I became insane with long intervals of horrible sanity.
Edgar Allen Poe

The trouble with fighting for human freedom is that one spends most of one's time defending scoundrels. For it is against scoundrels that oppressive laws are first aimed, and oppression must be stopped at the beginning if it is to be stopped at all.
- H. L. Mencken

Many people would sooner die than think; In fact, they do so
-Bertrand Russell

What I have been telling you, from alpha to omega, what is the one great thing the sigil taught me — that everything in life is miraculous. For the sigil taught me that it rests within the power of each of us to awaken at will from a dragging nightmare of life made up of unimportant tasks and tedious useless little habits, to see life as it really is, and to rejoice in its exquisite wonderfulness. If the sigil were proved to be the top of a tomato-can, it would not alter that big fact, nor my fixed faith. No Harrowby, the common names we call things by do not matter — except to show how very dull we are ...
-James Branch Cabell

2003-01-17 - 12:59 a.m.

I Kea! You Keah! We all Keah for Ikea!

I have given in to peer pressure and gotten a Live Journal. Guess what my User Name is. I don't actually intend on updating it much. I'm going to use this for my real entries and FHDC for nonsense. I got it so I could have a friends list and see what you are updating. If you are on my Diaryland Buddy List and want me to read your live journal let me know your username and I'll add you as a friend. So far all I have are Carey, Jaci, and Leah. You can add me as a friend too. That will make me feel popular and might get me to actually update my journal.

I spent today with Lisa. I took her shopping. I drove west to her apartment in Bay Ridge, picked her up and drove back east to Long Island so she could shop at Home Depot and Ikea.

We ended up not getting most of the things on her list but we did get a ceiling fan that wasn't on her list. It should have been though, she's wanted one since last summer. We did get some small things at Ikea and I almost talked her into getting a computer desk. What she is using now is not very ergonomic. She wasn't sure what to do with her desk though so we put off buying it. We did buy a few things including a great big teddy bear which was ridiculously cheap.

We then went to the adjacent mall to shop for towels and found some she liked at Macy's.

Dinner was next on the agenda. I took her to Donovan's my favorite local restaurant. They were packed as usual but we got the one open table without a wait. The food was great but Lisa couldn't finish it all and had to take home a doggie bag.

When we got back to Lisa's house I parked by a pump (fire hydrant to you people outside NYC) and we unloaded the car. There was a lot of stuff but we managed to get it all to the lobby in two trips by me and one by Lisa. I then went and parked the car. When I got back it was in time for disaster to strike. The doggie bag leaked all over the towels and the teddy bear. She's going to have to wash them before she uses them. When I looked at her computer setup we were able to figure out a great way to arrange it so she'll have room for the new computer desk and her old desk. She's going to have a real work station set up where she'll have lots of space and all the tools she'll need. We are going back to Ikea next week. Too bad you can't buy from Ikea online.

After that I helped her tweak Mozilla so she could make the best use of it. I just showed her what Lawrence showed me.

When I got home I expected to find a message from Leah but I didn't. A few minutes after I got in the phone rang and it was her. So I got a nice talk with her before she went to sleep.

I haven't had a good political rant for a while and I won't today. I'm not really sure why though. Maybe I'll feel like it again soon. I hope Dubya doesn't feel neglected in the mean time.


I signed the Pro-Truth Pledge:
please hold me accountable.





Memories: Not that Horrid Song - May 29, 2018
Wise Madness is Now In Session - May 28, 2018
The NFL and the First Amendment - May 27, 2018
On The Road Again - May 26, 2018
Oliver the Three-Eyed Crow - May 25, 2018



creative commons
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial-Share Alike 3.0 License.
Horvendile 2003-01-17
site search by freefind advanced


Follow on Feedly



about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!