by freefind advanced


Follow on Feedly



about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!