I became insane with long intervals of horrible sanity.
Edgar Allen Poe

The trouble with fighting for human freedom is that one spends most of one's time defending scoundrels. For it is against scoundrels that oppressive laws are first aimed, and oppression must be stopped at the beginning if it is to be stopped at all.
- H. L. Mencken

Many people would sooner die than think; In fact, they do so
-Bertrand Russell

What I have been telling you, from alpha to omega, what is the one great thing the sigil taught me — that everything in life is miraculous. For the sigil taught me that it rests within the power of each of us to awaken at will from a dragging nightmare of life made up of unimportant tasks and tedious useless little habits, to see life as it really is, and to rejoice in its exquisite wonderfulness. If the sigil were proved to be the top of a tomato-can, it would not alter that big fact, nor my fixed faith. No Harrowby, the common names we call things by do not matter — except to show how very dull we are ...
-James Branch Cabell

March 16, 2018 - 2:36 p.m.

Harmonic Convergence

I heard divine music last night, made byI'm With Her, Sara Watkins, Sarah Jarosz, and Aoife O'Donovan. I have previous referred to them as Aoife and the Sara(h)s or Aoife and the Sarai. I decided on a new special plural, Aoife and the Sarangeti. Even when I try and get right down to business I'm distracted by silliness. If I didn't do that how would you know I'm really writing this?

I usually remark that when I see Aoife the only friend I can expect to be there is Kevin. That's not quite accurate, it's just a different group of friends than I usually see. The New York Times wrote about I'm With Her two days ago, In Its Own Quiet Way, I’m With Her Is a Supergroup. The writer had the usual problem describing what the genre is and referred to it as "The Scene." I often call it, "what people who don't know what bluegrass is call bluegrass." Now Prairie Home Companion has morphed into Live From Here with Chris Thile you can consider what's played on the show as the template. For short I'll call it the Thileverse. There were plenty of friends from the Thileverse at the show, some I saw there and some I saw post on Instagram. There was Kevin, Fiddle Steph, Corey, Aoife's bandmate in Crooked Still, Banjo Steph, Banjo Steph's parents and brother, Sandy, Rich, and Reid, Melanie, Hannah who just played John Platt's On Your Radar Tuesday, the bass player from the Human Hands that were also at On Your Radar (I forgot his name), and Ruthy, Aoife's bandmate in Sometymes Why, There were also friends that I more often seen in the Plattiverse/Falcon Ridge community, Gene & Isabel, Marty, Chris, Seth & Emily. Kevin saw Steve Martin, not Budgiedome Steve, the one with an arrow in his head. I bet Paul Krugman was there too. We were all sitting in different places, so I can't use my usual geographic method for remembering who was there. That means I'm missing people. Reid made me happy. He couldn't remember my name, but he knew it was six letters, two syllables and had a hard G. That's just how my mind works. He had never seen my name in print, but the number of letters was part of his image of my name. I'm pretty sure that's not how most people think.

I love Town Hall. I was sitting in the back house left under the balcony and the sound was still crystal clear. It's one of the great places for a concert. This is a band where you want to hear every note. I could enjoy the evening just trying to parse their harmonies. The switch them up on a fine scale in the course of a few measures they'll fluctuate with voices coming to the fore and fading to the back. I'm not a fan of close harmony, it sounds beautiful and it's difficult to do well but it doesn't go anywhere. In addition to their peerless singing they are great instrumentalists. They deliver everything. It was one of the great nights of music.

After the show I met, Kevin, Chris, Seth, and Emily out front. I soon realized I didn't have my phone. I felt all my pants, hoodie, and jacket pockets. It was nowhere. I went back inside to look. It wasn't there. Then I replayed events in my head. I turned the phone off as I'm With Her took the stage and as it was difficult putting in my pants pocket sitting down, and I wasn't wearing my hoodie I put it in the breast pocket of my shirt. That was where it was. Have I mentioned that I'm an idiot?

I went back out front and hung with my friends for a bit then everyone, but Kevin headed home. We waited around a while to see if the band would come out, so we could say hi to Aoife and whoever else we knew but to no avail and we left. I walked with Kevin to Times Square. I could take any yellow line train and he needed the Q. the R came first so we parted ways.

My therapist texted me this morning that she was ill, so my session was cancelled. That allowed me to write this later. I did not have a good night's sleep, I got to bed very late and then was up twice in the night. I didn't feel up to writing till after I had my coffee.

I came up with a few good blogging ideas yesterday; more importantly I put them on my memo app, so I'll remember them. I have nothing on my agenda the next two days, I'll need things to write about.


I signed the Pro-Truth Pledge:
please hold me accountable.





Memories: Not that Horrid Song - May 29, 2018
Wise Madness is Now In Session - May 28, 2018
The NFL and the First Amendment - May 27, 2018
On The Road Again - May 26, 2018
Oliver the Three-Eyed Crow - May 25, 2018



creative commons
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial-Share Alike 3.0 License.
Horvendile March 16, 2018
site search by freefind advanced


Follow on Feedly



about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!