I became insane with long intervals of horrible sanity.
Edgar Allen Poe

The trouble with fighting for human freedom is that one spends most of one's time defending scoundrels. For it is against scoundrels that oppressive laws are first aimed, and oppression must be stopped at the beginning if it is to be stopped at all.
- H. L. Mencken

Many people would sooner die than think; In fact, they do so
-Bertrand Russell

What I have been telling you, from alpha to omega, what is the one great thing the sigil taught me — that everything in life is miraculous. For the sigil taught me that it rests within the power of each of us to awaken at will from a dragging nightmare of life made up of unimportant tasks and tedious useless little habits, to see life as it really is, and to rejoice in its exquisite wonderfulness. If the sigil were proved to be the top of a tomato-can, it would not alter that big fact, nor my fixed faith. No Harrowby, the common names we call things by do not matter — except to show how very dull we are ...
-James Branch Cabell

July 14, 2014 - 11:28 p.m.

IdiotIdiot

Welcome to a special on the road edition of Wise Madness. The wifi is out at my house and Heather said I could come over and post here. So I'm actually writing it here. Here being there. That's why her name is Heather a contraction of hear and there. Oh wait, wrong hear there. That's what it's a contraction of.

You realize there was virtually no content to that last paragraph.

Because I'm a guest in someone's house and it's rude to just sit here and write I'll concentrate on the important things, my idiocy and John Elliott's genius.

How am I an idiot, let me count the ways. I left my house yesterday and went over to Heather's. before we went to Rockwood Music Hall to see John. I get on the bus. I put in my metro card. It's rejected. Why? My monthly had expired and I forgot to refill it. I went to the subway station to refill it. I put in my debit card. it was rejected. Why I forgot to transfer money into my checking. I went to transfer money via my phone. I couldn't. I forgot my password. I had to go to the bank. then back to the subway, then back to the bus. It is so hard being me.

I was going to help her with something or other. Didn't get to. I wanted her to help me with something. My house key and room key have the same template. They look the same. A trick I learned was to put nail polish on one of the two keys to demark it. I of course don't own any nail polish but Heather does. So I took my keys out. Well OK I reached into my pocket to get my keys and they weren't there. I eft the house without them. Now I have a hidden key to my room but not the house. I had to hope that somebody was there. So we hopped on the bus and went back to the house. Monna, my landlady let me in and into my room. My keys were there. Whew. Did I mention that I'm an idiot?

Then we went to the City and had dinner at Sugar Shack, down the block from Rockwood. Why don't I eat there more often? A burger and fries for $8 and they were really good. Oh, I forgot commuting. We took the B 46 bus to my house then the to the .. OK food and commuting taken care of.

then we walked over to Rockwood 3. We were early but we found Gene there. I knew that Fred was down in Rockwood 3 for the early show Carsie Blanton. I thought it was going to be too late a night for for him but as Gene had his car and could drive him Fred stayed for John too. Isabel drove in and joined us. The five of us were the first ones in.

Rockwood 3 has a two drink minimum. I decided to run a tab. That meant giving the waitress my credit card. I opened my wallet. Guess what. No credit card. Why? I left it at Sugar Shack. Why? Because I'm an idiot. duh. I ran out of Rockwood and down the block. Sugar Shack is all window and the guy behind the counter saw me as I approached. before I walked in he said, "I have it!" and by the time I walked in it was in his hand and he gave it to me. Whew. God protects idiots. But there's no god,. I just got lucky.

The show stared off weird, even for a John Elliott show. An Emcee came out and announced the special opening act, Von Rhodes. He looked an awful lot like John I a hat sunglasses. He sang a ridiculous and funny song. People with brains probably could tell you more about it. Von went off and John came on. Hey ever notice that you never see Von Rhodes and Superman in the same room? I wonder ...

John did another great set mixing old songs and new. He has one new one about the oil shale formation. in Texas and the controversy surrounding it's extraction. John said it's a real folk song and the bloggers should write about it. He looked right at me when he said that. Did I do good John? Is there payola coming my way? No? Damn, didn't think so.

At my request John did "Feet to the Fire." As I said yesterday it's simply one of the greatest songs written by anybody. I whispered to Heather that this was the song I wanted her to hear and John heard that and called me on talking during the song that I requested. It's so hard being me.

OK, It's late and I have to go. I'm getting this in before midnight. Not much more to tell anyway. The takeaway is that John is a genius and I'm an idiot. If you got that you pass.

OH yes one more thing. I had to repost this five times because I kept forgetting stupid things I did.


I signed the Pro-Truth Pledge:
please hold me accountable.





Memories: Not that Horrid Song - May 29, 2018
Wise Madness is Now In Session - May 28, 2018
The NFL and the First Amendment - May 27, 2018
On The Road Again - May 26, 2018
Oliver the Three-Eyed Crow - May 25, 2018



creative commons
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial-Share Alike 3.0 License.
Horvendile July 14, 2014
site search by freefind advanced


Follow on Feedly



about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!