I became insane with long intervals of horrible sanity.
Edgar Allen Poe

The trouble with fighting for human freedom is that one spends most of one's time defending scoundrels. For it is against scoundrels that oppressive laws are first aimed, and oppression must be stopped at the beginning if it is to be stopped at all.
- H. L. Mencken

Many people would sooner die than think; In fact, they do so
-Bertrand Russell

What I have been telling you, from alpha to omega, what is the one great thing the sigil taught me — that everything in life is miraculous. For the sigil taught me that it rests within the power of each of us to awaken at will from a dragging nightmare of life made up of unimportant tasks and tedious useless little habits, to see life as it really is, and to rejoice in its exquisite wonderfulness. If the sigil were proved to be the top of a tomato-can, it would not alter that big fact, nor my fixed faith. No Harrowby, the common names we call things by do not matter — except to show how very dull we are ...
-James Branch Cabell

August 08, 2013 - 10:52 a.m.

This is our home, this is our only home

I didn't so anything yesterday. The furthest I got was the Popeyes three blocks away. That means I can return to the hills of Columbia County.

Back to Thursday afternoon. Because of the rain the Lounge Stage was moved to the family tent. But maybe the rain isn't really to blame � . Brianne and I mosied down there. The problem, if you want to call it a problem, is that there was no room in the tent by the time we got there so we had to stand in the periphery. That is pretty much what I usually do there but I'll sometimes find a place down front on the ground. That option wasn't available I always end up spending more time socializing than listening.


Me, Abbie, and Ethan

I had the honor of getting the very first Red Molly tattoo. It was applied by Laurie herself. My bottle supplied the water for everyone.


Me and Jess


Laurie applying the tattoo to Tony's neck

The Lounge Stage is the first place I see so many of my friends and I make the most of it. Of course what I really go for is the food. I don't remember when but LORi found her way there before dinner. At the break we were among the first people at the lost and found tent where it was served. We had to give the secret password to get in. Good thing I know the secret password. I can't tell you or it wouldn't be a secret. Pork shoulder was on the menu along with brisket. I'm not a good Jew, I had both. Who did we sit with that night? ilyAIMY? I know I ate with them at least one night. I know Jay and Catherine were at our table.

Lori grabbed some seats inside after dinner and watched Spuyten Duyvil then we headed up to set up the Budgiedome. We did something new this year; a short set by Bobtown before the song circle. My favorite moment of the entire festival happened even before that. The Budgiedome and Steeple Coffee House camps were there why Bobtown warmed up. They asked us what we'd like to hear and Emily said that 5-year-old Katie's favorite song was Wagon Wheel so Bobtown did it. We all sang along including Katie. If that isn't the essence of Falcon Ridge what is?

We ended up with a pretty good crowd for Bobtown who rocked like Slayer used to. No I will never give up that expression. Blame David Morreale. Once again it was the best song circle we ever had. It was huge. we had to keep expanding. This is our attempt to recreate the classic SMAF song circles where the pros and amateurs played as equals. I finally convinced Carolyn to join us and bring her mandolin. I knew I'd love what she did. the Mercandante Family Singers aka Joe, Sarah, Lizzie, and Carolyn should be opening shows at the Steeple Coffeehouse. Joe's highlight was Eric Lee asking him to join in on the djembe on one of Eric's songs.

It was the only time I got to spend time with the Stupid Americans. No that is not an insult. It's what they call themselves after an EFO song. It's Phil & Allison, Gary, Jeff and Jessica the reason I know the rest. they were joined by Amanda one of the Emerging Artists. Jessica drove her to the Festival. By pure chance I was told to be on the lookout for her by Mike who does publicity for her and hadn't met her yet. It is such a small world.

We found out that we had talented neighbors the Ryan Taylor band. Old friends from Maine came in, Connor and Sorcha. Even older friend LisaBeth was there and I got called on being a shill. When she finished her song I said, "And who are you?" so she'd tell everyone else, But then someone, probably Paul or Lori said, "You don't know LisaBeth?" It is so hard being me.

We had a regular string section when Tall Heights came in and added a cello to Eric's fiddle. Why isn't Eric a superstar? I know literally hundreds of musicians and nobody is better than he is. He can join in with anyone without ever having heard the song before and not just play along but bring the song to a new level. Cheryl Prashker does all about the drums. He should do all about the fiddle. Put on a show with many artist and the only constant is him. The opener is him doing his singer/songwriter material on the guitar.

Rob Lyttle joined the fun. I have no idea how I know Rob but we've been FB friends for ages.

Then there were new friends Derek, Rebecca, Brie, Karen, and Ernie.

No I did not all of a sudden gain a memory. Paul posted everyone on the Budgiedome website complete with the links to the artists' home pages.

If the entire festival was what happened on Thursday it would still be a great festival. What hit me the most is how many incredible people I see there. There are so many of my best friends even if I only see them once a year. One of these days the mother ship is going to come and take us back to our home planet. Carey and Neal you better be there that year and not make us stop and pick you up in Chicago. We won't leave without you but I'm not letting you take the cute boys home if you make us go out of our way.


I signed the Pro-Truth Pledge:
please hold me accountable.





Memories: Not that Horrid Song - May 29, 2018
Wise Madness is Now In Session - May 28, 2018
The NFL and the First Amendment - May 27, 2018
On The Road Again - May 26, 2018
Oliver the Three-Eyed Crow - May 25, 2018



creative commons
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial-Share Alike 3.0 License.
Horvendile August 08, 2013
site search by freefind advanced


Follow on Feedly



about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!