I became insane with long intervals of horrible sanity.
Edgar Allen Poe

The trouble with fighting for human freedom is that one spends most of one's time defending scoundrels. For it is against scoundrels that oppressive laws are first aimed, and oppression must be stopped at the beginning if it is to be stopped at all.
- H. L. Mencken

Many people would sooner die than think; In fact, they do so
-Bertrand Russell

What I have been telling you, from alpha to omega, what is the one great thing the sigil taught me — that everything in life is miraculous. For the sigil taught me that it rests within the power of each of us to awaken at will from a dragging nightmare of life made up of unimportant tasks and tedious useless little habits, to see life as it really is, and to rejoice in its exquisite wonderfulness. If the sigil were proved to be the top of a tomato-can, it would not alter that big fact, nor my fixed faith. No Harrowby, the common names we call things by do not matter — except to show how very dull we are ...
-James Branch Cabell

February 19, 2016 - 1:31 p.m.

Rohe vs Wade Crookston

My computer is acting up it slows down. Task manager says it's using 100% of the disk space. If I leave it, it will eventually calm down and the computer will work properly. It just flipped and I'm using 18% of the disk. I googled and found this is a known issue with Windows 10. I found some solutions online. They don't work. Anyone hear of something that does? It isn't one process taking the computer over. None is using that much disk space. In fact, they don't add up to near 100%. Now it's using 0%.

I'm not in a great place and spent almost all day in my room. Dinner was Mac 'n' Cheese. Not that there's anything wrong with Mac 'n' Cheese. Garlic salt and MSG makes it quite tasty.

In the evening music saved the day. First I watched Frictioni Farm on Livestream. It seemed to work smoother than Concert Window. This was a different than the other streaming concerts I saw. They were on stage with a live audience and real sound equipment so the music experience was better. But there was no interacting with the rest of the virtual audience or the band. Good thing that Christine and Aiden are always fun. They did a lot of their book songs and a mix of their others.

Then I went out for a late show, Jean Rohe | Kindness & Cruelty played at 10:30 at Rockwood Music Hall Stage 3. I don't usually go to late shows but this was their last show before they head to the studio to record the new album. I like that Liam, who's in the band doesn't know if the band's name is Kindness & Cruelty or if that's the album title or both. Her last album and band was Jean Rohe and the End of the World Show. That says a lot about Jean. She follows her muse where it leads her and isn't as concerned with what's around it.

I kept forcing myself to leave later; instead of leaving at 9 I left at 9:28. Yes, I know it to the minute. Doors open 15 minutes before the show, I got there at 10:15. I have traveling to Rockwood down. I wasn't sure if I was on the list. I went to the guy at the door, "I'm not sure if I'm on the list." He replied, "That's OK I'll just put you on it." There's an occasional perk to being me. When I went downstairs the doors were closed and they were doing sound check. As they often do things were running late.

Jean mainly did songs from her new album. That's fine with me, I love them. Some are being transformed. She's now adding spoken word sections to them. It strikes me as part Hamilton and part 70s Prog Rock. That's not a combination that will occur to most people. I can pretty much guarantee that the album will make my favorites of 2016 list even if it isn't recorded yet. The songs I've heard are enough to guarantee that.

Every once in a while a segue or set of songs will come to me and I'll suggest it to John Platt. It hit me last night that I have an irregular radio gig with Brian Norton on WFDU. I can play them myself. I have two for songs from Kindness & Cruelty, I decided to go with that as the album title. Jean it's in print now so you can't change it. Oh right, I'm talking about segues and sets. One new song is Ashes to Ashes. I can pretty much guarantee some DJs are going to pair that with the David Bowie song of the same title. I will add a third title to the set, Ashes are Burning by Renaissance. That sounds a lot more like Jean's song than the Bowie. The band has the piano and keyboard of art rock.

The other segue is based on subject matter, Jean's Wings to Joe Crookston's Freddy the Flyer. Jean takes part in a program where she plays for prisoners in Sing Sing and that's what inspired her song. Joe worked with youths in prison in Seattle and that inspired his song. They both invoke flying.

I didn't play Joe on my "artists that I never miss" show but he's one of them. I don't know the distinction but all the artists I played on Tuesday fit together and Joe didn't fit with them. He'll be on my next "artists I never miss" show. But that made me think about him before the show and that segue made me think of him some more. It made me think of Jean and Joe. On the outside they have very little in common, They are different ages, different sexes, live in very different areas, and their music is not similar. Even more their personalities are different. Joe is intense, larger than life, when he's in the room you know he's in the room. Jean is soft spoken and unassuming. But last night it struck me that I want them to get to know each other because despite their differences they affect me the same way. Their music is different but they both are far beyond what you usually hear. I get totally involved when listening. The secret fire burns brightly in both of them, so bright that it finds its way out through their music. They are two of the best people for me to talk to. I love them both and decided that's a reason for them to meet and love each other. I have some strange notions.

Getting home was a bit of an ordeal. I made a strategic mistake. I take the first in either direction from Second Ave. The uptown came first so I took it one stop to Broadway Lafayette. I then usually switch to the or . It was after midnight when the isn't running and trains are infrequent so I decided that if the came first I'd take that in the opposite direction. It did come first and I hopped on it. It took me to Jay Street where I get off the subway and walk a few blocks to Borough Hall. Once I was there I saw that the wasn't running and I'd have to take the . That's in the far end of the station several minutes from the . and when I got there I found I had a 13 minute wait which proved even longer. And then the ran slowly. They must have been doing track work so the motorman had to be careful of workers and went slow. Instead of the 45 minutes it took me to get there it took almost an hour and a half to get home.

Wow it's late, 1:29, I do give the time a lot, don't I? I wanted to have grits yesterday but I'm out. I didn't buy them so I'm still out. Poached eggs it is.


I signed the Pro-Truth Pledge:
please hold me accountable.





Memories: Not that Horrid Song - May 29, 2018
Wise Madness is Now In Session - May 28, 2018
The NFL and the First Amendment - May 27, 2018
On The Road Again - May 26, 2018
Oliver the Three-Eyed Crow - May 25, 2018



creative commons
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial-Share Alike 3.0 License.
Horvendile February 19, 2016
site search by freefind advanced


Follow on Feedly



about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!