I became insane with long intervals of horrible sanity.
Edgar Allen Poe

The trouble with fighting for human freedom is that one spends most of one's time defending scoundrels. For it is against scoundrels that oppressive laws are first aimed, and oppression must be stopped at the beginning if it is to be stopped at all.
- H. L. Mencken

Many people would sooner die than think; In fact, they do so
-Bertrand Russell

What I have been telling you, from alpha to omega, what is the one great thing the sigil taught me — that everything in life is miraculous. For the sigil taught me that it rests within the power of each of us to awaken at will from a dragging nightmare of life made up of unimportant tasks and tedious useless little habits, to see life as it really is, and to rejoice in its exquisite wonderfulness. If the sigil were proved to be the top of a tomato-can, it would not alter that big fact, nor my fixed faith. No Harrowby, the common names we call things by do not matter — except to show how very dull we are ...
-James Branch Cabell

June 01, 2014 - 12:24 p.m.

Hastings Does Not Make Wastings

I did stuff yesterday and took pictures and videos so I know what I'm writing about today. Well except that I haven�t posted the videos. That's going to take a little time but it will be worth it

Yesterday I made the Trek up to Hastings-on-Hudson That meant taking the express bus to the to the to the Metro North and getting picked up at the train station and getting a ride. What was worth all that? Jerron Paxton and Mamie Minch. were playing at Common Ground Community Concerts.

The plan was for me to come up on the same train as the artists and Carter would pick us up. After I was on the train I got the message from Carter that they were taking a later train. That explained why I couldn't find them.

I love the trip on the train up to Hastings, so much that I have an album of photos taken on the trip.
Hudson River to Hastings

This is what I got this time. They are not actually of the Hudson.


What is this minaret in upper Manhattan?

The primeval forest in the last picture is the Northern tip of Manhattan. The water is Spuyten Duyvil. Yes where the band got its name from.

Not long after I reached my destination.

I had some time to kill to Jerron and Mamie's train was due in and I did not get enough sleep the night before so I went in search of coffee. Hastings is out in the wilderness. How do I know? There was not a place to get coffee by the station, at least not one that was open. The Station Caf� was closed. I used google to find coffee and it couldn't find anything open nearby. I knew there had to be someplace in town to get coffee or there is no way the town could continue to function even in the wilderness. I just walked down promising streets and found the shortest route to the closest coffee place, The French Press, which is clearly the party spot of Hastings-on-Hudson and stayed open to 6 PM!

I walked back to the station and Carter showed up not long thereafter. The problem was that the Mamie and Jerron were NOT on the next train. He had given a neighbor a ride and realized there might not be room in his car for all of us so he drove the neighbor and I back to the venue then went back to the station to pick up the artists.

I hung out with Winston who does sound and helped him set up the chairs. Then we went out for pizza. We got back and ate it on one of the picnic tables outside. Carter showed up shortly afterward. They had stopped for food too.

Forgive me, I didn't say what I ordered at the pizza place. I was going to get pizza then found out the pinwheels had both pepperoni AND bacon! Now you're jealous. Maybe I shouldn�t have told you.

How do other music bloggers manage to get to the music in less than 563 words?

I discovered both Mamie and Jerron at Spuyten Duyvil Snake Oil Revue shows, not the same one. I owe them big time for that. They are both fantastic musicians that I never even heard of before. Now I'm willing to trek to a town where you can't coffee at the train station to see them.

Mamie was up first What does she sing? The lady sings the blues. She sings and plays them amazingly well. This is Farm-to-Stage music as she's a luthier. Ok she just fixed up her guitar, she didn't build it from scratch but that's good enough for me.

The guitar looks good. So does Mamie. More importantly she sounds good. Well she sounds great. I didn't capture the one song I would have most wanted to video and it isn't on her albums either. I think it's called Kentucky Mermaid. It might not be her best song but it's if you knew me you'd say, "that's Gordon's song." If you don't pay attention you'd say, that's a nice song, it sounds great and she can really play. If you do pay attention you hear it is filled with puns guaranteed to make you groan. She's totally my people.

She and Jerron did a number of songs together .That was worth the trip up there by itself.


Jerron's text book technique

Mamie plays in my places, Jalopy and Barb�s right here in Brooklyn? Why haven't I seen her? I'm correcting that error. I need to see her often.

This might be too mean for me to say but what the hell. Facially Mamie reminds me of another singer/songwriter. But that's just facially, musically she's the exact opposite. Her look-alike is totally generic and can't keep my attention for the length of a song. I can't get my attention off of Mamie's music. If you think you know who I mean you can ask me privately. Do NOT say anything in public.

Jerron I have seen a number of times. Talk about not being generic. You know how I often praise an artist by saying that he or she is not like anyone else? Jerron is not even like himself, like the demon he can say "I am legion." He's a Appalachian fiddler, guitar playing bluesman, ragtime piano player, trad banjoist, and music hall singer. Oh and he plays the harmonica. The music goes in him and comes out in whatever he's holding. Between songs he's a funny as all hell. Describing Jerron is like the blind men describing the elephant. You just can't tell the complete picture. You have to see and hear it yourself.. Put both he and Mamie on your, must see list. You'll thank me for it. Well you better, you'll love it and I deserve the thanks. Notice I thanked Spuyten Duyvil.









Remember last weekend I made new friends Mike and Kate? I told them about the show and even with my buildup they were not disappointed. I love meeting new kindred spirits. So this is two weekends in a row I heard amazing concerts with them featuring a man wearing a kippah, Andy Statman and Jerron Paxton. I can't remember the last time I saw any other musician where one in concert. They are both fantastic. Maybe I should try wearing one. � Nah.

Danny, someone I had met at other concerts, gave Mamie, Jerron, and me a ride back to the City. It was perfect for me, It was at the train. They each had to transfer but went about halfway with Jerron and most of the way with Mamie who is a Brooklyn peep. I love going home after a show with people. It's not quite as good as going out for food but it's right up there. Of course even with the ride thanks to the shuttle bus I didn't get home till after 1 AM. It was worth it of course.


I signed the Pro-Truth Pledge:
please hold me accountable.





Memories: Not that Horrid Song - May 29, 2018
Wise Madness is Now In Session - May 28, 2018
The NFL and the First Amendment - May 27, 2018
On The Road Again - May 26, 2018
Oliver the Three-Eyed Crow - May 25, 2018



creative commons
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial-Share Alike 3.0 License.
Horvendile June 01, 2014
site search by freefind advanced


Follow on Feedly



about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!