I became insane with long intervals of horrible sanity.
Edgar Allen Poe

The trouble with fighting for human freedom is that one spends most of one's time defending scoundrels. For it is against scoundrels that oppressive laws are first aimed, and oppression must be stopped at the beginning if it is to be stopped at all.
- H. L. Mencken

Many people would sooner die than think; In fact, they do so
-Bertrand Russell

What I have been telling you, from alpha to omega, what is the one great thing the sigil taught me — that everything in life is miraculous. For the sigil taught me that it rests within the power of each of us to awaken at will from a dragging nightmare of life made up of unimportant tasks and tedious useless little habits, to see life as it really is, and to rejoice in its exquisite wonderfulness. If the sigil were proved to be the top of a tomato-can, it would not alter that big fact, nor my fixed faith. No Harrowby, the common names we call things by do not matter — except to show how very dull we are ...
-James Branch Cabell

June 08, 2016 - 7:56 p.m.

Hamburgers and Elections

I'm sleepy. How will this affect what I'm writing? I'm not sure. I'm also not sure if I'm sleepy because of my meds. I fell asleep in a group today and there were a few other times in the last week I seemed sleepy when I shouldn't. I'll talk to my doctor on Friday.

Know what's hard about blogging while I'm program? I can't write about what happens there. I would love to discuss a discussion that went on but I can't. Know what I can always talk about? Food. Food likes me.

A great benefit of being on City Island is that the Snug has half-priced hamburgers on Tuesdays. It's not just a burger, it comes with fries. Not only that but it's very good. To top it off the Met game is on the TV. I ate with my hosts. It's just two blocks from the apartment. How can I resist?

So of course what did they serve for lunch this morning? Hamburger and fries. Good thing it takes me a lot to satiate on a food. The lunch burger was good but the fries weren't; they tasted like they had been kept warm for hours.

How know what I can talk about at program? Conversations that don't happen in group. One young woman loves Broadway including classic old things. We talk a lot about that. She wanted me to sit with her because I'm fun. That's always good to hear. We had an exercise where we had to name two good qualities of ourselves. I've said it before, let's see if you know. What are the two qualities that I possess, or think I possess that I care the most about? Do you have a guess? It's being intelligent and funny.

Hillary has pretty much wrapped up the nomination. It's not official but a done deal. So now what? I know that 25% of the Bernie supporters say they won't vote for Hillary and I heard that one poll says 20% will vote for Trump. First off never believe one poll. Do you really thing that one in five Sanders supporters will vote for an out and out racist? I know one but he's a misogynist that speaks the Men's Rights line. He's also Hispanic. He's nothing like any other Bernie supporter I know. There are a couple I know that might vote for Trump just so they can say, "I told you Hillary couldn't beat Trump!" But as much as they hate Hillary I can't see them doing that. What I can see is them telling pollsters that they'd do that to strengthen their position. They have a passionate hatred of Hillary but they'll vote for Jill Stein. They are not misogynists. Things will settle down.

If Hillary wins it will be the first time in my voting lifetime that the candidate I supported in the primary wins the election. But you know what? The democrats I didn't support in the primaries, Carter, Clinton, and Obama were far better than any of the Republicans. The Clinton administration is the only time since the 70s that the real median income has increased. If Obama hadn't started with the economy in freefall things would be very different. You want to make things much better? Get congress back in Democratic hands. Obama could never get anything done through legislation since his first year in office when the economy was in freefall. So Bernie supporters, it isn't the end of the world. It's never the end of the world. We live in a democracy with a diverse population; How often do you like the highest rated TV shows or the bestselling record? I hardly ever do. Your candidate not winning doesn't mean democracy isn't working, it's a result of it working. I first voted 40 years ago. I'll be 1 for 11. Well OK I supported Obama and Clinton in the reelections so maybe call it 1 for 9. I'm pretty far from standard issue so that's as good as I can expect. So hush now, peace man, the nominee is here.


I signed the Pro-Truth Pledge:
please hold me accountable.





Memories: Not that Horrid Song - May 29, 2018
Wise Madness is Now In Session - May 28, 2018
The NFL and the First Amendment - May 27, 2018
On The Road Again - May 26, 2018
Oliver the Three-Eyed Crow - May 25, 2018



creative commons
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial-Share Alike 3.0 License.
Horvendile June 08, 2016
site search by freefind advanced


Follow on Feedly



about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!