I became insane with long intervals of horrible sanity.
Edgar Allen Poe

The trouble with fighting for human freedom is that one spends most of one's time defending scoundrels. For it is against scoundrels that oppressive laws are first aimed, and oppression must be stopped at the beginning if it is to be stopped at all.
- H. L. Mencken

Many people would sooner die than think; In fact, they do so
-Bertrand Russell

What I have been telling you, from alpha to omega, what is the one great thing the sigil taught me — that everything in life is miraculous. For the sigil taught me that it rests within the power of each of us to awaken at will from a dragging nightmare of life made up of unimportant tasks and tedious useless little habits, to see life as it really is, and to rejoice in its exquisite wonderfulness. If the sigil were proved to be the top of a tomato-can, it would not alter that big fact, nor my fixed faith. No Harrowby, the common names we call things by do not matter — except to show how very dull we are ...
-James Branch Cabell

March 26, 2014 - 11:21 a.m.

Imaginary Friends

I am in a rush now I'm meeting Dave around Noon. He is going to try and fix my computer. It went out again last night. Then when I was on the phone with him it fixed itself. I still can't stand knowing that If I unplug it, it's iffy if I can get it working again.

Yesterday was the first day back from school after vacation. I totally forgot what I was up to in Finite Math. I didn't even give them any homework. But the class went smoothly. I have to prepare some problems for tomorrow though. Oh and I have to email them some problems today. I forgot all about it. Ugh.

Precalculus went great. That I was super prepared for, handout-sheets and everything.

I stopped at Fairway after school then went straight home. I'm getting used to being here and not avoiding being in my room. I made myself a great dinner; Cajun steak, roasted plantain, and the thing that made it special, garlic bread! I haven't been making that as I don't have a garlic press. so what I did was dice the garlic cloves. that worked. I had chocolate truffles for dessert. Now that's a therapy meal.

this morning I got a text from Lori not LORi. She needed help with an honors geometry problem. It was high school math, this should not have been hard but it took me a few minutes to find the key. I'm a bit unhappy about that. Here's the problem

I'll give the answer at the end.

I just talked to Dave. I'm not seeing him today as the problem isn't the one he thought it was. It�s a complete mystery. How can doing nothing make the computer work?

So now for a "let's take a look at what goes on in my brain" edition of Wise Madness. Jurgen the title character of my favorite book enjoys nothing as much as observing the working of his own mind and I'm much the same way. And that's where we'll start observing my brain.

One thing I often do is have imaginary conversations with friends. This might sound like it's something done out of loneliness but it's exactly the opposite. It requires having a friend that I know well enough to fill in her part of the conversation. When I'm feeling lonely the person that isn't there that I talk to is you, My Gentle Readers. The idea is to process things from a different perspective. It make me think about a situation looks to other people. It's a great way of seeing if you are being silly or petty or paranoid. If I'm embarrassed to say it to a close friend then I should have second thoughts about my thoughts. Does that make them third thoughts?

I started telling my friend who wasn't there about another friend. When I hardly talk to anymore and I tried to explain why we never talk. It's because though I amuse her and can connect with her I also annoy her to the point where she disapproves of me. Essentially she doesn't like that she likes me. I then felt the need to defend that friend to the friend I had the imaginary conversation with. OK this is getting tough. Let's give them names. Remember that I use female pronouns wherever the gender is not specified. It doesn't mean that either friend was female. So to mix things up let's now tive them male names. I'm having the imaginary conversation with Oscar about Felix. So I tried to defend Felix to Oscar. I said that Felix is a wonderful person but that he can be annoying. And then it hit me. I pretty much feel about Felix the way that Felix feels about me. The difference is that I see Felix as basically good with a side of annoying. Felix sees me as basically annoying with a side of good. So that's why I don't keep in touch with Felix.

As soon as I realized that it stopped being an imaginary conversation with Oscar and became an mental Wise Madness entry that I'm now making a real one. Follow? This entire process amuses me greatly. It probably annoys you.

So I'll show you pictures from the John Fullbright show. This is the opener Kristin Diable.

Does anyone else see the resemblance to a young Bo Derek, Linda Evans, or Ursula Andress? Is John Derek going to propose to her?


John looking dramatic on the guitar


John reaching for his drink that he put on the piano that he shouldn't have put on the piano.


Tickling the ivories.

I have forgotten everything else I was going to write. I better make breakfast now. I also have to take out something to eat for dinner. .

Now I'll give the answer to the math problem It's square root of 416. Don't see why? I'll give you a hint now and give a full solution tomorrow. The hint is don't complete the square complete the rectangle.



I signed the Pro-Truth Pledge:
please hold me accountable.





Memories: Not that Horrid Song - May 29, 2018
Wise Madness is Now In Session - May 28, 2018
The NFL and the First Amendment - May 27, 2018
On The Road Again - May 26, 2018
Oliver the Three-Eyed Crow - May 25, 2018



creative commons
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial-Share Alike 3.0 License.
Horvendile March 26, 2014
site search by freefind advanced


Follow on Feedly



about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!