I became insane with long intervals of horrible sanity.
Edgar Allen Poe

The trouble with fighting for human freedom is that one spends most of one's time defending scoundrels. For it is against scoundrels that oppressive laws are first aimed, and oppression must be stopped at the beginning if it is to be stopped at all.
- H. L. Mencken

Many people would sooner die than think; In fact, they do so
-Bertrand Russell

What I have been telling you, from alpha to omega, what is the one great thing the sigil taught me — that everything in life is miraculous. For the sigil taught me that it rests within the power of each of us to awaken at will from a dragging nightmare of life made up of unimportant tasks and tedious useless little habits, to see life as it really is, and to rejoice in its exquisite wonderfulness. If the sigil were proved to be the top of a tomato-can, it would not alter that big fact, nor my fixed faith. No Harrowby, the common names we call things by do not matter — except to show how very dull we are ...
-James Branch Cabell

November 01, 2015 - 11:57 a.m.

Unhinged!

Thank you return to standard time, I slept late aging today but thanks to moving the clocks back I woke up at 9:15. I had a bad night because as I closed my computer to get ready for bed one hinge broke so now the lid of laptop is loose and I'm afraid it might break off any moment. I hope the extended warrantee I bought is still good. But even if it is I worry that I won't have my computer for two weeks. As I spend all of my time on it if I don’t have it I'll go nuts. It's my link to the outside world. It's also my TV set. Let's recap in the last month my phone and computer broke and my leg first got damaged and then infected. Did I open some cursed tomb without knowing it? It's sad that there are quite a few people that would be looking for supernatural reasons for it.

In addition to all that I stayed home last night to watch the Mets and you know what happened there. Yes they Mets blew the game in the 8th and lost. They are now behind 1-3. Know what I’m still happy that I get to watch the games. It's baseball that means it's good. Even though I die a little each time the team loses it's a good death. It's what makes the winning so good. The Broadband Hog struck a few times but I was able to watch most of the game fine.

Earlier in the day I did my one Halloween activity, I watched a horror film. I checked out HBO and Amazon Prime to see what was available. I really wanted an old Universal Horror film or at least something I watched as a kid. I ended up with something I think of as new, I remember when it came out, Night of the Living Dead. It is actually older than Dracula (1931) was the first time I saw it. It's not even close. But it is surprisingly undated. Yes the radio they listened to was old even for then and the TV set had rabbit ears, the exact rabbit ears I had, but I don't think there's anything jarring to a modern viewer. Its main character is African American and that is never even mentioned. The women are a bit passive but not to an extreme extent. The one thing that struck me was the characters smoking.

I love that the characters aren't idiots. They act like people under extreme stress. Barbara the first one we meet is in shock for most of the film. Ben the hero, the one we identify with is on top of things but has lapses that are understandable. You can see his struggles dealing with Barbara. He wants to shout, "Just do it!" but he knows that will make her shock even worse. We see the struggle. Even the character we all hate, Harry, is not an idiot. He does bad things but under extreme stress and his plans are not irrational.

The film holds up, it's still scary. In some ways it's even better than it was at first viewing. Back in 1968 it was over the top graphic, now it's restrained. It shows what can be done with a good script and good directing and a shoestring budget. It helps that the actors don't look like actors. It's not the usual group of super attractive people being menaced. Everyone is ordinary looking.

I was going to watch a second film, The Asphyx but never got around to it. Have any of you ever seen it? It's one of the literate British science fiction and horror films of the 50s to 70s. I would love to have a film festival with The Terrornaughts, Crack in the World, The Day the Earth Caught Fire, Curse of the Demon, the Quatermass films, The Asphyx, and Captain Kronus Vampire Hunter. Raise your hand if you've seen any of them.

I did leave the house, I needed to buy more bandages for my leg. I forgot my phone or I might have taken pictures. My neighborhood is primarily Caribbean immigrants but the kids in costume looked just like they do in Middle America. Pat Robertson thinks Halloween is about Satanism or even ancient pagan rituals. It's not about All Saints Day eve. Buffy understood it. Halloween is come as you aren't day. It's not about anything underlying but about candy, costumes, and horror movies. That's three great things. It's not about anything serious but about fun. Again we learn from Buffy that it's a snoozer for vampires. It's for the rest of us

My leg seems to be improving. I might go out for real today. I just need a good reason to go out. I could go food shopping. I don't know what I'm doing for dinner yet. I guess if I take a burger out now it will be defrosted by dinner time.

OK now it's time for brunch. Well it's before noon so I guess I have time to make grits ala Horvendile. But I don't have the cheese I like using in it. I still think I'll go that way. Or I could make pancakes. I haven't done that in ages! You'll find out tomorrow. For now farewell wherever you may fare till your eyries receive you at your journey's end. That’s the polite thing to say among eagles.


I signed the Pro-Truth Pledge:
please hold me accountable.





Memories: Not that Horrid Song - May 29, 2018
Wise Madness is Now In Session - May 28, 2018
The NFL and the First Amendment - May 27, 2018
On The Road Again - May 26, 2018
Oliver the Three-Eyed Crow - May 25, 2018



creative commons
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial-Share Alike 3.0 License.
Horvendile November 01, 2015
site search by freefind advanced


Follow on Feedly



about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!