I became insane with long intervals of horrible sanity.
Edgar Allen Poe

The trouble with fighting for human freedom is that one spends most of one's time defending scoundrels. For it is against scoundrels that oppressive laws are first aimed, and oppression must be stopped at the beginning if it is to be stopped at all.
- H. L. Mencken

Many people would sooner die than think; In fact, they do so
-Bertrand Russell

What I have been telling you, from alpha to omega, what is the one great thing the sigil taught me — that everything in life is miraculous. For the sigil taught me that it rests within the power of each of us to awaken at will from a dragging nightmare of life made up of unimportant tasks and tedious useless little habits, to see life as it really is, and to rejoice in its exquisite wonderfulness. If the sigil were proved to be the top of a tomato-can, it would not alter that big fact, nor my fixed faith. No Harrowby, the common names we call things by do not matter — except to show how very dull we are ...
-James Branch Cabell

March 13, 2014 - 1:52 p.m.

My Precious

It is amazing how much time I'm capable of wasting. If there were a Nobel Prize in procrastination I'd have won it so many times they'd give me a lifetime achievement award and ban me from winning again. I'm going to write the Nobel committee and suggest they start the prize � tomorrow.

Yesterday's plan was to do laundry then go clothes shopping. It rained. That changed the plan to not going outside. While in former days that would be a bad sign for my mental health as I avoid staying home where I am now I think this counts as neutral.

I did manage to go through hundreds of pictures on picasa and tag them. In the process I discovered an album I never edited or uploaded.

That reminded me that I never sent Angel or Bella friend requests on Facebook. I also got email addresses from some people they were missing, some of whom I know well.

For dinner I had Cajun chicken breast and roasted potatoes. The potatoes were blue ones I bought at the farmer's market. They were great! I need to buy them again. They are much better than the blue potatoes that come with the potato medley at Trader Joe's. Should I just call this a food blog?

Just when I got undressed and figured I wouldn't go out of the day I got a call from a friend that needed a hand with something. That's actually a good thing, I wanted an excuse to go out, I love being helpful, and I love hanging out with my friend. There's really no down side to that. I told her that I had to deposit to my karma bank as I've been getting so much help from people. I of course don't believe in karma and this is closer to dharma, from Wikipedia:

In Hinduism, dharma signifies behaviors that are considered to be in accord with order that makes life and universe possible,[10][note 1] and includes duties, rights, laws, conduct, virtues and ��right way of living��.[7] In Buddhism dharma means "cosmic law and order",[10] but is also applied to the teachings of the Buddha.[10] In Buddhist philosophy, dhamma/dharma is also the term for "phenomena".[11][note 2] In Jainism dharma refers to the teachings of the Jinas[10] and the body of doctrine pertaining to the purification and moral transformation of human beings. For Sikhs, the word dharm means the "path of righteousness".
I of course don't believe in dharma either but I do believe in virtues and the "right way of living."

I'm doing a pretty good job at being a frugivore. I eat oranges and or bananas every day now and don't keep other sweets in the house. Well OK not as many sweets 

My office is filled with students taking tests. I don't know why. Most were told to be here at noon. Some at 11:00. I knew that the admin wouldn't get here before 12:30. I don't know why he tells people he'll get here earlier. I know he won't, so should he.

My latest complaint about my annoying housemate is that for some reason he took my cutting sheet from the kitchen. It's like a cutting board but it's thin plastic. It actually works better as you can roll it into a U shape which makes it easier to pour what you cut up off it into something. Why would he take it out of the kitchen? I bet he's using it as a place mat. He has no concept of private property. He takes my food and the shared kitchen gear, plates, glasses, silverware, etc. Right now he has about 4 tablespoons and two bowls in his room. The spoons have been there for months. When he's confronted he always says, "I didn't know you needed them." I think I'll start calling him the thief. Thief, Thief, Thief! Baggins! We hates it, we hates it, we hates it forever! I'm identifying with Gollum. I think I better talk about this in therapy.

I didn't remember to bring lunch today because, well you know the reason, I'm an idiot. So I would like to grab something before class so I better cut this short. When I first started writing this would have been considered a long entry. Now it's not much more than half the typical length. Theoretically that should cut down on my readership but exactly the opposite is true. My Gentle Readers obviously like ideas to be developed. I count on you having a longer attention span that most. That fits my general philosophy. Don't market to the majority where there's more competition. Find an underserved niche and fill that.

Grrrr. I had to do too many things and couldn't get my lunch. Now I just have to grab a hot dog on the way to class.


I signed the Pro-Truth Pledge:
please hold me accountable.





Memories: Not that Horrid Song - May 29, 2018
Wise Madness is Now In Session - May 28, 2018
The NFL and the First Amendment - May 27, 2018
On The Road Again - May 26, 2018
Oliver the Three-Eyed Crow - May 25, 2018



creative commons
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial-Share Alike 3.0 License.
Horvendile March 13, 2014
site search by freefind advanced


Follow on Feedly



about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!