I became insane with long intervals of horrible sanity.
Edgar Allen Poe

The trouble with fighting for human freedom is that one spends most of one's time defending scoundrels. For it is against scoundrels that oppressive laws are first aimed, and oppression must be stopped at the beginning if it is to be stopped at all.
- H. L. Mencken

Many people would sooner die than think; In fact, they do so
-Bertrand Russell

What I have been telling you, from alpha to omega, what is the one great thing the sigil taught me — that everything in life is miraculous. For the sigil taught me that it rests within the power of each of us to awaken at will from a dragging nightmare of life made up of unimportant tasks and tedious useless little habits, to see life as it really is, and to rejoice in its exquisite wonderfulness. If the sigil were proved to be the top of a tomato-can, it would not alter that big fact, nor my fixed faith. No Harrowby, the common names we call things by do not matter — except to show how very dull we are ...
-James Branch Cabell

December 24, 2015 - 10:55 a.m.

Intersmeller

Wow my sleep schedule just snapped back to normal I woke up on my own at 8:07 this morning. So here I am writing at 9:19. Now all I need is something to write about. Yesterday I wrote my best albums of 2015 edition of Wise Madness and my readership went through the roof. People are still reading it. Maybe I can find a way of writing that every day. Somehow I think it might not work. Oh you didn’t read it? Do that right now, Best Albums of 2015. I starting to learn how ot touch type the numbers. I still prefer having a number pad. I should learn all the symbols above the numbers too.

Yesterday I had a mission. A Canadian musician asked me to sign a contract to play The Budgiedome. She needs it to work out with the American Federation of Musicians so she can play in the States. I somehow found that exciting. I needed to print it out, scan it, and email it back to the artist. The problem is that I don’t have a printer or a scanner. But I do have friends and I went over to Coco’s to do it. I’ve said before that Coco’s house looks like Christmas. Coco feels like Christmas. The entire experience was good.

Then I went up to my PO Box at Columbus Circle. I got a notification that I had mail. Now last time I got a notification I was all looking forward to getting Festivus cards and instead got an ad for Acme Supermarkets. I tried to not get my hopes up this time. When I opened the box I found an actual Festivus Card! It was from Chris and it included a download code for a holiday mix he made.

When I got home I listened to the mix. I had to finagle a bit to get Windows Media Player to treat it as one album but I succeeded. I’ve gotten good at manipulating metadata on music.

I’m back. I know you didn’t know I was gone but I took a break to read the NY Times. I’m pretty sure any writing teacher would disapprove of me writing this paragraph but it’s part of Wise Madness being Wise Madness. Hey Jodie do you disapprove?

For dinner I had something simple, ham steak and roasted potatoes. That’s a meal with a high flavor to effort ratio. Cutting the potatoes is the biggest labor. I put them in a plastic sealed container add olive oil and garlic salt and shake it up. There was some olive oil laced with garlic salt left in the container. When I have break I soak it up with that but I don’t have any bread so I just sipped it. It was very good. I was inspired by Steve who listed maple syrup as one of his favorite drinks on a Facebook meme. He said he sips it. Steve’s Canadian. That doesn’t mean Americans can’t do that too. We should

After dinner I watched Interstellar. I found it annoying and interminable. The science was all doubletalk. The people did not react like real people. The acting was stilted. It was trying very hard to be 2001 and failing.

When it was over I found some places online to watch, 725 Free Movies Online. One of the first listed was A Matter of Life and Death, one of my all-time favorite movies. This was a fortunate juxtaposition. One of the things that I hated in Interstellar was that he can find his daughter in space and time because of love. It doesn’t even let kids find their parents in a crowd. It’s something we know isn’t true and mixing that with General Relativity just makes it seem even more nonsensical. And what’s the theme of A Matter of Life and Death it’s that there’s nothing more powerful than love. So why do I love it? A Matter of Life and Death is a fantasy. This isn’t happening against the backdrop of people trying to discover the secrets of physics but largely in heaven; in a world where someone doesn’t die after a plane crash because an angel screwed up. It’s the ultimate romantic film. It’s about what people want to be true, not what is true.

My pet peeve of peeves is people judging what’s true based on what they want to be true. Nothing should be done to encourage that. I see it every day on Facebook. It’s why people don’t believe in global warming and why they do believe in homeopathy.

I want to watch It’s a Wonderful Life why is there no way to watch it for free online? Of course what I’d really like to do is watch it with someone. Yeah I’m getting the alone for the holidays blues. Maybe somebody will give me an official Red Ryder carbine action BB gun with a compass in the stock and a thing to tell the time. Maybe I’ll just watch a lot of movies. I might head up to Rockefeller Center to see the tree. Have I ever done that Christmas Eve? I must have. I do see the tree every year and need to get to it.

It’s 67° F right now. I just remembered this was not the first time it was this warm this time of year. Ah here it is: Why the sea is boiling hot and whether radiant pigs have wings? Carey and I chased Santa while wearing t-shirts and I maybe even shorts.

It’s really matzoh brei’s turn for breakfast but I think that would be more appropriate on Christmas Day. I will check but I think I have to go shopping for eggs today. I also should do laundry. That means I should finish this and get started.


I signed the Pro-Truth Pledge:
please hold me accountable.





Memories: Not that Horrid Song - May 29, 2018
Wise Madness is Now In Session - May 28, 2018
The NFL and the First Amendment - May 27, 2018
On The Road Again - May 26, 2018
Oliver the Three-Eyed Crow - May 25, 2018



creative commons
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial-Share Alike 3.0 License.
Horvendile December 24, 2015
site search by freefind advanced


Follow on Feedly



about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!