I became insane with long intervals of horrible sanity.
Edgar Allen Poe

The trouble with fighting for human freedom is that one spends most of one's time defending scoundrels. For it is against scoundrels that oppressive laws are first aimed, and oppression must be stopped at the beginning if it is to be stopped at all.
- H. L. Mencken

Many people would sooner die than think; In fact, they do so
-Bertrand Russell

What I have been telling you, from alpha to omega, what is the one great thing the sigil taught me — that everything in life is miraculous. For the sigil taught me that it rests within the power of each of us to awaken at will from a dragging nightmare of life made up of unimportant tasks and tedious useless little habits, to see life as it really is, and to rejoice in its exquisite wonderfulness. If the sigil were proved to be the top of a tomato-can, it would not alter that big fact, nor my fixed faith. No Harrowby, the common names we call things by do not matter — except to show how very dull we are ...
-James Branch Cabell

September 05, 2015 - 12:55 p.m.

Jillpalooza

I just changed it two days ago and my cursor is small again. Why the hell does that happen? Does this happen to anyone else? I'm on Windows 10 now, things are supposed to be better. Oh and number lock keeps going off by itself too. I touch type fine except for that top row. I can touch type a number pad.

I did stuff yesterday so I should have things to write about. Wow I even remember what I did yesterday. I even remember what I didn't do yesterday but wanted to.

Yesterday I went to slightly deep and dark New Jersey, Upper Montclair to see Jill Sobule. That means taking the subway to the Port Authority then taking a bus. I had to make a 5:30 bus. I also thought my copy of Shepherd's Crown the final Tiffany Aching book might be at my PO Box. I got a text from Amazon saying it was ready for pickup but I didn't get one from the Post Office. They might have it but it's not in my box yet. But it was worth a possible wasted trip as it's Pratchett, I think his second to last book. There's one more Discworld book in the pipeline. I have trouble reading because of my eyes but I'll read Pratchett even if it's difficult.

So as has been happening too much I left late. I'm never late for the event I want to go to but I will not leave myself enough time to do an errand before then. The timing was close. It only takes 10 minutes plus the time waiting for the train to get from the post office to the Port Authority. But I just missed the because two women decided that the top of the stairway to the subway was the perfect place to stand and talk during rush hour while people were pouring out of the station. The subway door closed as I got on the platform so that was the difference.

But I didn't really have time anyway because I had to deal with the Port Authority Bus Terminal. This time I knew what bus to take, the time, and where to buy the ticket but it's still not easy. I learned from last time to not ask information anything but to use the electronic kiosks. The thing is they don't work great. The first one I tried crashed. The second worked but the touch screens aren't very good and it didn't give me the info I needed. I wanted the #66 but there's a #66R and a #66CV. Nowhere on the ticket does it say that. Then I saw they were both at the same gate so I went there. Then on a flyer with tiny print there was a schedule and I could see the R was express and didn't go where I wanted. Nobody thought of posting a sign listing all the places the bus goes like they do at train stations.

The actual trip was easy, no traffic and I arrived right on time. I wasn't the first one there but they there early. The show was at Notes from Home aka Chris's house. I used to go there all the time, Chris has very similar taste in music to me. Even without a car it's not hard to get to as the bus stops at the end of his block. Of course even with things perfect it would take an hour and a half. I grabbed my seat, said hi to Chris and Jill and got down to the serious business of eating and socializing. There was an hour till the show started. That's how I like a house concert to be run. A pot luck for an hour before the music begins. It was nice so we congregated out on the deck. I was talking to strangers and found out that one of them was the daughter of one of my old physics Profs at Queens College. Actually two of his daughters were there but I was only talking to one of them. It is such a small world. Someone else used to work with Laurie MacAllister from Red Molly. It's a very small world. I knew three people in the audience, Sybil, Kenny, and Bill. I was just too late to get "My Seat" at the end of the couch. I like comfy chairs.

I saw Jill three times this week and loved all the shows. There was not a lot of repetition. I think the only show she did three times was "We Want Our America Back" which is unrecorded. I'm not sure of that's the actual title but that's the one I'm using for the nefarious scheme I have planned. Sorry if I told you about it I'd have to kill you. But it's quite nefarious.

The crowd was great, people sang along .I hate when people don’t sing along and Jill always has involves the audience. If she played Falcon Ridge I'd be working on nefarious schemes to get her to play Budgiedome. Well not nefarious, the usual promises of scotch, chocolate, and a great audience.

Jill's working on musicals. That makes so much sense, so many of her songs are vignettes and or character studies. She thinks in terms of characters. So yes she's sensitive person who writes songs and sings them with a guitar but she's not another "sensitive singer/songwriter with a guitar." Her songs have bite and content and humor and healthy dose of insanity. Speaking of which I found out that she can't perform FM Radio the song she co-wrote with Dar solo. So now I have to work on getting them on a bill together. Who has a really big house for a really big house concert?

The shows timing was a bit awkward. It ended at 9, the next bus wasn't till 9:40. Chris let me hang out in the house and when Jill left so did I. It was a nice night so waiting for the bus was pleasant. Sybil drove by and asked if I wanted her to wait with me. I told her I was OK. She offered to drive me to the train but I already had my bus ticket. Maybe next time I'll consider taking the train home. I have to check the timing. I can walk to the station. If I can pay for the bus with cash instead of buying a ticket at the Port Authority I can have two options coming home.

I had bad timing with the trains. I my original plan was to take the the entire way back. But when I got on the platform the sign said "delays" and then there was announcement. So I went over to the which I can take to the . That's probably faster or at least no slower. But then I waited over 15 minutes for the . It might have been closer to 25 minutes. Then I had to wait 7 minutes for the . It took me 2 hours to get back. And that's in addition to waiting 40 minutes for the bus. Notice I'm still planning on going back there, I just need to make it more efficient next time.

In case you missed me plastering it on Facebook here is the Posting for Gordonpalooza in the Village Voice. Click on the link to find out what it's about. Modesty will not allow me to say more. Yeah, right. I'm just being mysterious. I'm all nefarious plans.

What's today's breakfast? Oh right, poached eggs ala Horvendile. Here's the weird thing I do. Most people if having a slice of ham with an egg and an English Muffin put the muffin down, lay the ham on that and the egg on the ham. But the problem with that is the ham stops the muffin from absorbing the runny egg. I put the ham on the bottom so the egg is directly on the muffin. Try it some time. It's better. Don't be bounded by convention.

I just did spellcheck; can you believe that "Gordonpalooza" wasn't in the Word dictionary? It is now.


I signed the Pro-Truth Pledge:
please hold me accountable.





Memories: Not that Horrid Song - May 29, 2018
Wise Madness is Now In Session - May 28, 2018
The NFL and the First Amendment - May 27, 2018
On The Road Again - May 26, 2018
Oliver the Three-Eyed Crow - May 25, 2018



creative commons
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial-Share Alike 3.0 License.
Horvendile September 05, 2015
site search by freefind advanced


Follow on Feedly



about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!