I became insane with long intervals of horrible sanity.
Edgar Allen Poe

The trouble with fighting for human freedom is that one spends most of one's time defending scoundrels. For it is against scoundrels that oppressive laws are first aimed, and oppression must be stopped at the beginning if it is to be stopped at all.
- H. L. Mencken

Many people would sooner die than think; In fact, they do so
-Bertrand Russell

What I have been telling you, from alpha to omega, what is the one great thing the sigil taught me — that everything in life is miraculous. For the sigil taught me that it rests within the power of each of us to awaken at will from a dragging nightmare of life made up of unimportant tasks and tedious useless little habits, to see life as it really is, and to rejoice in its exquisite wonderfulness. If the sigil were proved to be the top of a tomato-can, it would not alter that big fact, nor my fixed faith. No Harrowby, the common names we call things by do not matter — except to show how very dull we are ...
-James Branch Cabell

August 13, 2015 - 12:18 p.m.

Terminal Man

Last you heard I was an idiot that left my computer charger at the WFDU studio and my computer was running out of juice. Fortunately Brian was coming into the City and offered to pick it up for me; all I had to do was meet him at Grand Central Terminal, one of the easiest places for me to get to, it's just one train. I was supposed to meet him at 3:45, I arrived at 3:45. Yes I'm that good. The problem was Brian's train left at 3:53 and it took us a while to find that out. So I had to shove him on the train and not let him say goodbyes. He'd have missed it otherwise. There was no time to spare. Hey I'm an expert commuter. I know how much time you need to do things.

I then headed to Pathmark at Atlantic Terminal, it was clearly a Terminal day, for some much needed shopping. I needed bacon! I also needed bagels. I googled, "best bagels Brooklyn." Yelp said "Bergen Bagels, just 0.2 miles from the Barkley center. Why they put a subway stop so close I will never get. I just walked it I got bagels to last me to Monday. So here's the thing, they are more than twice the price I pay on Mondays at my bagel place on University Place in the Village and they are not at all particularly good. They are at best average, nowhere near as good as Main Street Bagels in South Flushing, or is that Kew Gardens Hills? From there I headed home. The entire trip took only two hour and fifteen minutes. Not bad at all.

I only got about four hours of sleep the night before so somewhere in there I took a nap. It wasn't very long. Then I went out for a late show, a side project of Miss Tess, Honky and Ladytown. It was at Bar Chord in Ditmas Park. I used to live right there but I still got confused. There are two bars on Cortelyou with live music, Bar Chord and Sycamore, and I confused them. I actually asked someone where it was. I would have found it anyone as I knew I would pass it. It's just that as I don't see well I was afraid I might walk past it.

The show was slated to start at 10 PM. I arrived at 9:59. I planned on getting their earlier but made bad subway connections. It takes three trains, the to the to the . I should have just walked. It would have only taken another 15 minutes.

Tess did not promote this show much. I only knew about it because she made one post on Instagram. It wasn't on her Facebook. It felt like a secret show.

Tess is one of my friends that deserted civilization, e.g. Brooklyn, for Nashville. There are far too many of them in the last year. I had to miss her farewell show and I think one return show. I wasn't going to miss this one.

Bar Chord is just a small bar with a space next to the bar for the musicians. No stage, no back room. They are right by the door when you come in. No real comfortable spot to see them from. I started on a stool by a table up front then moved to the bar seats which have backs. The sound was pretty good and the band was great. I didn't know what to expect. I think this was the reunion for an old band she was in. She played upright bass! I never saw her do that. She sang lead on only half the songs, the guitar player, yes he has name, I just don't know it, sang lead on the others. There was also fiddle and drums. I'd call the music Honkytonk. I bet you could guess that from the band name. It was also very good. I was dancing in my seat.

The problem was I was very tired, it was late, and I wasn't physically comfortable. I cut out after the first set. It was around 11:15. I tried to stay but I could feel myself fading. I could also feel my general emotional state declining. More music would have helped but during the break it wasn't good. So I headed home. I got back a little after midnight. When I got in bed I felt better. No that's not the first thing I did. I had chocolate therapy. I had Trader Joe's Cheerios with chocolate syrup. I also had some dark chocolate candy. I know how to make myself feel better. Then I went to bed and that was what I needed.

This morning the WFUV question of the day was songs about meteors, shooting stars, and falling stars. I was stuck; all I could think of was Connor Garvey's Meteor. On the blog Corny called me out and said he was disappointed in me. I knew that meant I forgot a song by someone I often suggest. He then played River of Fallen Stars and said, "Nobody suggested this, not even Gordon?" Yes I was publically shamed. On the bright side the expectation was there that I would come up with it. Who was the pitcher who said, "If you win 20 games people expect you to do it every year."

I have nothing on my calendar today. I should go out and enjoy the nice weather, take a walk Maybe I'll go to Prospect Park. Where else can I go? Any suggestions? I'll make myself a good dinner. I think it's barbecue chicken.

Don't forget you can hear my radio gig for the next couple of weeks. Just follow this link, Sports Don't Sleep. Yes it gets the title wrong. But it's me on Brian's show and while I could be smoother on the air I am proud of the music I played and the flow. I'm working on a Halloween show now.


I signed the Pro-Truth Pledge:
please hold me accountable.





Memories: Not that Horrid Song - May 29, 2018
Wise Madness is Now In Session - May 28, 2018
The NFL and the First Amendment - May 27, 2018
On The Road Again - May 26, 2018
Oliver the Three-Eyed Crow - May 25, 2018



creative commons
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial-Share Alike 3.0 License.
Horvendile August 13, 2015
site search by freefind advanced


Follow on Feedly



about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!