I became insane with long intervals of horrible sanity.
Edgar Allen Poe

The trouble with fighting for human freedom is that one spends most of one's time defending scoundrels. For it is against scoundrels that oppressive laws are first aimed, and oppression must be stopped at the beginning if it is to be stopped at all.
- H. L. Mencken

Many people would sooner die than think; In fact, they do so
-Bertrand Russell

What I have been telling you, from alpha to omega, what is the one great thing the sigil taught me — that everything in life is miraculous. For the sigil taught me that it rests within the power of each of us to awaken at will from a dragging nightmare of life made up of unimportant tasks and tedious useless little habits, to see life as it really is, and to rejoice in its exquisite wonderfulness. If the sigil were proved to be the top of a tomato-can, it would not alter that big fact, nor my fixed faith. No Harrowby, the common names we call things by do not matter — except to show how very dull we are ...
-James Branch Cabell

July 29, 2016 - 3:25 p.m.

Honor the Rain

This is ridiculous. How did I waste so much time? It's 2:36 and I have to get to my PO Box by 5:30 which means leaving by 4:00 and I have to write this and shower. I'm an idiot. Well we knew that already. I will try to not give short shrift to the events of yesterday. I will skip the 500 words I had planned on the details of my commuting.

I had Therapy at 3:15 yesterday. That meant leaving here a little before 1:00. That's because of bus and train schedules. Most of the time is spent waiting. There was a 50-minute delay on the train and I still got there 5 minutes early.

I love my new therapist. I was nervous about seeing her as I'd have to tell he a failure on my part. She handled it so much better than my old one. She simply gave me strategies to use to learn to handle the situation and doesn't expect me to do it in one shot. We're building up to it.

I had to walk a mile and a half from the train station to the hospital and then back again afterward. It was hot. I forgot my sun screen. I did remember my big hat. It's good for my mental health, it gives me a feeling of accomplishment.

I took the MetroNorth from Harrison to Grand Central, no stop at home. I went to see Honor Finnegan at Rockwood Music Hall. This was originally going to be her show but she converted it into a fundraiser for Nurse-Family Partnership of New York and invited her friends to play. For those of you just tuning in, Honor was caught in a flash flood in Texas. Her car was swept away down a river with her in it. Through clear thinking, physical ability, and luck, she survived. So the event last night was called Stormy Weather and all the songs had to do with water, storms, and floods. The performers in as close to the order of appearance and I can remember, so not very close to reality, were:

Honor Finnegan – Stormy Weather
Karyn Oliver – Something from the Commitments
Villa Palagonia – Riders on the Storm
Bev Grant – Have You Ever Seen the Rain
Sharon Goldman – Rain
Addie Brownlee – Shelter from the Storm
Marci Geller – Totally ridiculous but I forgot which Joni Mitchell song
Karen Dahlstrom – Allen Toussaint Song, forgot which one.
Scott Wolfson – Bridge Over Troubled Water
The Ensemble – Wade in the Water
I'm confident about the first three and the last two. The rest not so much. I should have taken pictures of everyone but I decided early on to be a civilian and just watch. I got a few.

Do I remember any of the songs? I'll put that next to the names. That wasn't bad.

This was as might be expected a gathering of the tribe. I love gatherings of the tribes. There were so many friends there. As usual I sat with Fred, he was joined by his friend Josephine. Coco and Bruce were at the table to our right. Who else did I talk to? Shannon, Peter and Paula and the always present, people I'm blanking on. Hey, I remember people by visualizing where they sat and I was in the front row and it was dark so I didn't get a good view of the rest.

After the show a bunch of us went out for dinner. That's the third time in the last few weeks starting with my birthday. The dinner party, I can cheat by looking at pictures but let's see if I can do this through visualization; Allison, Joe, Karen, Gidge, Katherine, Karyn, Claude, Scott, Mya, Honor, and Marci. I looked at the pic. I got them all! That was clockwise going around the table starting with Allison who was directly across from me.

We talked about the election, our families, friends, and not much music. Scott and I discussed where Game of Thrones is going. One of my things is that Dany has the only air force in Westeros, the dragons, she wins. Scott has read the books so he had to be careful to not give me spoilers. I'll do the same for My Gentle Readers. Half the table had an interesting discussion on who is normal? Is anyone? I say yes, I'm just not friends with them.

We ended up staying pretty late so once again I missed the last bus. I hate having to take a cab but I love the things that make me miss it. I have very cool friends.

OK, I kept that short, I didn't tell you what we hate or all the buses and trains I took. I told you what matters, I heard great music and spent time so many of my favorite people Oh and I got lots and lots of hugs. I got the birthday hug that Coco owed me.

Now to shower and get out of here fast.


I signed the Pro-Truth Pledge:
please hold me accountable.





Memories: Not that Horrid Song - May 29, 2018
Wise Madness is Now In Session - May 28, 2018
The NFL and the First Amendment - May 27, 2018
On The Road Again - May 26, 2018
Oliver the Three-Eyed Crow - May 25, 2018



creative commons
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial-Share Alike 3.0 License.
Horvendile July 29, 2016
site search by freefind advanced


Follow on Feedly



about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!