I became insane with long intervals of horrible sanity.
Edgar Allen Poe

The trouble with fighting for human freedom is that one spends most of one's time defending scoundrels. For it is against scoundrels that oppressive laws are first aimed, and oppression must be stopped at the beginning if it is to be stopped at all.
- H. L. Mencken

Many people would sooner die than think; In fact, they do so
-Bertrand Russell

What I have been telling you, from alpha to omega, what is the one great thing the sigil taught me — that everything in life is miraculous. For the sigil taught me that it rests within the power of each of us to awaken at will from a dragging nightmare of life made up of unimportant tasks and tedious useless little habits, to see life as it really is, and to rejoice in its exquisite wonderfulness. If the sigil were proved to be the top of a tomato-can, it would not alter that big fact, nor my fixed faith. No Harrowby, the common names we call things by do not matter — except to show how very dull we are ...
-James Branch Cabell

April 24, 2015 - 11:30 a.m.

Home is the Voluneer Home from the Pledge Drive


Yesterday was the first day after the drive. I never got further than the kitchen. My body appreciated it. I was going to go shopping in the afternoon but felt tired and took a nap instead. I'm actually rested now. And my digestive system is doing better too. I had bathroom issues all week but it went away yesterday even before I ate anything so it wasn't the diet. But I did enjoy my home cooking. For brunch I had grits ala Gordon aka Grits, eggs, cheese, and Taylor ham, all mixed together. I don't cook the eggs first, I just throw them into the mix. It comes out doughy. It is delicious. I even splurged and had a bagel with butter. Then for dinner I made the sweet garlic chicken and mashed potatoes. There's a problem with that chicken. It's so good that I want it every day. Nothing else I can make lives up to it and I love my cooking. I am going to try and add the garlic and brown sugar mixture to mashed potatoes. I am not sure how to go about that. I think I have to heat it in the oven to get it properly caramelized. I could try it on the stovetop. I could also put it on other kinds of potatoes. Or pretty much anything.

I set my alarm on weekdays for 8:30 to play the WFUV Question of the Day. Because they are setting up a new website the game has been different the last week and a half. Instead of Corny giving a topic and everyone coming up with songs on it. Corny has picked the songs and we have to come up with the topic. But that means I don't have to get up earlier to suggest songs. So when my alarm went off at 8:30 I said, "Stop" and went back to sleep. I love that I just have to tell it to stop. And then I woke up on my own just as he was about to p lay the set. It was songs about the subway for the subway series. He did not play Christine Lavin's Waiting for the B Train as I would have suggested. Damn I love that as a topic. I hope he does it again. I'd also suggest 'Simmon by Kristin Andeassen. It's a pastoral song filled with bucolic images and then she throws in "You ride the train and I'll just walk home.

I set up the Facebook even for the next John Platt's On Your Radar, the guests are Sleeping Bee, Meg Braun, and Fred Gillen Jr. & Matt Turk. I'm getting good at that. I couldn't use two of the pics I was given. I create an even picture every month and I need a square aspect ratio to do it. I could not crop the pictures I was given and found my own.

I'm glad I could use Meg's pic, it's a good one. She looks almost as good as she does in real life. I'm seeing her this Sunday at First Acoustics. You should go to that show. Meg's leaving us for Nashville. This is her final full show here, On Your Radar is an aperitif.

I'm going to lots of good shows this weekend. Tonight it's Harpeth Rising and Saturday it's The Murphy Beds Jean Rohe opening.

The Mets are doing great and that's making me feel bad. Why? I am not part of it. I used to go to 20 games a year and watch most of the rest of TV. Now I can't do either. I read about them and know about the team but that's not the same. I don't think this success will last. They don't have the hitting to maintain it, but it could. The unlikely happens. The Mets should have never won in 1969 but they did. I want to be excited. I want to feel more alive when they win and yes I want to die a little when they lose. You need the latter to experience the former.

I am going to keep this short today. The things on my mind are not things I can write about. I blog out of necessity, there are things inside me that need to get out. I don't look for things to write about. I don't write for the sake of filling a page. Today I don't want to let out what wants to get out. I'm very open but I have my limits. Wow I'm tempted to write about that but I can't as it ends up coming back to the things I don't want to let out.

I'll leave you with a video of Harpeth Rising who I am seeing tonight.



I signed the Pro-Truth Pledge:
please hold me accountable.





Memories: Not that Horrid Song - May 29, 2018
Wise Madness is Now In Session - May 28, 2018
The NFL and the First Amendment - May 27, 2018
On The Road Again - May 26, 2018
Oliver the Three-Eyed Crow - May 25, 2018



creative commons
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial-Share Alike 3.0 License.
Horvendile April 24, 2015
site search by freefind advanced


Follow on Feedly



about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!