I became insane with long intervals of horrible sanity.
Edgar Allen Poe

The trouble with fighting for human freedom is that one spends most of one's time defending scoundrels. For it is against scoundrels that oppressive laws are first aimed, and oppression must be stopped at the beginning if it is to be stopped at all.
- H. L. Mencken

Many people would sooner die than think; In fact, they do so
-Bertrand Russell

What I have been telling you, from alpha to omega, what is the one great thing the sigil taught me — that everything in life is miraculous. For the sigil taught me that it rests within the power of each of us to awaken at will from a dragging nightmare of life made up of unimportant tasks and tedious useless little habits, to see life as it really is, and to rejoice in its exquisite wonderfulness. If the sigil were proved to be the top of a tomato-can, it would not alter that big fact, nor my fixed faith. No Harrowby, the common names we call things by do not matter — except to show how very dull we are ...
-James Branch Cabell

2002-02-18 - 11:57 p.m.

crimes and misdemenors

My father is getting worse and I'm getting worried. He wants to go back to the hospital and I think that would be a good idea. He can't stand up on his own. I have to help lift him every time he wants to get up. His doctor says he isn't sick enough. He is seeing another doctor tomorrow. He just keeps getting weaker, something has to be done.

Back in January my mother lost her keys including the remote for the alarm. I finally had it replaced today so I don't have to worry about walking away with it now. That was too much pressure. I have a tendency to do things like that.

When I saw Richard Barone the other night I saw that Pal Shazar is going to be playing on at the Cutting Room on Thursday. She is going to be opening for her ex Jules Shear. Except for own song at the Gift of Music show I haven't seen her since she moved to California. As I related in an old entry the one time I tried to see her it was snowed out. I wonder if she'll remember me.

Tomorrow school is on a Monday schedule so I have class. It will be nice to not have to run home right after school. I'm going to try and pick up tickets for Patti Smith's show on Saturday. I hope it isn't sold out.

I heard something about NYPIRG today that I'm not sure if I wrote about before. If I didn't maybe Gella did. They are lobbying to have one of the most ridiculous federal laws changed. If someone is convicted of a drug offence they are forever barred from getting tuition assistance or college loans. The stated reason is to fight drugs and politicians will go to any lengths to prove they aren't soft on drugs. I guess murder is OK since a convicted murderer can get all the Pell grants and student loans he wants. The effect of the law is to take the future away from people who screw up once. It should be called the "Lets try to turn drug users into hopeless addicts act." Of course part of the appeal of it is that the vast majority of those convicted of drug related offences are poor and minorities. People who can afford a private lawyer can usually get away without a conviction going down on there record. I would love to give the people who think of things like this a lie detector test. I don't believe that they really are stupid enough to believe any of what they say.

A little Enron rant before I go. Our beloved president appointed an incredible number of Enron executives to government positions. Considering that the most charitable thing that can be said about them was that they were incompetent, and that they might be corrupt, I'd love to ask him if he thinks perhaps that wasn't the wisest move on his part. Why aren't people asking for the resignation of all of them?

This wasn't the most personal entry ever. I realize that. My mood is someplace strange now and I don't think I could write anything that wouldn't be totally banal about it now.


I signed the Pro-Truth Pledge:
please hold me accountable.





Memories: Not that Horrid Song - May 29, 2018
Wise Madness is Now In Session - May 28, 2018
The NFL and the First Amendment - May 27, 2018
On The Road Again - May 26, 2018
Oliver the Three-Eyed Crow - May 25, 2018



creative commons
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial-Share Alike 3.0 License.
Horvendile 2002-02-18
site search by freefind advanced


Follow on Feedly



about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!