I became insane with long intervals of horrible sanity.
Edgar Allen Poe

The trouble with fighting for human freedom is that one spends most of one's time defending scoundrels. For it is against scoundrels that oppressive laws are first aimed, and oppression must be stopped at the beginning if it is to be stopped at all.
- H. L. Mencken

Many people would sooner die than think; In fact, they do so
-Bertrand Russell

What I have been telling you, from alpha to omega, what is the one great thing the sigil taught me — that everything in life is miraculous. For the sigil taught me that it rests within the power of each of us to awaken at will from a dragging nightmare of life made up of unimportant tasks and tedious useless little habits, to see life as it really is, and to rejoice in its exquisite wonderfulness. If the sigil were proved to be the top of a tomato-can, it would not alter that big fact, nor my fixed faith. No Harrowby, the common names we call things by do not matter — except to show how very dull we are ...
-James Branch Cabell

July 31, 2006 - 10:41 a.m.

Ghastly Logic

I gave my mother's latest health update last entry; what am I going to write about today? I'll have to actually write about ideas.

I've been spending a lot of time at the hospital lately and it is making me face the fact that I'm very comfortable there. It is a social setting where I feel more competent than the average person, not less. Yesterday I could see that I was getting on the nerves of the floor nurse but that is unusual for me. I wasn't getting the information I wanted and I came across as demanding. In a hospital the squeaky wheel might get the grease but the friendly patient gets the really good service. I schmooze hospital employees more than I do musicians. Roy says to give the staff gifts. That isn't necessary, just give them appreciation and treat them like people. They have names, learn them; they have lives, show an interest in them. Those rules should work everywhere. That is the synopsis of Carnegie's How to Win Friends and Influence People? So why doesnt it work for me anywhere else? I think it is just that people in the hospital grade on a curve. Most people are so distraught at the hospital that they don't act naturally; it makes me look good by comparison.

So what now? The Middle East or ghosts? I'll keep it light and talk about ghosts. Yes talking about unquiet spirits of dead people is keeping it light.

I've been watching Hex on BBC America; one of the main characters, Thelma is a ghost. It is even less internally consistent than most ghost stories. Nobody can see Thelma but Cassie and Ella. Thelma can eat. She uses vending machines at the college they attend. She goes to the cafeteria. Yet nobody seems to notice food floating around. She can carry objects yet nobody seems to see them. Cassie and Ella talk to her and not only can nobody hear Thelma talk nobody thinks that Cassie and Ella are crazy for talking to thin air. They have conversations with her in class and nobody notices. Thelma wears clothes that she steals of corpses in the morgue (The clothes of living people itch) yet nobody sees her clothes. Do they automatically become invisible when she puts them on? The writers obviously made no attempt to think these things through. Maybe they think the frequent sex scenes, often lesbian, will distract the viewers. Now I don't really care about the action or even the sex scenes I just want to know how the major story arc will resolve itself.

Ghosts in general aren't well thought out. One thing that always annoyed me is that ghosts are usually shown as not being able to touch anything. They walk right through walls. People put their hands right through them. So how come they don't fall through the floors? Sometimes they are shown floating but usually they walk. How come they can't talk or touch things but they can answer questions by rapping on a table? Why don't they just write things with a pen on paper?

The really big mystery is why doesn't everybody notice these things?


I signed the Pro-Truth Pledge:
please hold me accountable.





Memories: Not that Horrid Song - May 29, 2018
Wise Madness is Now In Session - May 28, 2018
The NFL and the First Amendment - May 27, 2018
On The Road Again - May 26, 2018
Oliver the Three-Eyed Crow - May 25, 2018



creative commons
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial-Share Alike 3.0 License.
Horvendile July 31, 2006
site search by freefind advanced


Follow on Feedly



about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!