I became insane with long intervals of horrible sanity.
Edgar Allen Poe

The trouble with fighting for human freedom is that one spends most of one's time defending scoundrels. For it is against scoundrels that oppressive laws are first aimed, and oppression must be stopped at the beginning if it is to be stopped at all.
- H. L. Mencken

Many people would sooner die than think; In fact, they do so
-Bertrand Russell

What I have been telling you, from alpha to omega, what is the one great thing the sigil taught me — that everything in life is miraculous. For the sigil taught me that it rests within the power of each of us to awaken at will from a dragging nightmare of life made up of unimportant tasks and tedious useless little habits, to see life as it really is, and to rejoice in its exquisite wonderfulness. If the sigil were proved to be the top of a tomato-can, it would not alter that big fact, nor my fixed faith. No Harrowby, the common names we call things by do not matter — except to show how very dull we are ...
-James Branch Cabell

January 28, 2018 - 10:15 a.m.

Google Gets Me

I thought I wouldn't have time to write today but I do. That would be great if I had done something worth writing about yesterday. I have one major I idea I want to explore but I decided that will require research. That might just be avoidance. Avoidance is my go to emotional defense. Much of therapy is learning how to substitute less harmful ones. I'm learning to avoid avoidance. In this case waiting is right; if I want the essay to be effective I need to be more prepared.

The reason I wrote late yesterday is that instead of getting out of bed when I woke up I went back to sleep. I spent the next three hours surfing. That's what I call the state where you flit between sleep and the hypnopompic state; you are not quite awake or asleep. I can't always do that but when I can it's very pleasant. I did it for half an hour today. It has a lot in common with lucid dreaming, it might even include lucid dreaming. If I were a mystic I would think I'm having visions or that god was speaking to me. I'm not, Occam's razor people, it's much more likely it's my mind playing tricks; tricks that are entertaining and soothing.

I finished my binge watch of Dark Matter. I don't remember how I heard of it. I must have been recommended on something I read. I have not heard any of my friends discuss it. My taste in TV often runs counter to my social circle. The show was canceled after three seasons with not very much resolved. In the last few episodes major new mysteries were revealed, and I'll never know how they pan out.

I might have discovered the show through Google Now. It's my favorite cyber plaything. Google knows me so well. It shows me "Cards" that it thinks I'll be interested in. I don't read them all but there are enough to keep me coming back. When I don't like a card, I can reject either the topic or the source. Here are the topics on the card queue now.

The New York Knicks
The Flash
Donald Trump
Marvel Comics
The NBA
Jared Kushner
DACA
Stephen Colbert
The Beatles
Sean Hannity
Google
DeMarcus Cousins
Grammy Awards
Joni Mitchell
The Beach Boys
Some things I've listed as interests, others Google inferred. I never said I was interested in Sean Hannity, but the article is on him losing his twitter account. That might be interesting. It didn't happen this time, but my favorites are when people I know personally pop up in the feed.

I have to get going. I'm going to the New York Times Travel Show today. Allison Scola's Experience Sicily has a booth and her band Villa Palagonia is going to be playing. I wonder if there will be food sampling. I bet there will be. This is something I would have liked to do with a friend but that was not to be. It should be fun anyway. It's at the Javits Center. I haven't been there in ages.


I signed the Pro-Truth Pledge:
please hold me accountable.





Memories: Not that Horrid Song - May 29, 2018
Wise Madness is Now In Session - May 28, 2018
The NFL and the First Amendment - May 27, 2018
On The Road Again - May 26, 2018
Oliver the Three-Eyed Crow - May 25, 2018



creative commons
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial-Share Alike 3.0 License.
Horvendile January 28, 2018
site search by freefind advanced


Follow on Feedly



about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!