I became insane with long intervals of horrible sanity.
Edgar Allen Poe

The trouble with fighting for human freedom is that one spends most of one's time defending scoundrels. For it is against scoundrels that oppressive laws are first aimed, and oppression must be stopped at the beginning if it is to be stopped at all.
- H. L. Mencken

Many people would sooner die than think; In fact, they do so
-Bertrand Russell

What I have been telling you, from alpha to omega, what is the one great thing the sigil taught me — that everything in life is miraculous. For the sigil taught me that it rests within the power of each of us to awaken at will from a dragging nightmare of life made up of unimportant tasks and tedious useless little habits, to see life as it really is, and to rejoice in its exquisite wonderfulness. If the sigil were proved to be the top of a tomato-can, it would not alter that big fact, nor my fixed faith. No Harrowby, the common names we call things by do not matter — except to show how very dull we are ...
-James Branch Cabell

July 17, 2013 - 10:02 a.m.

Party Like It's 2013

Why has my readership exploded? I'm not complaining but I've gone from less than 40 readers a day to over 70 and it happened all of a sudden in the beginning of June. I think it might have to do with the way my posts are appearing on my friends' Facebook page.

I had a scare yesterday. My first night here in Crown Heights I filled my water bottle with ice and put it next to my bed. Later I moved it to another spot on the night table and put my phone where it had been. of course water had condensed around the cold bottle so the phone was in a tiny puddle. In the morning the phone only worked intermittently. I opened the back and there was water in the case. I dried things off as best I could and put the battery back in. It got the phone on but it wouldn't stay on. I fought with it all day. I had to repeatedly remove the battery and reboot it. I left it open for a while to dry out. I took out the SIM card and blotted it and I thought that fixed it but it didn't though there was an improvement. I thought I might have to buy a new phone. That's not the worse thing as this phone is terrible. Every day it freezes and I have to remove the battery to reboot it. But I'd like to keep it a little longer. It was still not right when I went to bed but now it seems to be fine. Belay that. I just checked it and it won't go on. Arrgghh. OK new phone it is.

Yesterday was tiring, There was a lot of riding the subway. First I had to go back to Bag End Underhill. I had left my shower stuff there. It isn't far but there is no easy way to get there. I took the to Atlantic Terminal then walked a couple of blocks to the and took that to Church. I usually praise the New York Transit System but it doesn't work well connecting different parts of Brooklyn. It took forever. Then I got disappointed, I wanted a milk shake from Carvel but they had no soft chocolate. It is so hard being me. I got to Bag End, Frodo let me in and I gathered my stuff including things I didn't realize I had left then headed back.

When I got back the first thing I did of course was shower. It is amazing how good that feels. Then as soon as I was dried off I headed out again. this time on a major expedition to the Bronx. Oddly that only took twice the time as the trip to Bag End though it was many times as distant. I could just take the to almost the far end then take a bus and I didn't wait long for the bus.

I went to the Bronx. for the WfUV Volunteer Picnic. This was an unfortunate date, the same day as the All-Star game My Baseball league has it's party that day. I always go to both but this year I couldn't. I was not happy about that.

My signature white linen suit is in storage so I wore the new shorts and golf shirt I bought. When people asked about it I said it was because I wanted to give the women a break and let them see my legs.


Control yourself I know you are being driven wild with desire. I am not wearing a cape. I am not Superman (Of course Clark Kent says he's not Superman too). That is my cooling towel. It's more like a sponge. I soak it in water and the evaporation keeps me cool It works well. I got two for $5 on Woot.com

As I pointed out last entry there was a time when nobody posted photos of me. Now there are hundreds on Facebook. That one was by Lori not LORi. She hates me so I'm sure there was nefarious reason she took it.

I am going to admit it. One reason I like the party is that I'm always a center of attention. People want to talk to me. Of course I make anyone too slow to say hi feel guilty about it and claim they are avoiding me. It really is a miracle that I have any friends.

Of course in the spirit of camaraderie I did the traditional dancing of the Cupid Shuffle. Funny thing, Carmel is talking about it right now. Here's what I looked like.


I hate that song and I hate that dance but I did it anyone. That shows my level of commitment to the station and my friends. Not that Sam appreciates it. She says that Brian is the very best. That made me cry.

I won some loot, Nothing big, a CD carrying case and a fan. There were game and I'm very good at bean bag toss. I have a strange skill set. I didn't win the one prize I really wanted, There was a raffle and they gave away tickets for Richard Thompson at Town Hall. I went to buy tickets for that but it was too much money. I am not happy about that.

The best part of course is seeing so many friends. I'm not going to make the complete list as I'll forget people.

I am going to be drummed out of the family, I didn't start by writing about the food. I am deeply ashamed. It was a barbecue and I had pulled pork, a burger, and hot dogs. I also had lots of watermelon. Nothing like watermelon on a hot day. Too bad there was no ice cream.

On the way back I couldn't find someone from Brooklyn but Gary was heading to west to Jersey and asked him for a ride to the subway. Jim joined us though he only went to his bus. That made it easier but the decided to go local in Brooklyn which added a lot of time. I was so tired when I got back. My legs were heavy. I hate that. Good thing there was an ice cream truck on the way back to my room. There are no ice cream places in the neighborhood.

I was so tired I couldn't finish watching Amelie. I tried. The film is so good. It's one of those things made just for me and if anyone else likes it that's just lucky for them.

Today I'm going to go shopping so I can have breakfast at home tomorrow. Today I guess it's back to McDonalds. Tonight I'm seeing the Dynamic Deni Bonet.


I signed the Pro-Truth Pledge:
please hold me accountable.





Memories: Not that Horrid Song - May 29, 2018
Wise Madness is Now In Session - May 28, 2018
The NFL and the First Amendment - May 27, 2018
On The Road Again - May 26, 2018
Oliver the Three-Eyed Crow - May 25, 2018



creative commons
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial-Share Alike 3.0 License.
Horvendile July 17, 2013
site search by freefind advanced


Follow on Feedly



about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!