I became insane with long intervals of horrible sanity.
Edgar Allen Poe

The trouble with fighting for human freedom is that one spends most of one's time defending scoundrels. For it is against scoundrels that oppressive laws are first aimed, and oppression must be stopped at the beginning if it is to be stopped at all.
- H. L. Mencken

Many people would sooner die than think; In fact, they do so
-Bertrand Russell

What I have been telling you, from alpha to omega, what is the one great thing the sigil taught me — that everything in life is miraculous. For the sigil taught me that it rests within the power of each of us to awaken at will from a dragging nightmare of life made up of unimportant tasks and tedious useless little habits, to see life as it really is, and to rejoice in its exquisite wonderfulness. If the sigil were proved to be the top of a tomato-can, it would not alter that big fact, nor my fixed faith. No Harrowby, the common names we call things by do not matter — except to show how very dull we are ...
-James Branch Cabell

October 26, 2017 - 3:05 p.m.

Let er Rip

Did you read last night's edition of Wise Madness? If not read that now, Idiocy and Genius. I hope you liked it.

Now on to new material. All I've done since I wrote that was make dinner and watch the World Series. As promised I had bacon and eggs for dinner. Why is breakfast for dinner exciting? I know I'm not the only one that feels that way. As for the World Series, the Astros won and Verlander didn't even get the win. I'm rooting for Los Angeles.

I am still working on creating the On Your Radar event. I'm going to throw it up today even if I can't figure out the graphics. The problem is that I lost Picasa with my hard drive and I haven't found a free photo editing program that can make the collages that I use. I try and create a consistent look, it's part of branding. I should at least be pushing the Instagram, that I can do. I'll do that today. The only other thing I have on my agenda is refilling a prescription. I found out I have no more refills. I'm not seeing the doctor until Monday. I had the pharmacy call the doctor. Wish me luck.

The Yankees fired Joe Girardi. That's so odd as the team exceeded expectations. I'm a diehard Met fan and Yankee hater but I'm going to apply for the job. I'd much rather be GM and work for the Mets, but it will look good on my resume. They'll save a lot of money hiring me. I'll work for peanuts, $1,000,000 a year and bonuses for making the playoffs and every round the team advances. I still want to be Pope too. If you hear of an opening let me know.

I could just cheat and tell you to read Bri's blog today. I will tell you to read it, The Sanitation of Being Mentally Ill Part 1. Bri is my guide to the mental health world. I try to be people's guide to the physical health world. I can navigate a hospital like nobody's business. I'm getting good at mental health too. Not that my mental health is good, but I know the system and how to deal with people with mental health issues.

It's so late now. I'll get back to this after brunch. I don't know where the morning went. I'm back, it's a little after two. So which way do I go now, politics or music? I can do a cheater music entry, maybe I'll go that way; at least that's where I'll start.

WFUV has changed format several times since I started listening and each time the move was further from my musical taste. I'm much more of a niche than a mass market listener. That hasn't stopped me from volunteering, but it has meant that there are far fewer CDs that I like in the bins they leave out for volunteers. That is, until this drive. They went deep into the closet and found some treasures buried that that I found. There were also a few by new artists that I love that are outside the stations usual fare. Here's what I brought home with me.

  1. Dar Williams - The Beauty of the Rain
  2. Lucinda Williams - Car Wheels on a Gravel Road
  3. Norah Jones - Come Away with Me
  4. John Whelan - Celtic Reflections: misty~eyed morning
  5. Mary Gauthier - Filth and Fire
  6. Tish Hinojosa - Cada Niño Every Child
  7. David Johansen and the Harry Smiths
  8. Sunday Breakfast with Christine: Music for Parents (cassette tape)
  9. Joan Baez - Dark Chords on a Big Guitar
  10. Cheryl Wheeler - Sylvia Hotel
  11. Susan McKeown and Lindsay Horner - Through the Bitter Frost and Snow
  12. Sarah Jarosz - Undercurrent
  13. Big Thief - Capacity
  14. Edgar Meyer - Bach Unaccompanied Cello Suites
  15. Rhiannon Giddens - Freedom Highway
Most are from 2003 or earlier. Some I formerly owned and lost with most of my music collection. The new ones are Sarah Jarosz, Big Thief, and Rhiannon Giddens. Why is Sarah not played on the station? She has a following and her music is accessible. She has the younger demographic the station is looking for. She's on my short list of favorite musicians. Rhiannon's first album got significant airplay on the station and came in 7th in the annual reader's poll. Freedom Highway is even better but has not gotten much airplay, at least that I have heard. She doesn't seem to be part of the conversation. Big Thief I saw once, at Rockwood 3, opening for Anthony da Costa. Nobody had heard of them. I probably sold their merch. They played at Gene & Isabel's House as a guest of the featured performer. One of the few shows that I missed. Now they are big. They are not in heavy rotation, but they got some airplay.

I have not ripped any of these. I have some CDs from Falcon Ridge I just found that I hadn't ripped, they were hiding in my suitcase. Ripping CDs is one of the strange things I have difficulty doing. It's easier than dealing with money issues but it still requires an effort to get over the anxiety hump. Maybe I'll start now while creating the On Your Radar event. Right now, I'm listening to a Spotify playlist that Dan made, let's see if I can figure out how to link to it: Folk You Should Hear. I should make a list for On Your Radar. Last time I tried I couldn't figure it out. I think now I know how. I could also make one of NERFA artist I recommend. It's a new toy, let's see if ends up like the bright new firetruck that's left on the shelf after a week.


I signed the Pro-Truth Pledge:
please hold me accountable.





Memories: Not that Horrid Song - May 29, 2018
Wise Madness is Now In Session - May 28, 2018
The NFL and the First Amendment - May 27, 2018
On The Road Again - May 26, 2018
Oliver the Three-Eyed Crow - May 25, 2018



creative commons
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial-Share Alike 3.0 License.
Horvendile October 26, 2017
site search by freefind advanced


Follow on Feedly



about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!